We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Romantic Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Kingsgate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Kingsgate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Discount
Ranked #28 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Xmas Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Every summer for the past 15 years I have visited Williamsburg, but this was my first winter trip. My fiancé’s family let us use their timeshare points and they booked a Christmas trip for the two of us.

The website states check-in is at 4; however when we arrived at 11 am they checked us in with no problem. This is a gated community and you have to have reservation papers or a keycard to get through. The front desk was quick and efficient, although we had to go to the concierge desk to get our parking pass. A bit of a hassle to wait in two lines, but the concierge staff were great. They have a folder full of coupons, maps, attraction brochures and much more. They give you a map of the area and circle where we are (right behind the Pirates golf, across the street from Cracker Barrel and Golden Corral) and ask if you want to know where anything is.

We got to our room (building 35, unit 201 one-bedroom) to relax for a bit. There;s no elevator, so you have to walk up some steps to get into the building, but the stairs to get to the upper floors are indoors. Theres a balcony, but the door was next to our door and you couldnt access from the unit.

When you get inside the room, you walk into the living room with a couch, chair, flat-screen TV with DVD player. There is a small kitchenette with a table that barely fits two people. The tiniest sink I've ever seen (you can’t fit any of the pots and pans in it) a convection oven (with instructions, thank goodness) two electric stovetops, a dishwasher and a fridge with freezer.

The cabinets are stocked with plastic cups, wine glasses, mugs, plates, bowls, utensils, numerous pots and pans, as well as two casserole dishes and a coffee machine. Under the sink is dishwashing detergent, soap and a sponge. There were paper towels, dish towels, rubber hot mats but no oven mitts!

The bathroom is huge and has a washer and dryer inside, along with laundry detergent. Full size tub but no detachable shower head. Shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash (!) and bars of soap. A hair dryer as well.

The bedroom has 2 doors, one to the bathroom and one to the living room/kitchenette. It has two desk chairs, two nightstands, alarm clock, flashlight (!), flat screen TV and queen-size bed. There is a huge closet with only 10 hangers and a safe. The pillows are super soft, so if you like firm pillows bring your own! Our window wasn’t completely shut or locked when we got there, and we didn’t realize until that night when we could hear the AC units right outside our window. The noise lessened when we clicked it shut, but light sleepers may have a problem. You have an individual thermostat that works instantly.

The check-out instructions want you to fill and start the dishwasher as well as take out all the trash. Very strange IMHO. There was no sales pitch and the property was so close to Colonial Williamsburg, it was great (about 3 miles) The drive to the grocery store (apparently they only have Food Lion in the general vicinity) is about 2 miles and the outlets are 10 to 15 miles.

We tried out the hot tub (which is outdoors!), but it was nice, except for the cold brick ground. You can pass through the heated indoor pool and there’s a door and gate to get through; or go straight from the parking lot, through a gate. Not much lighting but comfy, about 10 people could fit without brushing elbows. There are grills and picnic tables and the outdoor pool was still filled. The indoor pool had a glass wall showing into the fitness room. I didn’t check out the game room.

I stopped a few time by the concierge desk to ask questions and they were always happy to help. The Wi-Fi is relatively fast and easy to use.

Room Tip: bring your own pillow if you like firm pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    214
    99
    37
    19
See reviews for
334
87
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rome NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

