We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful front desk - Chelsea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very helpful front desk - Chelsea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a good stay at the hotel for one night. Hotels.com screwed up my reservation. I had thought I booked a suite, but it was not. Chelsea at the front desk was very helpful and got me in a suite even though it was not the hotels fault. Thanks Chelsea!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Jerry83,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are very sorry that your reservation was not what you had requested. We are glad that we could accommodate you anyway. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We hope if you return to the area again that you will stay with us. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    99
    37
    24
    12
See reviews for
150
88
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for spring break using points. While the service was great the rooms were average and the cleaning crew left a lot to be desired. We found hairs in our shower and empty water bottles on the floor of our room. The free breakfast was just ok. But everyone was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear CostaRicaMaryland,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the housekeeping in your room. We apologize for this inconvenience. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night enroute to NC with a 2 and a 1 year old; excellent room and when my son left his favorite stuffed giraffe there they were able to find an ship to us.
Breakfast was good as was the pool although it was a tad cool. Kind and helpful staff as well.
Thanks!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Mkr52878,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate your feedback. We will pass it on to our staff. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We were happy to send the toy back to your child. It was our pleasure. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williasburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

-ask for Sherry! the most friendly manager i have ever doubt with. Entire staff were very friendly and willing to make their guests feel like home. we were a group of 6 families from out of town. a lot of unknowns. but they can help you with anything you need. "where to eat, what to do, or even how to kill time.", they can help you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Wayne,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We ware so glad that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for time. We hope you stay with us in the future.


Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family and five other families stayed there for two nights and had a pleasant stay. Since we booked so many rooms country inn upgraded one of our rooms to a suite which almost cost double the price for free. It made our stay more comfortable since we had two kids.
The service at the hotel was great. Especially to a particular staff who helped me sat night. It was late at night and I wanted a cup of green tea. Apparently the hot water was tampered by a light brown color and the front desk lady went out of her way to get me new batch of water despite the kitchen being locked. I was ok with just having coffee instead but she insist on making it right. Many kudos to her for her professionalism. It just shows that the staff do take pride In what they do and if something isn't perfect they will make it right.

Extra credit also goes out to the manager for accommodating all 20 of us and the free fresh bake cookies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Taiyi,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate your large group. We hope you and your family enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the days right after Christmas while visiting Colonial Williamsburg and it was delightful! The room was really spacious and very clean, it looked like it had been recently updated. We enjoyed the continental breakfast both mornings and took advantage of the free hot chocolate in the warm and cozy lobby more than once. We also used the business center to print our tickets for both Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens Christmastown. There was also a heated indoor pool onsite that we regretted not packing our bathing suits for. Absolutely no complaints, will definitely stay at a Country Inn and Suites again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Cameron S,

Thank you for telling us about your stay after Christmas. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We hope you and your husband enjoyed Williamsburg. The holiday season is a great time to visit this area. We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here a while ago, I really loved it!
Pros:
GREAT BREAKFAST! Lots to choose from, couldnt be better
Huge Room! I stayed in a suite, not sure about single rooms
Really nice staff, always friendly
Very Clean, not dirty what so ever
Cons: Little bit of a small pool fine in winter, maybe problem in summer, i dont know

Room Tip: At least for now, some is being painted, 2nd floor is fine i know for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Eric M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your great feedback. We use guest feedback to allow us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.