We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Kingsgate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Kingsgate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Discount
Ranked #28 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Busy but great place for older kids. Tennis mini golf hot tub on site. Free arcade which is heaven for my 7 year old son. Great information on surrounding sites. Caution for lengthy timeshare presentation. More to do than governs green the other wyndam property but more busy. Kids preferred the action of this property, while I preferred the calm quiet beauty of governs green

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    212
    97
    37
    19
See reviews for
332
85
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Kingsgate has some good qualities such as the on site activities. However, you will be stuck paying the activities fee whether you use them or not. I usually do not opt to but the few times I have tried to use the pool & gym they were so overcrowded it wasn't even enjoyable. The rooms themselves need some updating. On this particular stay we were greeted by a strong sewer odor & after speaking with maintenance learned they had left some sewer holes open the day before while doing work. We were given a can of air freshener as a resolution. Discovered that night that the deadbolt on our door was broken. My primary reason for not wanting to return is that the walls are paper thin! If you are a light sleeper do not stay here! It's been terrible listening to the noise next door & above. I've never ever noticed this much noise when staying in a hotel. It's just not worth it to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here this time rather than Powhatan Resort. Good choice! Was better and there was much more to do with the kids. Unit was a little small in the kitchen area, but great if you want to cook. We had some minor issues with unit but the staff fixed it and were cordial. Not into time share so I had to be very direct up front, but that is annoying. Pool was over chlorinated ...I couldn't deal and kids complained. Game room was great, Mini golf - good.. good location would do it again! Best part - activities...Worst part - 10am checkout is ludicrous...never have seen that in my life!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony..very nice.. Second floor was not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We (my wife, 7 year old, and 10 month old, and I) stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. We were on the second floor of a 3 story building. 90% of the time we were in our room we could hear the guests in the condo above us and/or people going up and down the stairs (when kids ran up/down the stairs, it rattled the headboard and wall in the larger bedroom). The walls and floors/ceilings are very thin. If your vacation requires quiet relaxation, do not stay at this resort. If you are OK with stomping, yelling, TV noise, etc, from the condo units around you, then this place should remain on your list of potential vacation spots - the mini golf, indoor pool, and 2 small arcade rooms are decent. The location of the resort is convenient to Jamestown and other area attractions. Wyndham provided us with enough laundry detergent to run 2 loads of wash, as well as 2 individual packs of dishwashing detergent. A large pizza from the resort cafe was $16. *We checked out a day early because we could not go another night with minimal sleep due to the noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor I had some concerns. None of them were warrented. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit on the second floor of a two story building. The unit was very large and lovely. Ir was clean and the furnishings were in good shape. The five dollar resort fee was well woth it as it includes all the activities as well as the theater and wi fi.
It was a delightful vacation and would love to stay at the Wyndham again. The location is fantastic, close to everything. We found you really need the three day pass in order to see all of Colonial Williamsburg.
In other reviews I read that there was a lot of pressure to attend the time share breakfat, we did not have that problem either.
I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

went during off season - Nov; so not crowded at stay nor Williamsburg. that said, our 2 bedroom was right across the main building, so access to pool and game room was extremely convenient. the kitchen had the basic tools, no complaints there; dining room was nice as were bedrooms. However, the furniture could use an update as well as the carpets. The rooms overall were spacious and decent. The pool and game rooms were very nice - clean. I would recommend staying here again - again this is based on off season stay. During peak-season, staff did state they reach 100% capacity. excellent location for park or Williamsburg.

Room Tip: if you think you'll use the pool more often, then try to see if you can get room near main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Wyndham Kingsgate is a terrific place to stay. Centrally located, yet quiet. Immaculately clean, well equipped, with lots of onsite activities. The staff is very helpful, and the units are well equipped. We would definitely stay here again. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with a pull out sofa in the living room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#24 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kingsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.