We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in November '12 with wife for a weekend. Clean hotel, nice size rooms and very well located. For a three star hotel is a great value. The location is close to most amenities in Williamsburg. The service was very friendly and responsive. Only con was the breakfast area a little small for the amount of people on Sunday but not a big problem and the breakfast selection is average for the hotel level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Jorge L,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We hope that you and your wife enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We also appreciate your concerns about the breakfast area. We are sorry for any inconvenience. We appreciate all guest feedback. It alllows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thanks for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    102
    39
    24
    12
See reviews for
156
89
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to Williamsburg for our 25th Anniversary and stayed at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson. It felt like being at home. We had a very nice room and the staff was exceptionally nice. They went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed to have a safe and pleasant stay. Words can not describe how it felt staying at this Hotel. My husband and I were very happy to share our 25th Anniversary in such a nice Hotel. They also had a complimentary breakfast which was fully stock! :-) Yummy!! I would highly recommend this Hotel. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Grace B,

Thnak you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. Thank you for allowing us to be apart of your very special anniversary. We hoped your enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, Williamsburg, VA - was in an ideal location for our visit to Colonial Williamsburg. We had a very nice room and our bathroom facilities were handicapped accessible - which meant the bathroom was a little more spacious. The shower head was adjustable and it had a normal water flow coming from it -- which was a real treat.

Another special treat was the friendliness and helpfulness of one of your evening desk attendants -- specifically ELENA. Way to go, Elena --- thanks so much for alll your help. Elena went the extra mile for us and we were very grateful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Terri R,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. Thank you for your comments about Elena. We will make sure that we pass these comments on to her. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.


Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Willamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Got a room here for $49 with a coupon from one of those VA hotrls booklets.The 50 inch HD Panasonic panel TV was awesome. Lovely furnishings. Cozy beds, pillows. Easy walk to Cracker Barrel and Corral restaurants. 7 Eleven next door convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear ozeeboy,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We appreciate the feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night in October, wanting to go to Busch Gardens AND Colonial Williamsburg..this hotel was in an excellent location for both. Hotel was beautiful, nicely appointed and quite modern. it had a fully stocked breakfast room, indoor pool and Spa and also a fitness center. Rooms were huge, clean and very updated! Great WI-FI as well. The beds were comfortable, room had a 42 inch flatscreen! We really enjoyed the pool and spa, plus the breakfast in the morning was very good. Price was right,too! We TOTALLY recommend Country Inn!! The staff was VERY nice!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear drdave57,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are so glad that we could take care of your during your stay in Williamsburg. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We appreciate your feedback. We will pass these great comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at a Country Inn and Suites several years ago and were pleased with the stay but there are not many of their properties close to us or where we have travelled recently. However, we recently travelled to Williamsburg, VA and I found a CI&S property there that was close to the historic district on 40 Bypass Road. The stay was great and the value incredible. I have oftened wondered, over the last few years, why hotels have become so expensive and deliver so little for the $100+ that you pay per night. CS&I answered that question with a stay that was well under that price per night and delivered far more than our stays at other hotel chains who charge over $200 per night for a family of four. The property and room were spotless and clean. The suite had plenty of room and the beds were very comfortable. Ashleigh checked us in and helped with everything from directions to dining options and was friendly. Joanna, served us in the breakfast dining room daily, with a smile and pleasant conversation, alongside the good food that was served. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay again when we come back to visit family that is now in the area.

Room Tip: Suites are woth the slight extra you pay but are well under the cost of staying at Hampton, Holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear John D,
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could acocmmodate you, and your family. We appreciate all guest feedback. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just stayed for 2 nights at the Country Inn & Suites with my 2 kids, ages 11 & 13. We were looking for something clean and close to Williamsburg / Jamestown / Yorktown with breakfast included. The Country Inn & Suites was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were happy to find their standard rooms were 2 queens instead the doubles you typically find. Location was perfect - very close to the visitor's center and the colonial parkway - easy place to use as a home base. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. There was a small refrig and microwave in our room. The breakfast wasn't great - but typical for what you might expect at this type of hotel. All in all, I would recommend this as a great family hotel if you are visiting Williamsburg and want to keep your hotel costs to a minimum. There is also an indoor pool where the kids can burn a little energy after a day of touring...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Kristin M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family during your visit to the area. Thank you for your comments. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 400 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.