We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a gated sub-division, I guess...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Kingsgate to your Saves list
Wyndham Kingsgate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Like a gated sub-division, I guess...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice location, but likely too far to walk to anything except the KMart and the Mongolian restaurant in the mall next door. Located on the "other side of the tracks" from the college & DOG street, and the limited crossings of the railroad also make the walk longer; therefore we drove when we went to visit the historic area.

We arrived the Saturday at the end of "spring break"- I understand the Friday before, the rec areas were overcrowded and noisy. For us, though, it was nice to have the local activities like putt-putt and the little workout room.

Good for families. I think all of the units have little porches to sit outside... but not sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    252
    126
    45
    24
See reviews for
421
102
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abbeville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The condos were nice... we had a one bedroom lock-out unit and a two bedroom condo that made our three bedroom unit. Therefore, we had three full bathrooms, and two kitchens, which was nice. The beds slept well, and unit was clean.

The resort bragged about being #1 in customer service, yet when we called them for a parking pass they forgot to provide... they couldn't bring it to us, so we had to get back oyut at night and lose close parking space to get it!

Then, in master bedroom... the toilet ran and then wouldn't flush properly... we called about that and were told someone would fix it while we were sightseeing, but when we got in late... no one had been there, so we called back... no one ever came! I complained and was told that "someone would look into it for me and see who was dispatched and why it was never fixed".

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Busy but great place for older kids. Tennis mini golf hot tub on site. Free arcade which is heaven for my 7 year old son. Great information on surrounding sites. Caution for lengthy timeshare presentation. More to do than governs green the other wyndam property but more busy. Kids preferred the action of this property, while I preferred the calm quiet beauty of governs green

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Kingsgate has some good qualities such as the on site activities. However, you will be stuck paying the activities fee whether you use them or not. I usually do not opt to but the few times I have tried to use the pool & gym they were so overcrowded it wasn't even enjoyable. The rooms themselves need some updating. On this particular stay we were greeted by a strong sewer odor & after speaking with maintenance learned they had left some sewer holes open the day before while doing work. We were given a can of air freshener as a resolution. Discovered that night that the deadbolt on our door was broken. My primary reason for not wanting to return is that the walls are paper thin! If you are a light sleeper do not stay here! It's been terrible listening to the noise next door & above. I've never ever noticed this much noise when staying in a hotel. It's just not worth it to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here this time rather than Powhatan Resort. Good choice! Was better and there was much more to do with the kids. Unit was a little small in the kitchen area, but great if you want to cook. We had some minor issues with unit but the staff fixed it and were cordial. Not into time share so I had to be very direct up front, but that is annoying. Pool was over chlorinated ...I couldn't deal and kids complained. Game room was great, Mini golf - good.. good location would do it again! Best part - activities...Worst part - 10am checkout is ludicrous...never have seen that in my life!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony..very nice.. Second floor was not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We (my wife, 7 year old, and 10 month old, and I) stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. We were on the second floor of a 3 story building. 90% of the time we were in our room we could hear the guests in the condo above us and/or people going up and down the stairs (when kids ran up/down the stairs, it rattled the headboard and wall in the larger bedroom). The walls and floors/ceilings are very thin. If your vacation requires quiet relaxation, do not stay at this resort. If you are OK with stomping, yelling, TV noise, etc, from the condo units around you, then this place should remain on your list of potential vacation spots - the mini golf, indoor pool, and 2 small arcade rooms are decent. The location of the resort is convenient to Jamestown and other area attractions. Wyndham provided us with enough laundry detergent to run 2 loads of wash, as well as 2 individual packs of dishwashing detergent. A large pizza from the resort cafe was $16. *We checked out a day early because we could not go another night with minimal sleep due to the noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor I had some concerns. None of them were warrented. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit on the second floor of a two story building. The unit was very large and lovely. Ir was clean and the furnishings were in good shape. The five dollar resort fee was well woth it as it includes all the activities as well as the theater and wi fi.
It was a delightful vacation and would love to stay at the Wyndham again. The location is fantastic, close to everything. We found you really need the three day pass in order to see all of Colonial Williamsburg.
In other reviews I read that there was a lot of pressure to attend the time share breakfat, we did not have that problem either.
I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
#22 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Governor's Green
Wyndham Governor's Green
#20 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Patriots Place
Wyndham Patriots Place
#38 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kingsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.