We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Kingsgate to your Saves list
Wyndham Kingsgate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Georgetown DE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at Kingsgate. I have absolutely no complaints about the unit. We did receive a call about a buffet breakfast, but we chose to ignore that. The place is close to the Visitor's center and to Jamestown and Yorktown. I highly recommend staying here rather than at a hotel. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with kitchen, dining room and living room. Our son loved the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this helpful feedback. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay along with the unit accommodations. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    232
    113
    39
    22
See reviews for
367
99
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Beautiful place. Just say no to the sales breakfast and they leave you alone. Excellent price! We had a two bedroom condo for the price of a hotel room. Great amenities for which you pay and additional $5.00 a day (not per person). We played two games of miniature golf which more than compensated for the amenity charge.There is an Indoor pool, game rooms, deli, etc. Very close to Williamsburg. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback including some activity suggestions. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Laurel, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been timeshare owners for 35 years - so we've seen it all and in our experience, this is a nice resort, it just needs to be updated. As other reviewers said, while the TV in the living room was a flat screen, the one in the bedroom was old. However, since were were here to tour and enjoy our vacation, the accommodations were fine. We stayed in a one bedroom on the second floor, which was great because as others said, the door leading to the building is extremely loud when closed so it could get annoying. I could hear the people in the room next to me, but only very faintly and it happened when I was in the bathroom.

The kitchen is truly mini - only two seats at a small kitchen table as well, but it suited our needs as we really only used the microwave and the refrigerator. The furniture in the living room was older, but the couch was comfortable as was the bed in the room although, I agree with others that it was not a true Queen size - maybe a little bigger than a double.

The best thing about the resort was it is centrally located from everything, not more than 10 minutes from Historic Williamsburg and the Colonial Parkway which we used when going to Jamestowne and Yorktowne. We spent five days exploring all three places - it was an amazing experience! There are also tons of restaurants for every palate. We loved Sal's by Victor for Italian!

As far as the resort itself, it did have an indoor pool, which we did not use, however, it's a must when we travel in the fall and winter just in case we want to swim. Our room was behind the minature golf which looked like a lot of fun. The game room is amazing - all freebies - so my husband and I had a blast playing pinball, pool, racing cars and our favorite - using machine guns during the Terminator Game. We felt like our kids do when playing their video games!

The staff is helpful, but beware of the timeshare pitch - we were told (and we should know better after all these years) that the presentation was ONE HOUR and it was a group sales thing, just an update on Wyndham's purchase of RCI. Well it was neither! We had a blah breakfast at 9:30 and then got stuck there for over two hours. Finally, at 11:45, we said we had to go to an important lunch appointment, at which point, another Sales Manager came over to "confirm" we had heard the whole presentation and then a THIRD to make us sign the paper that we were refusing the offer and by the way, that would be it forever decision.

So, all in all, we would definitely go back, avoid the "sales" pitch and revisit the historical sites and do Busch Gardents the next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate the suggestions regarding unit updates as we are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you for also providing some useful information regarding area activities for future guests. We hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a great outdoor children's pool and two larger outdoor pools plus one indoor pool. There were two arcades with both pinball, video, packman, shooter etc games as well as pool tables. There is a small free movie theater showing children and adult movies. Nice miniature golf and swing/slide/etc play area. The snack bar closes in the winter. This is very close to Colonial Williamsburg. Rooms were very nice. My unit had a large king bedroom and a queen bedroom, two baths, large living room with TV&DVD, separate dining room, balcony, large well equipped kitchen with all needed dishes, pots, pans, etc. Beds had a bit of sag to the middle. The upholstery on the couch was worn. Carpet was good. They were rehabbing the adjacent unit, so our unit was likely next on list. Be aware that this is a time share place. As a time share guest I had no issues, but if you rent this you will be stuck listening to the sales pitch to purchase a time share.

  • Liked — Lots of stuff for the children
  • Disliked — instant on hot water was not really instant on, but great once it warmed up
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Some very good friends of ours allowed us to use their timeshare here. We were pleasantly surprised with our room - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, a dining room, and a living room. All told, I think it was larger than the house we rented when my wife and I first married.

Only three extremely minor dings keep this from receiving my best rating. First, it is a bit of a drive from Colonial Williamsburg. Second, the buildings are constructed of wood - not concrete. If you are on a lower floor, you will be able to hear those staying in the room above you. Third, there is no daily maid service - if you are here for a while and your towels get smelly, you'll have to wash them yourself.

All told, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed for a few days with friends who are timeshare owners. Very well-kept property; I was glad to see that they had good security and had a good array of amenities. My only complaint is that the furniture in the main living area was very uncomfortable and really needs to be re-thought by Wyndham. Kind of like the stuff you'd expect in a hotel room, not a longer-term stay. A decent sofa and a recliner would have made the place perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the resort security and amenities. We apologize for any inconvenience from the living room furniture. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home and your feedback will help us to do so. We hope you come back to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this resort as a result of a timeshare spiel. There were 5 people in our party. I'm not obsessive about cleanliness but the first thing that popped out at me was the dust covered intake grate for the ac/heating unit. I had to check and I discovered the filter was new so that wasn't the problem. Another member of the party pointed out that the other vents also needed to be vacuumed. Is this really a problem? Well I guess not really unless they are trying to sell you the timeshare.

The mattress on the king bed was horrible. Every move you made, i.e., turning over made the mattress squeak. It was also exceptionally uncomfortable and didn't provide a good night's rest. Pillows were horrible. We had considered going to Target to buy our own pillows. Three of their pillows were the size of one normal pillow. There were no other pillows to use.

We never made it into the hot tub or pool. The hot tub had only one side of working jets.

A couple of items they could use in the space: A throw or blanket for those times you just want to sit on the couch and need something to wrap up in and measuring cups in the kitchen. There was one Pyrex measuring cup in a one cup measurement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#24 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kingsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.