We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice places to stay if” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Guilford, Indiana
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice places to stay if”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights in one of the suites . Party of 6 and there were 2 queen beds and queen sleeper sofa which worked out well. the hotel was clean and nice. Price good, continental breakfast well supplied.Unfortunately arrived at the same time as an 8th grad class and they literately took over the pol and breakfast area every day. It was impossible for my grandchildren to get into the pool while they were there, just too many...so we had to wait till they were done using the pool.. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The big complaint was with housekeeping.. They removed trash and dirty towels but did not replace anything....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear LindaLin63,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad that you and your family could stay with us. Thank you for all of your feedback. Thank you for telling us about the housekeeping in your room. We apologize for the inconvenience. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    119
    43
    25
    12
See reviews for
172
100
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent three nights at the Country Inn and Suites in Williamsburg. We were very happy with our room (clean and comfortable), which included a microwave, coffee maker and small refrigerator. The breakfast included some hot dishes and was continually restocked. The complimentary coffee/tea station is available 24 hours and cookies are available at the front desk.

Chelsea at the front desk was especially pleasant and helpful. She was quick to recommend a restaurant for dinner (Second Street American Bistro) and printed out directions to the place to make getting there easy. When we decided to stay in for dinner on a particularly stormy night, Chelsea recommended two restaurants that would deliver and even brought the menus to our room. Wow!

The hotel is located about one mile from historic Williamsburg.

Country Inn and Suites is becoming one of our favorite on-the-road hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Gayla422,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. Thank you for mentioning Chelsea. She is a great asset to our hotel. She will really appreciate hearing this feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with another couple who have a small child. While I would consider recommending this hotel to a family, I can say that I'd return as a couple. There are just better options in the area.

There are many good things about this hotel. Its reasonably clean. The staff are very nice. Free cookies would probably appeal to most. I did appreciate the free coffee and tea available all day, and it was nice to have a microwave and fridge in the room. A family with small children would be very comfortable here.

Unfortunately there were too many reasons for me not to come back. The hotel is clearly short on king sized beds. We were only able to get a room with two queens. My husband and I are both very tall, so this was not ideal. We were unable to unpack for our three night stay, as five out of six of the drawers in the dresser were broken (Room 225). The water pressure was a little low, and the WiFi did not reach to our end of the building. The pillows were very thin, but this was not such a problem, as we usually bring our on when we're driving.

While families would most likely be very comfortable here, adult travelers looking for a more restful stay would be better off staying elsewhere. I considered using the hotel pool a few times, but each time (including at 10 pm) it was overrun with kids. It looked like fun for families, but it was a little too boisterous and splashy for me.

I was please to get free breakfast, but a little disappointed that the "healthy options" consisted of yoplait yogurt, wilted apples and canned peaches. Other than that, there was a waffle Maker, cereal, and toast.

All in all, it wasn't a bad stay, and it was conveniently located, but I would probably stay somewhere quieter next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

the hotel was very neat and clean and easy access to all sites. the girls at the front desk ( Chelsea and Kelsie ) were very helpful in all areas from getting us checked in to offering us suggestions on food and sites to see, also the free cookies were always there for the eating. A hotel that I would use again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for mentioning our employees. We will pass this feedback on to them. They always appreciate hearing comments about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have no complains about this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, there was a fridge in the room and they provide free breakfast. However, we have stayed at another hotel in the area for the same price and we prefer that one to this. We'll probably go back there the next time we're in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our final destination on a family vacation was Williamsburg, VA. With doubt, this was the most relaxing, well appointed, clean and best value for money hotel of the entire trip.

It's location is perfect for visiting Colonial Williamsburg and, indeed, the historical triangle as a whole. It has a great pool and spa, complimentary breakfast and extremely friendly helpful staff, especially Chelsea, who made us welcome and were helpful at all times.

We shall certainly make this our number one choice when staying in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear BaldlEagle44,
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. Thank you for mentioning our staff member Chelsea. We will pass this feedback on to her. Thanks for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed in this hotel from May 8 to May 11. The location was fantastic, close to all the historic areas. Chelsea and Kelsie at the front desk, where extremely friendly and very helpful. They suggested great restaurants and helped us with information on one of the sites we were interested in visiting. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was good. We would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Maureen P,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your husband, and also your friends. We hope that your stay in Williamsburg was enjoyable. Thank you for your lovely comments about Chelsea and Kelsie. We will make sure that we pass those comments on to them. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.