We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1624 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best value in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Anytime we visit Williamsburg we always stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The modern rooms are clean and comfortable and have all the in-room amenities you would expect from a Hilton hotel. Although the swimming pool is small, it is indoors and heated so we can take a dip in any season. The hotel is within walking distance from some good restaurants and cute stores. I have found the staff to be friendly and I love the 24 hour pantry for a midnight snack. It is only about a mile from the visitor center so in the busy summer months, we drive to the visitor center's large parking lot and take the bus to the historic area. We have stayed at several of the hotels in the historic area and think that the Hilton Garden Inn is a much better value. We have paid as little at $80/night to as much as $130/night. The same room in the historic area would cost over $200/night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RohitKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were greeted by friendly staff on our arrival. Our room was a King Room and was a good size with plenty of room for suitcases. There was a desk and chair and a large armchair. We were on 4th floor.

The bathroom was clean and had a shower over bath with a water saving shower. Shower pressure was good though. Neutrogena soap was provided; shampoo, conditioner and body lotion were Bath & Body Works. A makeup remover towelette was provided – good touch. No shower gel here either.

There was a comfortable king bed with lots of pillows. As well as the doona/duvet there was a sheet. Closet was a great size with lots of hangers. Free wireless internet was provided. It was a little slow to load. There was no safe in the room which was a bit surprising.

There were plenty of eating places close by and we tried Chilis and were very happy with our meal. On return we purchased a beer and a small wine from the Pantry - $5 (plus tax) for the two– bargain.

Breakfast was great! It was buffet and everything was fresh. The omelette I had was made to order and was great. My husband had pancakes (made to order) and they were lovely and fluffy. It was one of the best breakfasts we have had on our US East Coast trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EWCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Although I had a 4 night reservation, and intended to stay for three of the 4 nights, the staff would not allow me to cancel the first night without having to pay for a full night. I made the reservation by phone the day before my reservation, and I was never told there was a 48 hour cancellation policy, I assumed it was a standard cancellation policy. Given the competition in the area, I decided to cancel all 4 nights, and go elsewhere. They will have no problem reselling my room, its overly punitive to have done this to what still would have been a good customer. Shortsighted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mongoNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is centrally located, if you choose, you can walk to nearby restaurants.
The is a gym if you choose to work out, but all we did was eat. A warm and nicely decorated lobby with chairs, couch and a TV
Freshly baked cookies to munch on, a kiosk for beer wine soda and candies, etc.
You can purchase Bush Garden or Water country tickets in the lobby of the Inn from anyone of the Employees behind the desk.
I can't say enough about the service we received.
Nancy and Craig at the front desk were professional, courteous, informative, and attentive too our needs.
The Hotel was spotless, fresh towels and a host of useful amenities in our room.
The breakfast buffet was much more than I expected and I would rate it an A+++ , everything was freshly made and cooked to order.
Gloria; The buffet hostess, was friendly, outgoing and informative. She seated us quickly and took the time to explain what was on the menu, how it was prepared and what the order process was, furthermore she recommended local area attractions. She should be commended for her diligence and thoughtfulness.
Pool is a bit small, but the rest of the Garden inn more than makes up for it.
Great Job Hilton, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here as a stopping point on I 95 and visit to Colonial Williamsburg. Room was a great size for a family of four plus frig and microwave a plus. Beds were soft for my taste, but overall room very clean. The Bath + Body Works products were a nice touch. Proximity to Colonial Williamsburg fantastic. Staff very friendly. Impressed someone called on our last night to ask about service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights last week taking advantage of the Whole Lotta Williamsburg, Summer Bounce Package and chose this hotel based on the many positive reviews. We were extremely happy with the hotel, friendliness of the staff, clean beds/linens and rooms and perks like homemade cookies every day with option to purchase wine/beer with the available cheese and crackers in the evening.

Our family of 4 traveled with my Mom and she loved it as well. We had adjoining rooms which was very nice. Check-in and out was seamless and very organized. As part of the B&B packge, we ab-so-lutely LOVED the full made-to-order breakfast every morning which was fresh and delicious. Highly recommend to have as part of your vacation package. No need to leave the hotel for breakfast which gives more time to enjoy your day out!

Cheese and crackers and wine for purchase were available every evening and a real plus were the FREE homemade chocolate chip, oatmeal and white chocolate chip cookies that were available every afternoon and evening. I had to make a homemade batch the following day for my family after returning home since we were in cookie "withdrawal"!!

Beds were clean, linens and duvet cover crisp and white. Only negative is that the beds in the standard rooms are full sized. Queen would have been perfect but not a deal-breaker. Overall pretty comfortable.

Pool / spa area very clean but if you are looking for a big pool, please note that it is very small which is hard to tell by the photos. Was disappointed at the size at first but wound up being ok with it for a swim and to cool off or soak in the nice hot sauna after walking all day. Really nice fitness area too.

Room Tip: check to see if you can get a room with two queen beds if traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjnNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
297 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is on a busy strip that is jam-packed with other hotels and restaurants: Good if you want to walk out your door and walk to dinner, maybe not so good if you want a secluded location. Anyway, the staff was incredibly friendly. The hotel was very busy and loaded with families when we were there, but the staff never seemed to get flustered. They have good coffee available all day and delicious cookies in the afternoons.

The breakfast is great -- they could use a little re-working of the system as it was very crowded on the weekend, and you have to stand in line to give your breakfast order to the cook. The line was long and blocked the buffet for the people who were content with that. Perhaps they should just have a waitress take the orders as there's not much space. Still, with the crowd and the line and the hungry kids, I was impressed that the staff remained pleasant at all times.

The room itself was nice, updated, and clean with a microwave and refrigerator. We could hear kids in the rooms around us, but once night came, all was quiet and we slept like babies. There is an indoor pool (very chlorinated) and a small gym with 2 treadmills, an elliptical, and weights. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
4.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg

Address: 1624 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our convenient location in the heart of Williamsburg's restaurant and entertainment district at the Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg, VA hotel. All the attractions of Colonial Williamsburg are located just minutes away. Our hotel also boasts proximity to Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Find everything you need for work and relaxation in this Williamsburg, VA hotel. Benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. With a complimentary 24-hour business center and meeting space for up to 125 people, the Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg hotel is the stand-out choice for meetings and events in Williamsburg. Take advantage of our 24-hour fitness center, Pavilion Pantry(R) convenience store and indoor pool. Guest rooms feature all you need for work and relaxation with the latest technology and comforting amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing