We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Kingsgate to your Saves list
Wyndham Kingsgate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #25 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights(8/3 -8/6) to celebrate our daughter's birthday. We had a three bedroom lock-off for two adults and three children so it was plenty of room for us. Everything was clean although the furniture was dated. We went to Busch Gardens, which is really close by. There was never a dull moment as we had a choice of playing tennis, putt putt golf, watching movies at the theater or getting in the pools as well as the different daily activities the resort has scheduled . My daughter and her friend locked their things in the safe so we had to call the front desk to have them open it and they came over within 15 minutes! We were asked about the time share breakfast but, declined and were not bothered again. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    244
    122
    41
    23
See reviews for
403
101
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

There are alot of activities for kids. The rooms are spacious and clean. But the walls are paper thin. We had to complain about the children above us and this was the first time I have ever complained. The customer service was good. The location is very close to restaurants and Busch Gardens. They also have discount tickets for attractions cheaper than anywhere I found.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was given to us as our honeymoon. It was clean, it was quiet, and the staff and security were excellent. The suite was well decorated, the furniture was new, the kitchen appliances were new, and top of the line. Counters were granite, the bathroom was pretty. Maintenance came out quickly to fix our issues (broken phone, leaking blender, already-locked safe) and the guys in that department were very courteous and professional.

One night, we came back and they were doing karaoke by the pool (which is just across the parking lot from us)... can't really blame the resort for people's inability to sing in key, while it was momentarily funny, we were able to avoid hearing anything of it once we got inside.

The only real issue we had was a large, smelly pile of laundry and trash that housekeeping left in the shared hallway at the bottom of the stairs for 2 days. It took a total of 3 calls to the front desk for housekeeping to come back and remove everything (they came out at each call, just never removed it all).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This timeshare is a great location to visit the attractions in and around the Historic Triangle. We visited Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown and Busch Gardens and never drove more than about 25 minutes to get anywhere.

We are a family of 4 and rented a 1BR/1BA unit; all the 2BR were reserved when we decided on a vacation. I did not realize when we booked our trip that there is a 1BR and a 1BR deluxe. We were in the smaller one, and it was very cramped for 4 people, even with 2 of them being tweens. The unit itself was clean and well-stocked, though it was due for some attention. The couch had a visible sag and things were slightly dated. Per front desk staff, the property is due for a revamp in 2014, which should take care of the slightly dated feel.

On to practical matters. The "kitchen" was smaller than our basement wet bar at home - the 15" of counter space was completely consumed with a high end toaster, coffee maker, and a few prep items. It did have a compact dishwasher and apartment sized stove and fridge, all of which worked well. And since you bumped into the kitchen table while standing at the counter area, it doubled as the prep area. There were adequate pots, pans and dishes, and they provided dishwasher and laundry detergent for two loads in each.

In keeping with the small theme, the table did need to be moved in order to open the fridge or stove fully. This would not have been an issue if we had not needed to put someone on the sofa-bed. To open the sofa, the table and chairs had to be up against the kitchen area. Also, the coffee table had to be relocated to the bedroom in order to keep from blocking the entrance/exit door when the bed was pulled out. So we re-arranged furniture a couple of times a day. This was not the huge issue it could have been, as we mostly ate out. But if you plan to cook most of your meals to save money, this size unit is not for you unless you only have people sleeping in the bedroom.

The bedroom was a good size, the bed was comfy and there was adequate closet space with a small safe for valuables. The bathroom had towels for 6, even though the maximum occupancy for the unit was 4. It also housed a stacking washer/dryer. We used this unit and it worked just fine, but did not seem to be properly vented, as we had to run the bathroom fan while the dryer ran in order to keep the room from becoming a stifling steam bath.

Both the bedroom and living area had a tv, with a dvd player and sound system in the living area as well. Movie rentals on property were a reasonable $2 per night. The resort had AT&T wireless free throughout, but it experienced a couple of outages the week we stayed.

