We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Bypass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Bypass to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Bypass
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Bypass Road No.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Market, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I wanted to take a quick get away and we hadn't been to Williamsburg in a while. It used to be a regular stop of ours when the kids were younger and we decided to check it out. The Comfort Suites on The Bypass caught our attention, it had all the perks we enjoy so we gave it a try. The relatively new property was everything we wanted. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The pool and spa area was very enjoyable. The lobby offered a 24 hour mini convinience shop. The location was perfect and put us near all the favorite attractions. Our next visit will be much sooner and we already know where we will stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    146
    36
    10
    1
See reviews for
270
100
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cameron
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Time again for us 4 lady friends to share a few days together. Comfort Suites turned out to be an almost perfect place for us. From the walking in the door to leaving the staff were very helpful. They got us 2 adjacent suite rooms. Lovely decor - very contemporary instead of the usual Colonial everything as is common in Williamsburg area.

Breakfast was very nice and the serving counter was separated from the tables by a curved wall. So nice not to have people in the line jostling seated patrons.

Indoor pool was a welcome relief after walking 6 hours in Jamestown. Pool area was as spotless as everything else.

Location was very good - not right on the Bypass with all the traffic - just 1 block off it. Easy to get in and out with a traffic light. Restaurants were close, some within walking distance.

Only drawbacks:
Beds were very high. Could be hard for older guests to get in and out of. I'm 5'8" and I had to stretch to get in. One of us is 5'4" and 83 years old. Not so easy for her.
Only 1 towel rack in the bathroom (above vanity for face towels). No place to hang damp towels or swimsuits. Didn't want to leave them in the tub while my friend showered.

Overall - a great stay.in Williamsburg area.

Room Tip: Request adjacent rooms if you would like them. Staff worked it out for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is nearly new. Nice decor and friendly staff. The rooms are large and clean. Beds are decent Sertas, not quite as nice as Hampton Inn beds but good. The breakfast is very good with waffles, eggs, sausage and lots of bread types. For a 2 to 2 1/2 star hotel, this is a standout.

Room Tip: The staff here is very accomodating. They get 5+ stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just spent the past 3 nights at Comfort Suites and the jacuzzi suite was absolutely perfect for our anniversary get-away! The entire hotel is exactly as pictured on their website (incl. the jacuzzi suite) and the rooms were fairly large and spacious. The hotel was extremely clean, quiet (even w/a school field trip group a couple floors below us) and overall very nice! The woman at the front desk when we checked-in was super helpful, genuinely excited to have us stay and went the extra mile in welcoming and congratulating our anniversary! We felt like VIP's by the time we were done checking in! The entire staff was friendly and courteous!

This was our first time not staying at an official Colonial Williamsburg hotel, so we really weren't sure what to expect. However, when we walked in and saw our room, we knew we picked the right place and the rates weren't bad at all.

There is a Super Kmart across the street so you can stock up on snacks and drinks since there is a microwave and fridge in each room. And, the hotel is in a great location and about 3 minutes from Col. Williamsburg and about 5 minutes from all the outlet malls.

Couldn't have asked for a nicer anniversary trip!

Room Tip: 4th floor jacuzzi suite is at the very end of the hall, quieter and away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel from the moment I stepped in the lobby. Modern decor, 100% smoke free environment. Comfortable, spacious suite. Expanded continental breakfast. Quiet location. Room facing the woods was peaceful. Jacuzzi was great place to relax after a day of walking in WIlliamsburg. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We received a discount price to stay at this hotel. I checked with the reviews on Tripadvisor and found that it had a very high rating for a budget type of hotel. We found the staff to be very helpful, the building looks like brand new, I checked out the pool area, the morning breakfast, the 2 computers that can be used for business,the free newspapers, and laundry room. I noticed that when it was slow during the midweek, the manager on duty was cleaning the area. The motif is like a modern art style in greys and blacks. The room we got did have quarter partition between the bed and the sofa, so if you had kids privacy is limited. The bath room is standard but very well kept and the hot water was quick to flow. The only complaint I have about the bathroom is it needs an extra towel rack. The hotel is off to the side of Bypass Road, so you need to turn at the red light at the Country Buffet. This location makes it nice and quiet. If we come back to this area again we will definitly stay at this place. PS: Bypass Road if filled with all different types of eateries and shopping sites. You can make you vacation money go farther in this area.

Room Tip: Go for the king bed ground floor, the area is quiet and easy to exit and return to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stay here almost every time we come to see our daughter who attends William and Mary. Very close to the school. Large, clean, modern and ample supply of towels. Small fitness room is adequate and pool is fine (indoor). I appreciate the large room with sitting area and frig/microwave. Only complaint is the pillows are down and are too mushy for my taste. Breakfast buffet is free but can get crowded towards the end of the serving time. Good selection of fruits, breads, eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, cereal and beverages. Free parking. This hotel is strict about NONSMOKING and that is my first priority in a hotel. You really can not go wrong at this property.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bypass

Address: 220 Bypass Road No.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bypass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bypass Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Bypass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.