We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Bypass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Bypass to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Bypass
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Bypass Road No.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stay at this hotel for a birthday getaway with friends. We reserved three rooms. All three rooms were nice and clean. The decor was beautiful. The staff was very helpful from the moment I made reservation until the day we left. This hotel is minutes from everything Williamsburg has to offer. We will defiantly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    142
    34
    9
    1
See reviews for
262
96
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were excited to have a night away together and booked a jacuzzi suite at this hotel. The service was excellent, even before arrival, but we were dismayed at the level of cleanliness. The hallway to our room on the 2nd floor had dirt and food strewn up and down it, the towels in our room had something stuck to them, the jacuzzi had giant fuzz/dirt ball floating in it (that we only discovered after getting in), and the shower in the bathroom was grimy. There was buildup on the walls and floor that could have been cleared away with a simple cleaning. The bistro table in the room hadn't been wiped down and there were crumbs on it.

While the renovations and room/hotel decorations were beautiful, the level of cleanliness greatly took away from the hotel. We also had an issue with the plumbing. The person upstairs flushed their toilet and the water backed up into the jacuzzi tub we had just gotten out of. We also had issues with water backing up into the drain in the floor of the bathroom when we flushed our toilet.

We wouldn't stay here again without significant detail given to the level of cleanliness and plumbing issues. The hotel could be so much more but really missed the mark.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Outside of the Internet, this was a really great place and good value. The rooms were big, clean, comfortable. The staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice. The atmosphere was very modern and chic. The mattress was superb. I would go back. However, I hope the hotel addresses their Internet problem. It was slow -- very slow and should not be/cannot be called high speed. We measured it at 1 mbs every day we were there. It felt like the telephone dial up modems of old. We ended up buying some data on our Verizon iPad sim card for that weekend because we could not stand the slow Internet. I would stay at this hotel again, but next time come prepared with my own access to high speed Internet.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying at our Comfort Suites , we are delighted you had great time and apologize for the slow internet.
I want to assure you that we are doing a major upgrade of our system , this will ensure that next time you come you dont have to obtain your own separate WI.

We look forward to seeing you again so you can experience the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel location is very convenient to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens and all other attractions. Fairly new hotel, so everything was in very good condition. Hot breakfast could have been a little better. Some items were cold. Overall experience was a good one.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your stay at our Comfort Suites we really appreciate it. Thank you for the Breakfast comments we will be looking into adding more breakfast items.
We hope to se you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The people at the desk were friendly and check in/check out were both quick and easy. We stayed in one of the rooms with the hot tubs and it was HUGE! The hot tub was lovely and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. The only thing that was strange was the lack of lighting and dark walls in the room, but that's a very minor complaint. I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted you had a great stay in one of signature Hot tub room.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed here with my mom and sister during a girl’s weekend, and this was by far the nicest Comfort Suits we have ever stayed in. The price was very reasonable, the staff was friendly and the hotel and rooms were spacious and clean. It is also very conveniently located to everything we wanted to do, with Colonial Williamsburg, plenty of shopping and restaurants within a 5-10 drive. We will definitely be staying here again during any future visits to the area.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at our Comfort Suites, we are so glad your ladies time off was great and at a reasonable price. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

....the facilities are spotless, the rooms/suites are spacious and well appointed, the desk staff is courteous. its location is ideally only minutes by car to the Historic Area, the breakfast area is large and comfortable, and the price was most reasonable for January 1. Only downside was the breakfast which was ordinary with very salty sausage and peppered potatoes.

Room Tip: It is located behind the Sleep Inn....so look for that when driving into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking some time to give us a review of your stay at our Comfort Suites. Your feedback is very important to us and we will be looking into the quality of our breakfast items and increas the options of items.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bypass

Address: 220 Bypass Road No.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bypass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bypass Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Bypass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.