We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Bypass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Bypass to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Bypass
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Bypass Road No.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have travelled quite a bit and must say the experience at the Comfort Suites Bypass, was certainly at the top of the list. The managers bent over backwards to make our stay an outstanding one. The rooms are large and very comfortable and super clean. The location is just off the highway and close to everywhere you might want to visit in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    135
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
257
93
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A fairly new property, clean and modern inside. Stayed several times-always consistent. its a hidden gem in williamsburg. Friendly staff, good location (near Golden Corral), large rooms. its great for business and leisure!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for three days last week while vacationing in the area. This appears to be a relatively new hotel and is in pristine condition. We booked a king bed suite and were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and comfort of the furnishings. Breakfast was a good combination of entries and sufficient quantities were available. This is without a doubt the nicest Comfort Suites we have stayed in and had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Comfort Suites has a very bold contemporary design on the inside, offering a dramatic contrast to nearby Colonial Williamsburg.

It is clean, nice, and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. WiFi and wired internet worked easily.

Couple of minor problems: although the heating unit by the window had a digital thermostat setting, it was quite warm by morning, and increasingly so as I got dressed. Even though it was only about 49F outside as the sun rose, and I had it set to 68F overnight, I turned on the AC in there to get it cooled off.

Bigger issue: No water pressure in the shower for room 411 in the morning hours. Granted, others are probably showering then too, but I figure hotels have to get around that somehow or it would be a widespread, serious problem. Besides, the hotel was far from full anyway. The showerhead was aimed at the back of the tub, but the water coming out (such as it was) fell straight down. The previous night, my daughter said she had plenty of pressure. I'm not sure what the problem was, but it was very inadequate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Other than having to ask the other Comfort Inn on Bypass Road where it was it was excellent. We upgraded from a 2 queen room to a suite with a King bedroom and 2 queens which was heaven with the 10 and 12 year olds. Pool and hot tub were great and in a room with large windows. Arcade was small but a bonus for the kids. Very easy to get to Williamsburg, Jamestowne and Yorktown and all the stores and restaurants in the area. Breakfast was standard. The front desk staff was fabulous.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room next to the elevator banks. The head of our bed was against the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel offered the best deal for our recent weekend visit, compared to many comparable places. It is located very close to Colonial Williamsburg, making it an even better value. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean and generally well furnished. I say "generally" because I didn't care much for the modern decor. It was a bit too edgy and metallic for me. A couple of complaints: no mirror over the dresser; a broken door stop in the bathroom, and the room (207) is not listed on the wall directory, causing us to wonder if we were in one of those hotels where
"You can check-out any time you like, but you can never leave!" On the plus side, breakfast offered a wide choice of items, the refrigerator was super quiet, and the desk staff were delightful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed one night. Great location for BG. Very clean, nice b'fast. It is a bit more expensive than the Comfort Suites in Newport News but very similar in cleanliness and newer feel. Very impressed with everything. There are alot of hotels in Williamsburg to choose from, so be careful! This one is worth paying a bit more for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bypass

Address: 220 Bypass Road No.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bypass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bypass Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Bypass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.