We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay, would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good stay, would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We've just had a lovely 4 night stay at this hotel, it was clean, our room was spacious and we found the hotel staff to be helpful and courteous. We traveled by train so don't have access to a car, the local bus into Williamsburg stopped right outside the hotel and Denny's diner was straight across the road so we found it to be very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Kay,

Thank you for telling us about your 4 night stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit in Williamsburg. We will pass this great feedback on to our staff. We appreciate your thoughts. We strive to provide a great place for all of our guests. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    119
    43
    25
    12
See reviews for
172
100
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were 2 adults and 2 kids, the purpose of the visit is to go to busch guarder, the lady who registered us at the first day were the best, i will never forget the lovely smile on here face, the hotel is the place to relax and enjoy the stay, a helpful tips and locations were provided at the time of check in which really helps, a complementary breakfast, wifi internet and parking has added a lot to the visit, rooms were clean, not to forget the laundry self service area that helps us during our visit, in total, the place is excellent for Williamsburg visit.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Maan,

Thank you for telling us about you visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Williamsburg. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. We are so glad that you enjoyed all that the hotel had to offer. Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs. We hope that you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Got a room for the night with a fantastic rate (lower than internet prices) just by walking in. The hotel grounds and lobby were very clean, the young man at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. He gave us an excellent recommendation to Sal's by Victor. My only complaint was the nasty lampshade between the beds.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Alley,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. Thank you for all of your comments about the hotel. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the lamp shade. We will be sure to pass that feedback on to our hotel staff. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a very nice hotel chain. We have stayed at many Country Inn and suites throughout the U.S. and have always enjoyed our stay. Behind the hotel there is a wooded area and we were able to observe a deer and also a lot of birds and squirrels.My wife and I enjoyed the indoor heated pool and spa and the room was very large and very clean. The hot breakfast was especially nice and included many fresh fruits as well as fresh hot biscuits and gravy.the location was great for us because we wanted to see Colonial Williamsburg, which was only a few miles away.

Room Tip: Stayed on bottom floor and it was very quiet for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Irmiee,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you and your wife chose us for your hotel needs. Thank you for mentioning the breakfast service. We are glad that you enjoyed it. We strive to provide great service to everyone. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Sherry runs a tight ship at this Country Inn. The staff were all friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and polite. The hotel was clean, and the pool was very nice. The location is great--not on the busiest road but convenient to Historic Williamsburg and the parkway between Jamestown and Yorktown. The suite was large with a microwave and fridge. The bathroom, however, was unnecessarily small. The door had only about an inch of clearance from the toilet when opening. The breakfast room was also very small and the breakfast left much to be desired.
The road noise is noticeable, so if you like quiet, ask for a room on the end of the hotel away from the road. Due to the impeccable service, I would stay at this hotel again.

Pros: excellent staff, nice pool, large suites, good location
Cons: less than stellar breakfast; small breakfast room

Room Tip: third floor away from the road will be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear hsmomcharlottenc,

Thank you so much for your feedback about the hotel. We are so glad that you chose us for your hotel needs. Thank you for your comments and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for mentioning your concerns about the bathroom and the breakfast service. We are very sorry if you were inconvenienced at all. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. It helps us make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I love the location of the hotel. It's close to everything. If not for the thin floor, I would have rated it at least 4 stars. However, we stayed at first floor, and we got a very active upstairs neighbor who got up around 6 am and started walking around in the room nonstop. To make the matter worse, the floor was squeaking. Our next door friends were also able to hear the noise.

If you are a light sleeper, this hotel is probably not for you. Unless you are able to request the top most floor.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose this hotel with good luck in this past with this hotel chain. Was traveling with other family members which we had two suite rooms. Our first problem was the pre-approved rooms for one night stay. They had charged another family member 3 different times on her credit card. That was finally resolved. When we did arrive that night for our stay we found one of our rooms not acceptable. Had towels in the bathroom on the floor and the bed pillows were found not on the bed correctly. Also the bathroom was not cleaned. We did report it to the front desk and he called the manager. Manager did move our family members to a different room and apologized for it, too. It seemed we had problems with this hotel on day one at the start. The manager did try to resolve the issues but I believe we will not be staying there again in the near future. Too many issues...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHERRY H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
I sincerely apologize that you felt your issues were not resolved to your satisfaction. It is my goal to always meet the expectations of my guest. Again I apologize that we did not meet yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.