We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, reasonable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, reasonable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The rooms are very clean and have high ceilings, there is a microwave in the room. Lovely indoor pool and a jacuzzi. Good breakfast with tables outside on a covered porch. Coffee, hot water and cookies available all day. You can hear people above you and in hallways. Chelsea at the desk was very helpful. Be aware, online bookings must be cancelled 48 hours out or you will be charged. Advertised as close to historic area, a little over a mile to visitors center. Nice hotel, reasonable, we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear NJLynn,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with us. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. Thank you for your feedback. We will pass it on to our staff. They always enjoy hearing feedback about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    119
    43
    25
    12
See reviews for
172
100
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came desperately looking for a hotel because our original booked hotel was a nightmare. This place gave us a great room and wonderful HOT breakfast and a pool. Coffee available 24 hrs. and staff always friendly and helpful. Chelsea helped us at the front desk and was a Godsend.We will stay here again! Location was great and room was big with 2 Queens! Quiet too!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was great! Elevator was always available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear psalms_63,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us in Williamsburg. We appreciate all of your feedback. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing about their service. Thank you for your feedback about Chelsea. We will make sure we pass this feedback on to her. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for our mini-vacation! The girls at the front desk were great and always welcomed us with a smile and a hello. Room was clean and comfortable! Enjoyed the evenings in the rocking chairs on the front porch. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear momof3boyzin2007,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va, Usa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is one of many hotels in about a mile stretch on the same road, so there is a lot of competition, and they have to stay on their toes. It seems that they have done just that. Everything was clean, well maintained, and decor was updated. We had 4 families in our group and all were happy. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool after a day of history. The kids also liked the fresh cookies, a bit too much. breakfast was the usual fare at this level of lodging, but the guy working it replenished everything so quickly, as it was busy and crowded 4th of July week. The wifi signal was strong and constant. Only complaint- our rooms were on the 2nd floor, and the hallway is open to the lobby. This allowed the lobby heat to rise to our hallway, and it was very hot in the hallway. The pillows were comfortable, and I am picky about pillows.

Room Tip: In summer, Get a room above the 2nd floor to avoid the heat from the lobby in your hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear MominVA,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. Thank you for your feedback regarding your room, and pillows. We are sorry if you were inconvenienced at all. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We use feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stay here every year on our way to the Outer Banks and it never disappoints! Very clean, great service and moderately priced. Pool for the kids and free breakfast. Most importantly, it's very clean and feels like a new property.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear ChgoJohn,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so happy that you and your family stayed with us. Thank you for your comments. We really value all feedback from our guests. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located, and the breakfast provided is adequate. The porch out front is a nice place to hang out, especially in the rain. However, that's where the positives end. My family and I stayed in a 2 queen suite, and this was our experience.

1. The front door was crooked on the hinges and would not bolt lock properly. The hotel staff did get that fixed on the second day, but it should not have been an issue to start with. There is no way no previous guest would not bring that up.
2. The bathroom was miniscule and this door was also crooked because the bottom of it hit the floor whenever you opened it. Again, they fixed the door on the 2nd day, but the bathroom was so small it was almost impossible to maneuver around it, and totally inadequate for four people. (And if you had fewer, why would you get a suite in the first place?)
3. The bedding for the pull out couch was a joke - a worn, holey, dingy looking blanket and a pillow. We were provided additional bedding upon request, but felt we should not have had to rerquest it, and that someone should have noticed how old and inadequate the original bedding was.
4. The halls are stifling, as I suppose the AC is not run there.
There is inadequate lighting throughout the suite, especially in the bedroom.
5. There are two sets of washers and dryers for guest use, but one was not working when we were there (can't be helped), and the other was being used by the hotel's contractors and not emptied in a timely manner. When I complained (as it was 10pm and I really didn't want to be up all night), I was told by the desk staff that she could not touch personal property. Well, if you are going to let staff/contractors use the facilities, there really should not be a problem with moving their clothes left in the machines.

The staff were all very helpful, and put up with my complaining as if they were used to it, which should have been a warning sign. The manager was nice as long as you had nothing negative to say, at which time she became annoyed and defensive. They offered to put us in another room, but it was just another suite of the same size, so no help there. Also, they did comp our room for one night, which was nice, and I really thank the girl who even offered to help us find another hotel. However, the hotels that had the amenities we were interested in were booked.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHERRY H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I do want to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. It is always our goal to make our guest happy.
I would also like to apologize for the misunderstanding in reference to the guest that were contractors working in the area that were using the guest laundry. It is our policy, to not remove a guest laundry until it has been in the laundry an excessive amount of time.
My staff and I genuinely care about our guest. We will always go above and beyond for them to make their stay enjoyable.
I truly regret that we were not able to meet your expectations during your 4 day stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Indiana
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights in one of the suites . Party of 6 and there were 2 queen beds and queen sleeper sofa which worked out well. the hotel was clean and nice. Price good, continental breakfast well supplied.Unfortunately arrived at the same time as an 8th grad class and they literately took over the pol and breakfast area every day. It was impossible for my grandchildren to get into the pool while they were there, just too many...so we had to wait till they were done using the pool.. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The big complaint was with housekeeping.. They removed trash and dirty towels but did not replace anything....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear LindaLin63,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad that you and your family could stay with us. Thank you for all of your feedback. Thank you for telling us about the housekeeping in your room. We apologize for the inconvenience. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.