1) Thank you for not subjecting us to any sales pitch! The management called us the next day just to see if everything was okay. Our condo was accessible but with only one designated parking spot even though there were other handicap units in the building. Many of the buildings in the complex have ramps, a nice plus. The large table and heavy chairs made the kitchen unit inaccessible unless the table was pushed against the outside wall. Roll in shower had an installed bench with an hand held shower head. Mattresses are covered with water resistant barriers. The kitchen sink was very low to the floor and very tiny. Bring your own coffee, tea and laundry detergent if you stay more than one day. Lighting inside and outside could be better. Hot water takes forever to heat up. Conveniently located. We stayed in January and were the only ones in the building so it was very quiet although I've read other reviews that complained of noise. Did not use any of the activities. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: washer/dryer units and d/w are noisy so plan accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The rooms have been remodelled. Gone is the jetted tub in the master BR. The space now holds a big table/desk that is perfect for your laptop. There is free wifi throughout the resort so I did not mind paying the $5 a day activities fee. The Activities Center is filled with noisy video games that teenagers love. There is a computer room with 2 PCs that can be used by each guest 30 minutes a day. An indoor pool is open year round. The front desk rents DVDs for $2 a night. My one regret is that there are no fireplaces in the units--and I brought logs! My unit had a view of the woods and was very private. I always tell the check-in people that my spouse is not with me so they never call me for the Timeshare presentation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at this location about 5 times. The game room is everyone's favorite! It's unlimited games! For free! Unlike most hotels/resorts where u have to pay a dollar for a 2 minute air hockey game, this resort lets u play as many games as u want for free! The pool is kind of small, but next to the pool is mini golf. There's alot of dining and attractions in the area, but really there's no need to eat out since all of the units are equipped with full kitchens. The nearest beach is VA beach and it took us about 2 hours to get there, so if you're looking for a beach if recommend staying somewhere closer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very nice resort and enjoyed our stay. We were here on an RCI timeshare exchange.

Checking was not bad especially the Sunday evening before Christmas Eve. I called a few weeks prior to ask that our two 2BR units be in close proximity. The desk agent asked if directly above/below was ok—it was. The units had the same foot print and everything we needed. We put the in-laws and one of our teens on the bottom floor and my wife and I took the top unit with our other teen and 20 YO.

Before leaving the reception area you have to see the concierge to “get your parking passes”. I was given the passes and asked if I was an RCI member and welcomed for having this status. I was then offered the choice of breakfast or lunch to the following day (Christmas Eve) to hear about their $xx million dollar resort. I declined and was then asked if I was sure…yes I was and that was the end of that.

The units themselves were very nice. The master bath is very small with a single sink and only a very small shower. I soaked the bath mat the first morning because the shower head has to be pointed at the wall in order for the spray not to shoot through the open door (be warned!).
Maintenance was very prompt for our two issues. A stopped toilet that would not come unplugged with the cheapo red plumber’s helper. They also brought a remote control for the MBR TV which we could not find.

All-in-all, the rooms look like thy have been renovated within the last few years. Kitchens were very nice.

There is a $5/day/unit “resort fee”, but for that you have access to tennis courts with rackets and balls, putt-putt, workout room, swimming pools (indoor and outdoor) and very nice arcade. The arcade is actually in two rooms and has just about any machine you can think of from pinball to Xbox and Wii. There is also a 48 person theater with fairly new movies. Seemed to be a kids film at 1pm and more mature (PG-13, etc) at 8:30pm. You have to call ahead to get on the list which we were not aware of. By the time we inquired, we were on the waiting list. We were leaving a few days early and were only charged the fee for the days we were there.

We’d certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort last spring as a timeshare exchange and were terribly disappointed. The front desk charged us an extra $75 for cleaning and the $ 15 for amenities which we did not use. The outdoor pool was not open , the golf was not open , nor was the restaurant . The chang room for the indoor pool was also closed .When I said we did not need or want the amenities , the staff member laughed at us and replied "what's the big deal, it' s only $15. I always thought that cleaning the unit was a cost of doing business but apparently not here. It will cost the extra $75. The 1 bedroom unit was TINY and the kitchen ill- equipped. We left one day early, We will NOT EVER GO BACK.

Room Tip: N o tip, just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We recently stayed at the Williamsburg Kingsgate Resort – 2 bedroom unit. Nice resort close to Colonial Williamsburg. Furniture was in decent condition. If you like comfortable paper products, I would suggest taking them with you. One thing that was confusing was the trash disposal situation. You leave trash in front of the unit. Each morning the bags were torn apart by animals and the maintenance staff picked it up. Why not have an enclosed area to deposit trash? It probably would be more cost effective and much more appealing.

Pros: Unit was in good location.
Unit was clean
Friendly front desk staff

Cons: Beds were very soft. Constantly felt as if you were “sinking”
Activity fee of $5.00/day is charged. You are issued wrist bands to use facilities.
We stayed 7 days and never used any of the facilities, but you are still charged.
Hot water takes forever!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#24 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kingsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.