We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tea, excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Teas

Discover Teas
1915 Pocahontas Trl, E-4, Village Shops at Kingsmill, Williamsburg, VA 23185
757-847-5190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 348 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Cuisines: Tea Room
Description: Tea shop - opened March 2011
Restaurant details
Description: Tea shop - opened March 2011
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great tea, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stopped in to have a cup of tea at the new location in Newport News. The atmosphere is relaxed and the women working had us smell a few teas and helped us decide which kind we might want. She was happy to have me check out almost all of the different types before making me a cup of tea that was a blend of two different types. After our tea steeped she even took the tea out and put them in small plastic containers so that we could brew another cup later (we did the next morning after putting these in the fridge, worked great!).

This is a wonderful place to visit and get a cup of tea or some to take home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Must-Stop for anyone visiting Williamsburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I visited Discover Teas in January, 2012 with friends with whom we were vacationing in Williamsburg. My friends know how much I enjoy a good cup of tea and thought I'd enjoy visiting Discover Teas on a Saturday when a 'tea class' is offered. What an AMAZING experience! I have a Ph.D. in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry and Kenneth, the teacher of the class, has an almost encyclopedic knowledge of teas AND their effects on our bodies. Kenneth talked about teas from medicinal, philosophical, historical and cultural points of view that astounded me! I also have traveled extensively throughout England, India and Sri Lanka and Kenneth recounted stories about teas from those regions that I could verify as accurate from my personal experiences. I bought the Sleepeeze tea for my High School age daughter who was studying for mid-term exams and she slept like a baby after massive amounts of time spent studying. My husband really likes the Iron Goddess of Mercy Oolong tea and my youngest daughter totally enjoyed the Irish Mocha La'Tea. My favorite is the Jasmine Dragon Tears tea - a soothing, aromatic tea that is so smooth and smells so sweetly of jasmine that you just want to swoon. I highly recommend this tea lounge for exploration of new tastes and for the knowledgable staff. Way to go Chris (owner from San Francisco) and Kenneth!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburg virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A Unique, wonderful experience in Williamsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

A charming tea bar and lounge. Baked goods offered with tea ingredients. Owner will create a special tea drink for you from over 50 unique teas from around the globe. You can relax in the wi-fi tea lounge. A truly unique and special experience. Excellent service and good location.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi M, Social Media Manager at Discover Teas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the review! You'll be happy to know that we have over 100+ loose leaf teas available now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Teas also viewed

Williamsburg, VA
 

Been to Discover Teas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Teas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.