We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, close to Merchants Square.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Bypass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Bypass to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Bypass
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Bypass Road No.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, close to Merchants Square.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful, 2 night stay at the Comfort Suites. It far exceeded our expectations. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Our room was very stylish and clean (I did not feel the need to use the Lysol wipes I'd brought.) I requested a King Jacuzzi Suite on the top floor, and we were placed in room 401. The window overlooked the parking lot and was the top, far left window in the front view picture. I am a light sleeper, and if there was parking lot noise, it wasn't loud enough to wake me or keep me from falling asleep. Hotel is a couple parking lots away from the main road, and backs to trees, so no road noise either. (Golden Corral is a short stroll away, though we did not eat there.) Room 401 is at the end of the hallway (as I was told all of the jacuzzi suites are), and was only connected to one room on the side. I'm sure this helped keep the noise level down as well. Parking, breakfast, and WIFI are included in room rate. WIFI signal was strong; even on 4th floor my phone had all 3 bars most of the time. A nice touch was the USB plugs on the desk, since hubby didn't bring the wall charger for his phone. The king bed was extremely comfortable, huge closet with iron and extra blanket, clean and cold mini fridge/freezer, microwave, big clear TV, comfortable and clean Jacuzzi in the room with plenty of hot water! As it was our anniversary, I brought along some sparkling cider, cups, and battery candles, and after getting some ice from the 3rd floor, we had a pretty nice set up. The only (minor) "complaints" we had were in the bathroom: the exhaust fan wasn't working, and the water pressure in the shower wasn't very strong (though it was plenty hot). But, these things alone weren't enough (in my opinion) to warrant loosing a star over. Breakfast both mornings were excellent and served from 6:30-9:30. Definitely a "deluxe" continental with cook-your-own-waffles, sausage, egg rounds, apples and oranges, a variety of toast, bagels, muffins and doughnuts, 3 juices and water, with seasoned diced potatoes the first morning, and yummy cooked cinnamon apples the second morning. In addition to all this, they had a station with about 3 cold cereals, 1% and 2% milks (whole milk would have been great!), and another station with 4 coffees, hot water, tea bags, hot chocolate, instant oatmeal. We were full until mid-afternoon. The only major suggestion I have concerning breakfast, is to make the eggs a different way besides the premade, tasteless, rubbery "egg rounds". Some bananas would also be very thoughtful. The heated indoor pool and hot tub seemed very nice and clean, and well stocked with towels, although we didn't use either since we had our own jacuzzi. Workout and game rooms seemed well stocked and kept up. Had we more time, we would have played a game of pool. We were sad when our 11:00 checkout time came... it felt very homey and was a place we could have easily spent a couple weeks. Though it would be a little far to walk, it was an easy, 1 mile drive to the start of the historic Williamsburg and parking near Merchants Square. We are already looking forward to the next time we can get away to Williamsburg, and will definitely be booking this hotel when we do!

Room Tip: Book this hotel! Jacuzzi suites are at the end of the hallway. Room 401 is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Comfort Suites for your anniversary celebration, contratulations!! We were very honored to have you and your spouse. We are so glad that your stay was great and we also thank you for your elaborate pointers of your experience during your stay and the beautiful photos.

We also managed to fix the fan in the bathroom we were so glad to get your feedback.

Hope to see you soon if not on your next anniversary! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    136
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
260
93
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is an amazing hotel!

No wonder that AAA rates this hotel 3 red diamonds. I agree wholeheartedly! We enjoyed our stay at this hotel immensely. We felt “Welcomed” from the moment we entered the lobby. A huge smile, friendly voice greeted us. The person at the desk was most helpful. We got a very clean suite with snow-white towels you can get only at spas or top hotels. Sheets, bathroom, carpets were spick-and-span, as expected. The room was quiet, no noise from outside nor from the hallway. The elevator was available in seconds throughout our stay. We enjoyed the variety, hot breakfast every morning.
Non-smoking room is without any hint of smoke and the hallways do not smell either.

The décor throughout the hotel is very impressive! Tiffany from New York left her marvelous creativity behind when this hotel was designed. It’s elegant, classy, modern, and very stylish! Someone really has to see her remarkable designs to truly appreciate them. I’m posting a few photos here, but these pictures do not do justice!

