We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Week Stay, Pretty Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1624 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
History Buff Package
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One Week Stay, Pretty Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed six nights at this location and thought it was a nice property. Some of the front desk staff was a little bit cool for my taste, excepting a couple of folks who were proactively friendly. Room was very good, bed was uber-comfortable as is typical for this chain, and housekeeping was excellent. The pool and exercise areas were clean, well lit, and pleasant.

The hotel is centrally located and there are a lot of good (and a few less-than-optimal) choices for food and entertainment within reasonable walking distance, in addition to all of the historic areas which are a short drive away. Location was a plus for this property.

About five o'clock one evening late in my stay, the power went out in the city for a little over twelve hours following a storm. The hotel had no backup power beyond battery-powered emergency lighting that lasted a couple of hours. Then it got crazy dark. The hotel staff put chemlights in the hallways and handed out small flashlights, so I think it was handled well at the local level, but a small backup generator to power essential services and emergency lighting doesn't seem unreasonable for a hotel at this price point.

Of course, one rarely uses the stairwells in a multi-story hotel, but the power outage forced everyone to use them. At the bottom of the stairwell, I found about 10 mattresses tucked under the lowest landing. Combustible material under stairs is a big no-no under most fire codes as it can catch fire and block emergency evacuation routes.

Lastly, and of minor importance, there was a strange and persistent smell (funky-body?) all week in the hallway between the front desk and the elevators. It wasn’t a show stopper but wasn’t very pleasant and should be addressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your six night stay at our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the power outage that occurred. We try out best to make our guest as comfortable as possible if there is a power outage. We will be considering your comments for future policies in the event the power is out for an extended period of time. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    175
    39
    21
    20
See reviews for
226
152
18
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bear
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel that we have always stayed in was not avaiable for Spring break- so I booked Garden Inn. we found this hotel to be our new favorite! This hotel is an older hotel, however the rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfy. we loved it so much there that we booked an extra night. Kids loved the pool and the free tea/cookies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We appreciate you review of our hotel. It is nice to hear that we exceeded our expectations when the hotel you normally book at was sold out. We would be delighted to see you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good location, less than 10 minutes to colonial Williamsburg. Excellent buffet breakfast, $8.95, blueberry pancakes, fresh toast were the best!

Very helpful and professional staff, free coffee, tea and cookies daily. Would come back for return stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our cook-to-order breakfast. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have been staying here for nearly ten years on our way to vacation and we would never change! The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are roomy and comfortable (we do always book the suite) and the morning breakfast has a lot of variety as well as a custom order from the kitchen. They even make it convenient to make to-go coffee/tea/cocoa. I would definitely recommend booking the bed and breakfast package. They also have a variety of cookies each afternoon for free in the lobby (kids love it!) and a small "pantry" with items to purchase including alcoholic selections (reasonably priced for a hotel). The location is perfect. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance or just a short drive for something a bit more upscale. There is shopping just down the road at a large outlet mall - which also includes premium shops or some touristy places within walking distance. Great stay - as always - thank you!! See you all again next year!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review about our hotel. It is always nice to hear about what keeps our customers coming back year after year. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a nice Hotel. Staff is very helpful with local information. My family enjoyed our stay here.We had no problems. Beds were comfortable and everything was nice and clean. I really liked the small kitchenette with fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we enjoyed the inn &the fact it was very convenient to good restaurants but really enjoyed the breakfasts the inn served. As well as your buffet choices they had a chef to cook anything you pleased. It was nice to be greeted in the morning by a smiling hostess &pleasant wait staff. The homemade cookies in the afternoon were a nice treat after touring all day.Convenient also to the historic area as well as the huge outlet mall so there was something for everyone. Will always look for this type of inn on future travels

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We appreciate your review about your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear that our guests had a pleasant experience with us. We are glad to hear that you will be trying other Hilton Garden Inns in the future. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Williamsburg.


Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The good:
Beds were comfy. Hotel was clean. Room was spacious - had room for a queen sized bed and a little sitting area. Complimentary wifi. Lobby is pretty. Good breakfast - omelets/pancakes/french toast to order, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt

The not so good: no vent in bathroom. Noticed some paint chipping on bathroom ceiling and a chip in the bathtub. Other guests were loud and drunk - I boarded one elevator in the lobby, and the loud drunk people another, and I could hear them through the elevator shaft. Our neighbors also hung out in the hallway (instead of their room) but they simmered down as it was time to sleep.

The ugly: Breakfast service EXTREMELY slow. There was a long line in the middle of the lobby where we waited 15 min to be seated (but there were tables with seats available). After waiting to be seated, we had to wait in the omelet line for another 5-10 min while ONE chef cooked all of the omelets. Good thing we weren't on a tight schedule.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgiwilliamsburg, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. It is always nice to hear the good and what needs improved upon. I would like to personally apologize for the wait time that you experienced during breakfast. Our breakfast is popular among our guests and during peak hours there can be a wait time. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Moore
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg

Address: 1624 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests traveling to Williamsburg for leisure can enjoy our hotel's close proximity to a range of exciting area attractions. At the Hilton Garden Inn hotel guests will find everything required for a comfortable and memorable stay. One King or two Double Beds Large work desk with ergonomic chair Microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker Iron, ironing board and hairdryer Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.