I don't know about those who complained about noise at this resort. Our bedroom window overlooked the 18th hole of the mini-golf course and we had views of the outdoor pools, but we didn't ever feel like we were in a truly noisy spot. The music and loudspeaker in the pool area were turned off no later than 10:15pm, and we did not experience any disruption from being so close to these recreation areas. Parking could have been an issue, as the spaces were small, but we parked in the lot for the deli, which was the next building over from us. I would not have felt truly comfortable parking my full size SUV next to the many other full size SUVs given the size of the spaces in front of our unit.

We did not go into the "grocery" area as Walmart was only 15 min away and Food Lion was even closer. Kmart is less than 1/2 mile from the resort. I find Wyndham stores to be overpriced, so we simply avoid them.

There were many places to eat starting about 1/2 mile from the entrance to Kingsgate. Restaurants close by ranged from McDonald's to Chipotle to Cracker Barrel to local pancake and BBQ places. Every place we chose to eat was good, though the establishments close to Colonial Williamsburg and Yorktown were very pricey.

As to the timeshare presentation, we did receive several calls wanting us to attend one. We declined politely, as my parents have enough Wyndham points that we use a week of theirs every year. They were no pushier than any other Wyndham property where we stayed. Our one call to maintenance (for the smoke detector) was answered very quickly by a very polite worker.

Overall, we liked this resort. The big shortcomings for us were of our own making - booking a unit that was really too small for our family. The 1BR Deluxe would have been fine, as the floor plan shows a full kitchen and a more separate living area. We would not have had to move the furniture around in that unit. The location was great, the amenities were nice, and units were clean and well stocked.

We will stay here again if we decide to visit Williamsburg another time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were very happy with our Stay here! Check in was fast. Only a very Brief mention of the time share, not pushy at all! We had a great 2 bedroom unit. It was close to the pools. Room was well stocked and clean. The marble and tile in kitchen and bath were a nice touch and we loved the washer and dryer! The only thing i think could be improved is the showerheads in the bathroom. Kids enjoyed game room and pools. My husband enjoyed the workout room and I liked the hot tub! Nice to be kid free after 6! We all did the putt-putt. It was crowded, but fun! I would most definitely stay here again!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Checki in was a breeze. Talked about time share brefly. I told the gentelmen that I had multiple timeshairs (2) and that was the end of it. Unit was very clean and well stocked. Furniture was nice and curtins were light blocking. Kitchen counter was very small very little counter space.we had a 1bed unit on first floor. Bathroom sink had a lack of hot water and bad water pressure. Had repsir man there. They were fast but proplem was not solved. We stayed for 2 weeks and the only other problem we haf was parking. Every day there was an issue finding parking infront of our building. Sometimes we had to park in another buildings area or across from our unit. They are packed in. This could be a gold crown place if they could do something about the water pressure, lack of hot water and parking. Prices are in line with stores in area. Still, a nice resort to visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here with a group of six people, 4 adults 2 kids. We rented two condos that were attached. One condo had two bedrooms the other had 1 bedroom. The rooms were very clean and everything was provided. It is a time share resort so we did sit thru the 2 hour presentation. I suggest to anyone that stays here to tell the rep giving the presentation that you are not serious in buying into the time share. We did get a pretty good rate for the week were there but we would have paid a little bit more if we had the option not to sit thru the presentation. The resort has three pools. One indoor, one outdood for adults and one outdoor for everyone. There is a tennis court, small movie theater and a gaming room. The resort is basically in the middle of everthing. Busch Gardens is about 10-15 minutes away along with Colonial Williamsburg. There is plenty of shopping in the area. A premium outlet center is located nearby. We ate breakfast one mornig at the Astronomical Pancake House and the food was really good and the pancake were astronomical. We also ahd dinner at Food for Thought and even though we had to wait 30 minutes to get our table, the wait was well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.5 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
#20 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
5.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#15 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#35 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kingsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.