We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Kingsgate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Kingsgate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

One bedroom unit was nice but on the small side. Clean and well stocked with the supplies in the kitchen and bathroom. The staff was very helpful. We were out of coffee filters, made a call, and they were delivered in 5 minutes! Check-in process was easy and the “timeshare” breakfast spiel was offered but after a polite refusal they did not push at all. The bed was comfortable, but the sofa bed was a bit harsh, as most sofa beds tend to be. We went at a slow time and it was not noisy at all. It was nicely located and a short drive to downtown Williamsburg activities.
The resort was nice. There was a $5 resort fee per day but it does include a really nice mini-golf course, tennis courts and supplies, indoor/outdoor pool, hot tub, Wi-Fi, gym, and game room. All of these were great and were well used by our family. The kids loved not having to pay for the video games. Unfortunately, about 1/3 of them were out of order. The Wi-Fi was slow in the bedrooms but worked well in the living room. I don’t usually like to pay for a resort fee, but this time I really think the fee was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    217
    101
    37
    19
See reviews for
338
89
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Wyndham Kingsgate location makes it easy to visit all the historic sites in the area (Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown) and there are many restaurants and other area attractions, too.
Our 2nd floor condo was a two bedroom, two bath unit that has a capacity to sleep 6 (with the use of a convertible couch). A full kitchen,dining room and full balcony give you plenty of living space for your stay. The furnishings are fine (although the living room furniture was a bit worn) and the dining/living room carpets had stains (the front desk explained that the carpets were scheduled to be replaced soon). The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are a good size.
The Activity Center houses a small 50 seat theater where 2 movies per day play (you need to reserve your space), a 18 hole miniture golf course (surprisingly nice), as well as a computer center, fitness center, tennis courts, and game room.

The staff is very friendly and accomodating, with one exception. After you check in, the front desk asks you to get your parking pass and area maps at the next desk - that is the start of a sales pitch to attend a presentation (time share). They don't want to take 'no thank you' for an answer, even after we politely declined the offer several times. The Wyndham management should understand that this kind of sales pressure is unacceptable.

Overall, this is a good choice for a fun family vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Check in was fast and efficient, although they weren't willing to take my 'no' for an answer when I told them that we didn't want to go to the presentation.

The unit was clean and comfortable. Balcony was great. We used the computer centre and asked if we could scan something to PDF for email. They said we could, but turned out we couldn't (their scanner only scanned to Wyndham email addresses). I think that was the worst thing about our time at this property.

Didn't get to play, but the tennis courts looked great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice location, but likely too far to walk to anything except the KMart and the Mongolian restaurant in the mall next door. Located on the "other side of the tracks" from the college & DOG street, and the limited crossings of the railroad also make the walk longer; therefore we drove when we went to visit the historic area.

We arrived the Saturday at the end of "spring break"- I understand the Friday before, the rec areas were overcrowded and noisy. For us, though, it was nice to have the local activities like putt-putt and the little workout room.

Good for families. I think all of the units have little porches to sit outside... but not sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The condos were nice... we had a one bedroom lock-out unit and a two bedroom condo that made our three bedroom unit. Therefore, we had three full bathrooms, and two kitchens, which was nice. The beds slept well, and unit was clean.

The resort bragged about being #1 in customer service, yet when we called them for a parking pass they forgot to provide... they couldn't bring it to us, so we had to get back oyut at night and lose close parking space to get it!

Then, in master bedroom... the toilet ran and then wouldn't flush properly... we called about that and were told someone would fix it while we were sightseeing, but when we got in late... no one had been there, so we called back... no one ever came! I complained and was told that "someone would look into it for me and see who was dispatched and why it was never fixed".

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Busy but great place for older kids. Tennis mini golf hot tub on site. Free arcade which is heaven for my 7 year old son. Great information on surrounding sites. Caution for lengthy timeshare presentation. More to do than governs green the other wyndam property but more busy. Kids preferred the action of this property, while I preferred the calm quiet beauty of governs green

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Kingsgate has some good qualities such as the on site activities. However, you will be stuck paying the activities fee whether you use them or not. I usually do not opt to but the few times I have tried to use the pool & gym they were so overcrowded it wasn't even enjoyable. The rooms themselves need some updating. On this particular stay we were greeted by a strong sewer odor & after speaking with maintenance learned they had left some sewer holes open the day before while doing work. We were given a can of air freshener as a resolution. Discovered that night that the deadbolt on our door was broken. My primary reason for not wanting to return is that the walls are paper thin! If you are a light sleeper do not stay here! It's been terrible listening to the noise next door & above. I've never ever noticed this much noise when staying in a hotel. It's just not worth it to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#23 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kingsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.