We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Too Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Williamsburg to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1644 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Richmond, VA
1 review
“Not Too Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Great location and overall the hotel was pretty nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were well laid out but the bed was very uncomfortable. Housekeeping could have been a little better. I found hair on our bathroom floor. Pros: Great location, friendly staff and great free breakfast in the morning. Cons: Uncomfortable bed & housekeeping. I would stay again but very a very short stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    94
    58
    29
    13
See reviews for
163
67
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

This was a very good hotel for your moneys worth. It was over all nice and clean and was very elegant. All but a few markings on our wall in the room. We booked through AAA and there was a miscommunication and they gave us 2 double beds when they meant 2 occupancy so we switched rooms and got 1 king bed. We didn't need 2 beds, we were a young couple on our honeymoon. There was no extra cost for this. They give a free hot contential breakfast too.

  • Liked — The hotel was pretty empty and they could switch our rooms
  • Disliked — continetal breakfast was over at 9am
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed five nights at Springhill Suites and we're very happy with our choice. I had hesitated a lot after reading some reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. The suites are spacious and clean. Our teenage son slept on the sofa bed so there were no fight between him and his teenage sister. We all loved the breakfast and the teens didn't mind waiting for the next available waffle maker. The staff was great. Very polite and helpful. When the breakfast room ran out of an item, especially the waffle batter or the coffee, we just asked for more and they promptly responded. The only negative thing: no working fan in the bathroom and the caulking was black in certain places around the bathtub. I mentioned this to the front desk and suggested that they invest a little money because it could become a problem. Oh! Let's not forget: Great location! The hotel is surrounded by nice restaurants and plenty of places to visit or shop but, at the same time, very quiet location because its not directly on the street. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Great room, breakfast, location
  • Disliked — Mold in bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Whenever we travel, we usually stay at a Springhill Suites. I really like this hotel. But when I came home, I started itching and could not understand why I was itching, when speaking with another person who was wtih me she stated that she was itching also. Well she went to her doctor who told her it was BED BUGS!. I immediately went to my doctor who told me the same thing. Well we called the hotel to inform them that they have an issue with Bed Bugs. No response from them other than "We are sorry" . Now we have to go and deal with this problem that is very hard to get rid of. Yes, I will stay at Springhill Suites again, but not in Williamsburg, VA.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

The price was too high for the mediocre room/service.

Didn't care for layout of suite. Although a seperate room (kind of)--no door or barrier living area. Couldn't watch TV in one room without bothering person sleeping in other.

Too many things in this new hotel were already broken/damanged. A bunch of little things added up. i.e. security lock had 2 of 3 screws missing and was bent, tub plug broken, faucet plate off wall, etc. Nothing major, but at $170/night they are not staying on top of manitenance items. Of course Hot Tub is still broken. The indoor pool water was COLD and way over chlorinated.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bad value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

This hotel was a great value for the money. When I bid on Priceline, this hotel was considered in the Outlets section.

For my winning bid, we received a hotel that was clean, had a nice free breakfast (all the traditional cold foods, plus precooked hard eggs (imagine a flat hard cooked egg) sausage, bacon, make your own waffles with peaches, fruit, milk, juice, coffee, oatmeal, etc. Lots of food. The breakfast room was full the three days we visited it, though we found a table each time. I wish the coffee was a bit stronger, but most would like it all right. The room was very nice with a king sized bed separated by a divider from a living area with a pull out couch, a mini fridge, a microwave, a sink, a coffee maker, and a table with one chair. Internet service was free. The bathroom had a sink area separated from the shower/tub area. It was a little tight for a family of four, and I wish that we had been able to have two double beds plus the pull out, but we managed. All the other amenities more than made up for this. There was an indoor pool, a laundry room on two floors with two washers and two dryers each. We also appreciated the mini-store that offered microwave meals - we opted for this one night.

The location was fantastic, with many restaurants nearby, if you want beer or wine there are also places to find it nearby - it is a short drive to Colonial Williamsburg and Bush Gardens. We also had a short drive to the Prime Outlets in the other direction.

Our rating of Excellent is based on the value for the money we spent. This is not a four star hotel, however it is the nicest 2 1/2 star hotel I have ever stayed in. It is clean, the amenities are great. The only criticism is the (still) broken hot tub and the stained hall way rugs. Not horrible, they just have a fun, bright color that shows any dirt. The only thing keeping it from being a three star is the lack of an onsite restaurant, however I think that would be redundant, as there are so many restaurants within a three minute walk (at least five.) Our favorite was across the street at Food for Thought. We would stay here again. Last, any staff we met at the hotel was helpful and respectful. When I greeted the evening gentleman on duty (I can't remember his name, but he bears a resemblance to Antonio Banderas) he was pleasant and helpful. My son had a spill with sticky honey at breakfast; I was cleaning it up and one of the very busy women in the breakfast area came right over to ask if I needed any help. The man I met in the hall who worked in some other capacity was friendly, and the woman behind the counter during the morning was very helpful. Thanks to you all! Last, this hotel is non-smoking, which my family appreciates.

  • Liked — space/a bit of privacy (family with a tween and a teen) - also fun/mod decor!
  • Disliked — stained hallway
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

There was three adults and three kids ages 8, 6 and 21 months and we had a fabulous week. We had two queen size beds and a couch that pulled out to queen size. There was a mini fridge and freezer and microwave, coffeepot etc in room. We had plenty of room to move around and the pool was great. Terrific continental breakfast every morning--cereal, eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles you make yourself, yogurt, coffee, juice, toast, english muffins, bagels and sweet rolls. Staff in entire hotel was wonderful very friendly and exceptionally helpful. Located in convenient area and far enough off road to not be noisy. Very calm, peaceful place to stay. Air conditioning felt great after day in sun. Convenient for Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and excellent for outlet shopping. Check out Williamsburg Pottery its more than what you think. Would definitely return there and hope we do.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Williamsburg

Address: 1644 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh and modern, SpringHill Suites Williamsburg has been newly redesigned with business travelers and family vacationers in mind. We've thought of everything from spacious studio suites with new furnishings to friendly service and contemporary living amenities to keep you comfortable and relaxed. Ideally located near shopping and fun things to do, our location offers the perfect home base for visiting a near-endless list of top Williamsburg area attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.