We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a trip - make reservations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans & Ale

Oceans & Ale
Prime Outlets 5601-1 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
(757) 253-2253
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 341 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worth a trip - make reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

worth a trip - we had fish and it was properly prepared - often a rarity -sides were more than adequate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    110
    35
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southeast us
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth driving to the outlet mall for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Started with the crab & guacamole ap w/pita wedges. Even my 9 year old who doesn't normally care for guac. liked it. The fish & chips were well done--light, crunchy breading. Jumbo scallops (ordered off the fresh catch board) were nicely seared & two sides were yummy. Kids menu is normal fare plus popcorn shrimp or fish & chips. Ours chose shrimp. Wrong side was brought out w/kids meals, but was quickly taken care of. Restaurant was full early on a Thursday night. Would love to go back & try the fish tacos.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We all had the fresh fish listed on the blackboard, and it was good. It was not something that was incredibly different or outstanding, but the fish was prepared properly and we enjoyed our meal. The waitress was attentive and accommodating. Definitely a good place to go if you are shopping at the outlet malls.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food for a mall restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was about the only option to fast-food at the Williamsburg Premium Outlets, but the food was so much better than we expected ... two of us had fish & chips, which was light & not over-breaded, the wedge potatoes (not fries) were great, the cheeseburger rivalled the best fancy burger restaurants locally, the seafood mac & cheese was really tasty. Pretty empty on a weekday, but service was excellent, our young waitress was super friendly and very forthcoming with menu suggestions. Would eat there again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Worst part was the wait but it was a Friday night and it seems like this is a place the locals really like. Quality of food was excellent. We started with the crab balls then ordered fresh fish off the blackboard. Swordfish, Tuna and Mahi Mahi were our selections and they were served with a fresh salad and two sides....all excellently prepared and presented. If you are into beer they had quite a selection of hand crafted beers.
Would definitely make this place a weekly stop if I lived in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans & Ale also viewed

 

Been to Oceans & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans & Ale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.