We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least it was on sale” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“At least it was on sale”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Luckily, I got the room on sale for $60. It was not the cleanest.. The sheets obviously weren't changed, the bathroom had mildew and wasn't fully stocked. The staff was friendly, though, and let me check in early.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHERRY H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I would love to speak with you about your experience during your stay. It is my goal that every guest enjoy their stay look forward to returning. I truely apologize for your issues and certainly look forward to speaking to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    119
    43
    25
    12
See reviews for
172
100
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheektowaga, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights while in town for a wedding, after driving in 10 hours from Buffalo, NY the woman at the desk was very kind and helpful. They were extremely courteous and patient on the phone as well when I made the reservation and very accommodating when i needed to change my reservation! The room was very comfortable and clean and the pool and hot tub are as well. Its in a great location with lots of places to eat and shop near by as well as many historic areas. Defiantly would recommend it!! We will for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Suzy L,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We are so glad that you stayed with us, and the we could accommodate you. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here from Sunday Dec. 23rd through the 26th. The location was very close to the historic district, so we visited that area several times to see the Christmas decor and roam through some of the shops. It was also close to Busch Gardens where we enjoyed the ChristmasTown lights.
The suite we were in was clean, quiet (except for some heavy-footed people above us) and quite roomy. The HD TV in the master bedroom and the smaller tv in the sitting area were both newer and had good pictures. The mattress was one of the most comfortable I had slept on.
The staff was friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was OK...the person in charge of keeping the food replenished had a hard time keeping up, but there were a lot of people staying there and eating breakfast. We chose to go to the nearby Cracker Barrel for breakfast a couple mornings.
We got a very good price by going through the Williamsburg website and feel our money was well spent here. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Since we were there several days and the weather was cool and damp, we were glad we had a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear mountainlvr52,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. The hotel was quiet, the bed was comfortable and the TV was very big with HD.
Great accessibility to all the historic attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear mszos,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. We hope you will visit with us again in the future. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Great location for touring Williamsburg. We booked on line, saving money on an already very favorable rate. Staff member who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, even giving us a welcome bag with maps, guidebooks and snacks. Our room was clean, comfortable, and I really liked having two sinks in the room! We didn't use the exercise room, but it looked very nice. Breakfast each morning was generous and varied. WiFi was included throughout the facility and it was free. A very pleasant stay. Thanks, everyone, at The Country Inn & Suites!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I booked through Priceline. The hotel was much more than we expected and very affordable. I would have to rate it 4 1/2 out of 5. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the eating area clean. Fresh baked cookies were at the front desk every evening...this made all 32 of my sweet teeth happy. You can bet that I'll stay here again if ever in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Keith D,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your commetns about the stay. We are so glad that you stayed with us and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean , safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suties Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here during our visit to Williamsberg and loved the hotel. We booked it using hotwire.com and got an incredible deal. We were even upgraded to a suite, which was in perfect condition and was huge for the two of us! The morning breakfast was delicious. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Lisa_sunnyvale,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We will pass them on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast. We are always trying to make this service better. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.