We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place for a very comfortable breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy and Nick's Pancake & Waffle House

Sammy and Nick's Pancake & Waffle House
7129 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA
757-229-3717
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 333 restaurants in Williamsburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great local place for a very comfortable breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We met friends at this resturant for breakfast before heading to Busch Gardens with the family. Sammy greeted us personally and the service was fantastic. The food was just like eating at home and the whole place had a comfortable atmosphere. We definately recommend this place if you are looking for a good down-home breakfast experience. The restrooms could use a little updating but didn't detract from the positive experience. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    3
    9
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

loved the food here it was very good and plentiful i would reccommend this place as a must if eating breakfast

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place to grab breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Only visited once, was a quick breakfast with my wife and a couple friends. Service was speedy as were the meals, it's hard to say a lot good or bad since we just had eggs and bacon and toast. I can say there was no problem with anyones meal and the coffee refills were there before my cup was empty. All in all I think we would all go again if in the area during breakfast hours.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Support a local business and say hi to Sammy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

While staying at a Williamsburg hotel after a night at Busch Gardens Christmas Town, we saw a lot of pancake houses advertised. We opted for Sammy's because we saw it on the drive to the hotel and figured it was locally owned. It is.

The place is old, you can tell from the outside, and it is validated when you walk in the door and see various news clippings, photos, and other memorabilia lining the walls. The food was good, served promptly, and on par or better than what you'd get at most chain restaurants. I had the breakfast sampler which included eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, pancakes, and Virginia ham which was very good. The GF said the bathroom was old, but clean and they stocked Charmin, which is a step up from the 1-ply cheese wheel you find at most places.

Upon entering we were greeted by Sammy himself. He spent a great deal (if not all) of his time talking with the patrons after taking and serving drink orders, including for a man and his three children visiting from NOVA. Sammy told them about his upbringing, spending most of his childhood in Greece during world war 2 ("kids nowadays do not know what it means to be hungry") and how he was put to work when he came back to the states at the age of 16 and had aspirations to own his own restaurant. He encouraged the children to go to school and aspire to be greater than their parents, and that the sky is the limit. The father, on military leave and quite happy with the opportunity to have a third party validate his own talking points with his kids, made the most of the discussion. He had never met the man before. He said the only reason he keeps working after 66 years in the business and 82 years of age is to keep his brain active. It was quite entertaining to hear the stories and to see another advocate of the American dream.

In the end, breakfast food is cheap and plentiful in the Williamsburg area. You'll find some chain restaurants with brand spanking new furniture and the latest fixtures and appliances. However, I'd venture to say you won't find guys like Sammy running them. Though the food was about what I'd expect from any other breakfast joint, the experience turned out to be quite memorable and we'll likely return for breakfast here whenever we're in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sammy is always there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we always go here for breakfast. food isn't bad and its reasonable...there has never been a wait to be seated

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy and Nick's Pancake & Waffle House also viewed

 

Been to Sammy and Nick's Pancake & Waffle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy and Nick's Pancake & Waffle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.