We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location and warm, cozy and inviting with a very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful location and warm, cozy and inviting with a very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

A group of 16 travelers recently stayed at this lovely hotel. It was beautifully decorated for the holidays and we were greeted daily with fresh hot cookies and tea and coffee. The facility is great with lovely guest rooms, a wonderful heated pool, a large exercise room, an extensive complimentary breakfast buffet and an outstanding staff. No matter what was requested they went out of their way to make it happen. Everything was spotless and rooms were nicely appointed. The convenient location to many restaurants and the historic area make it very desirable. Sherry, the manager was especially helpful displaying true southern hospitality to all the guests.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    133
    50
    26
    12
See reviews for
185
110
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

When we travel, if we stay at a national chain we usually choose Country Inn because they are clean and a good value. This particular hotel was dirty and not well mainained. The bathroom had mold growing on surfaces, the table in our room was broken and even though the hotel was supposed to be non-smoking our room smelled of smoke. We stayed three nights and the lobby, hall, and breakfast room carpets were never swept. There are many hotels in this area and I would pick another one if I stay in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager400, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we appreciate the feedback; although I was not pleased to hear about your experience regarding the condition of our hotel I want to be clear that this guest did not reach out to any member of management during their stay to discuss. We are focused on creating a positive guest experience and pride ourselves on having a clean, comfortable property consistent with the Country Inn & Suites Brand. Although this guest did not contact management during their stay we have reached out to them to get more specific information, in the mean time all of our staff will continue to focus on providing excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I travel 70+ nights per year, both domestically and internationally. I have stayed in countless hotels, and can say this Country Inn and Suites is the best of the best. The rooms are always clean, the location is ideal, and the staff is amazing. Having stayed here more then 15 times I can absolutely say I would not consider another Hotel if trveling to the Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay(s) at our hotel. We appreciate our past guests and when you mention that you have stayed with us several times we are proud of the product and impact our service had on your experience. Thank you for your kind words and repeat business, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We have stayed here several times since this hotel opened. Past experiences have been good, but in the year since we were last here it has deteriorated badly. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, but the bed was shot. It looked like it had a been in a world's fattest man competeition it sagged so badly...same for the chair. I am sure this is due, in large part, to the high tourist/group volume in Williamsburg. However, when you are looking at $170 for a weekend night your money would be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your comments regarding the service and apologize for your experience with our beds. We had recently undergone a renovation to update our rooms and updating our bedding packages was a part of that renovation. We will review your specific case and work hard to make sure all of our rooms meet all guests expecations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I enjoyed my stay here. The beds were comfy. The room were spacious... it was very very quiet. Ms Ivy at breakfast is a true blessing and treats you as if you are joining her at her own kitchen. The pool was great as well.

The only thing I didn't like was that the room doors were very easy to open and unlock and my 2 year old figured that out quickly so we had a little issue but other than that I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we appreciate the positive feedback regarding Ms. Ivy and your note about our pool. Considering we have one of the only indoor pools in Williamsburg we are proud to have such a great amenity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Simply stated the hotel is ADEQUATE but not GOOD. On the positive, I found the room and amenities to be very CLEAN, and the staff HELPFUL. On the other side, the room was very DATED and WORN. The first room I was in had a mildew issue. I informed the font desk and they promptly moved me to another room. The 2nd room was better, but still was worn and in desperate need of updating. The breakfast was simply INSULTING. I would have preferred to pay an extra $10 and have a decent breakfast as opposed to the toast, undercooked pseudo sausage and hardboiled eggs which they served. All in all, if you get a GREAT price, then the place might be worth staying at. Otherwise, save the money and go wih 1 of the 100s of other hotels nearby. BTW, the location is great to many attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate that you mention that our rooms were very clean and our staff was helpful, we focus on customer service and appreciate that this portion of your stay was positive. I am troubled by the comment regarding the breakfast and will say that since your stay we have made upgrades to our breakfast program, improving it to a level where our recent guests have given high praise for selection and quality. For guests traveling to the area they will find we offer some of the best value for price and yes our location is outstanding. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Overall we had a good experience - staff very friendly and helpful (like when we got lost and couldn't locate the hotel 10:30pm at night on our arrival), the pool big and clean (great for the kids), super breakfast selection which is included. Overall decor is cute with the country style wall paintings. The only downside was the rooms smelled musty and damp. Our bathings suits didn't dry when left to hang all day. We just slept in the room, so it was ok, but definitely not comfortable for relaxing. Really convenient location to Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.