We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Williamsburg to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Williamsburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   824 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Royal Inn Williamsburg - Busch Gardens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
1 review
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was very helpful...rooms were clean and the location was only minutes away from shops and amusement parks. This room was also very affordable...we were not expecting much for the price but were very suprised with the quality of the room. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    14
    6
    20
See reviews for
32
20
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Due to poor conditions at another hotel in Williamsburg, my family and I had to find another hotel late at night and fairly quick within the same area we were visiting. We found the Red Roof Inn in Williamsburg, VA accommodations great and affordable. The customer service provided by the hotel manager Victory and staff at the front desk and throughout our stay were excellent. I would recommend this Inn to others visiting Williamsburg, VA.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay there. The motel had just changed over to a Red Roof inn. The rooms were clean, staff was very friendly. It was just like a home away from home. My room had a flat screen TV, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. The rooms are huge, there were four of us and a little dog and we had plenty of room. The kids loved the pool and I loved the continental breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I came here to vacation with my family a few weeks ago, and I was looking for an affordable place to stay. Since I was traveling with my 3 year old child, my room had to be very clean. The room was VERY CLEAN, and the staff/service was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Picked up brochure at rest area advertising $49. Hotel clerk charged 95.00. Person behind me paid $55. Unsure why I was charged more than the person behind me. Continental breakfast. Coffee pot broken. Did not have a toaster. Orange juice was hot. Had strange notes that made you feel uncomfortable. "Do not take breakfast to your room". Overall terrible experience even for a bargain hunter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I originally made a rez through hotwire for 2 days then realized we should go a day earlier. We booked again through hotwire and got a different hotel (Royal Inn) than our first booking which was Knights inn. we stayed at the Royall inn and we were wowed from the start. The owner is on site ( a good thing, keeps things in order and the way he likes) we checked in out room and saw a microwave, refrigerator, a desk, flat screen TV, safe and a coffee maker. First words out of my girlfriend's mouth were " wow, some of this stuff you don't even get in an A.C. (Atlantic City) hotel and you pay way more". I couldn't agree more. Even though it was through hotwire Royal Inn's rate was still $50 a night. the stay was a like home feel and comfortable. the breakfast had fresh danish's and muffins. We didn't want to leave. Sadly we had to go to our original booking to Knights Inn (please never stay there!) We checked into our room we actually got KEYS(shoulda known then), the room had a tube TV and a dresser which the drawers didn't open. nothing was fresh. the AC unit went on and off through the night along with a train that went by 4x and woke us up like from the movie "my cousin vinny". I took the lost for the night right? well No I figured $45 for knights inn and I'd pay an extra 50 to go back to Royal inn which was woth it. Hence my Title. I'd pay 90 a nigt for inn. I called Royal Inn up and they had another room available, we went back and had a great night sleep and a homey feel. Victor is the owner of Royall Inn and you should also know that the name will change July 31st 2013 to Red roof Inn and Victor said the price would not change, either way I'd still stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I can only speak for room 126. It was fairly clean, very large for $50.00/night room, painted nice etc... Had a nice desk, table with 2 chairs and a nice wing chair. Had an iron, ironing board, microwave and fridge. Overall much more than I expected based on the price and other reviews on this site. I saved the best for last. The beds were absolutely awesome, as good or better than any hotel bed I've ever slept on. For sub $50/night the room was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Williamsburg

Address: 824 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Royal Inn Williamsburg - Busch Gardens)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Williamsburg! Our inn is close to the Colonial Area of Williamsburg. We are located on Capitol Landing Road, close to Exit 238 off of I-64, providing convenient access to major restaurants, shopping, and attractions. Amenities include flat screen TV’s, free breakfast and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.