Amenities:
• free internet access with extra security
• Heated indoor pool
• Whirlpool
• Exercise room
• Free calls
• Valet or coin laundry
• Microwave/refrigerator in room
• Coffee maker with specialty coffee

Special amenities:
• full hot breakfast
• Early check-in
• Late check-out
• Central location
• Close to restaurants

I’m glad to “promote” this hotel though I do not have any personal interest in it other than real enjoyment and satisfaction. I’ll be glad to return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: We had room # 412, loved it! We had wonderful view of fall foliage from our window. In Oct. we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and also praise for our beautiful newly build hotel.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.
We will also let our designer Tiffany know about your compliments.
Williamsburg is such a beautiful area especially during fall when all the trees turn color. Our hotel have the pleasure of having plenty of trees around us which can be visible from our beautiful suite rooms.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is now my favorite hotel in Williamsburg! I've been there 3 times, and plan on going back again.
Fairly new hotel. Modern decor. Love it. Wish I knew who their decorator was!
Staff is always friendly.
It's always clean...breakfast bar is always full and clean.
Even though its on a main road, it sits back far enough that you don't hear any traffic.
Rates are reasonable..pretty much the same as other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent wonderful stay at our Comfort suites.We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your fourth visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I were looking to finally see Yorktown and Jamestown after visiting Williamsburg on numerous occasions and this hotel was convenient to all even with a government shut down. Although the Colonial Parkway was closed we were still able to get around easy enough from this hotel. The hotel is new and has almost a SoHo atmosphere. Being new everything was clean and for the price we paid it could not be beat. Being a suite the room was a bit larger than the standard hotel and spending 4 days here made that all the more important.

In addition to its convenience to the historical sites it was also convenient to the main drag through Williamsburg which made finding a restaurant even easier. The continental breakfast was typical of most of these types of places and if you are not in the mood for that, there are plenty of pancake houses around. All in all a good stay at the right price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your online review, we really appreciate all you wonderful strong points you had to say about our hotel and location .
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located in the center of Williamsburg this is the perfect place to stay. There are several resturants within walking distance too. Back off of the main road it is quiet. The rooms were clean and with plenty of room to stretch out. They also have a breakfast bar with waffels, cereal and most anything else you can think of. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the ice machine and elevators. Top floor is nice too," one ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your online review.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Comfort Inn Suites Bypass Williamsburg, VA. We were there for Busch Gardens Howl -O-Scream (which is awesome!! and about 10 minutes away) The hotel was very modern and clean. There were 11 of us and we all enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. Multiple restaurants etc. all close by. We had a room with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa. Our room was very spacious. (no adjoining room - the rooms that adjoin are slightly smaller) The beds were super comfy! we did have to request extra padding for the pull out sofa as you could feel the springs. Between a very padded fitted sheet and some extra blankets it worked for the lightest weighted person. They slept comfortably. The only negative I would have is the chlorine in the pool area was extremely heavy. Hurt our eyes after a bit but it didn't stop our time in that area. The kids also enjoyed the game room. The breakfast was good but could of been better. Even with that said I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly go back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate all your compliments and suggestions, your feedback is very important to us. We will continue to monitor the chlorine level in our pull as our technician is always hands on it. As for the sofa bed we will be having some new replaced soon.
We hope to your see and your group again on your next visit, glad you had a great stay.

Thank you from all the staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I echo all the good things that have been said about this hotel. Full marks for the decor which was inventive. We had a very comfortable stay. My partner left something very precious in the room and Miriam, the wonderful receptionist arranged to have it couriered all the way to Britain for us. It arrived a few hours after we got back home. Miriam took a great deal of trouble to arrange this and we are very grateful. Six stars for customer service.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back facing the woods which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful reiview we are so glad you had a great time and our process of lost and found item was very effective for you. We are very pleased to learn of the extra ordinary customer service provided to you during and after your stay. All our staff members take great pride in following through an issue at hand till the very end.

We hope to see you again soon, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bypass

Address: 220 Bypass Road No.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bypass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bypass Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Bypass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.