We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what you get for paying the lowest rate.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Williamsburg / Colonial Area

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Williamsburg / Colonial Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Williamsburg / Colonial Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1233 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    15
    26
    38
See reviews for
29
20
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
EAST MEADOW
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was very disappointed with this Super 8 Motel. Previous stays at other Super 8 Motels were very satisfactory. This motel was run down, bedspreads were stained with cigarette holes, the maid service was spotty, the lighting was dim, I had to request tissues, towels were not replaced, breakfast was a joke, and the only positive was the low price. The breakfast was almost non-existent, I had to ask for sweetener for my coffee, the orange juice was watered down and tasted like dishwater. One of the light fixtures in the room was broken, and the large bureau mirror was unsecured to wall and posed a very dangerous situation as it very easily could have fallen over. In this case, "we got what we paid for". I would not recommend this motel, and I would gladly pay more to stay somewhere else when I next visit Williamsburg. I am tempted to ask for my money back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel spur of the moment. There is no microwave. Tv did not get channels over 55. The elevator is terrifying. Dirty pillows and washclothes... As I went to take a shower there was a COCKROACH on the floor! I went right to the front desk and asked for compensation since no one would be using the bathroom and the man at the front desk could not speak english very well so he couldnt understand what i was asking. Also the breakfast situation is a joke! Two kinds of moldy cereal and coffee was all that was put out. There a scum ring around the pool as well. The bathroom door didnt shut. The key to the room didnt work. Got 50% off the bill but it should have been free. Will never be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

After reading the reviews on this site we weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised by this motel. We got a 3rd floor room, which was spacious, and clean, and did not smell at all. The bathroom even met the cleanliness levels of my daughters, which is a pretty high bar. The staff were friendly and service was prompt. Couple of things could use some improvement - the TV was outdated, and the coffee maker was missing the carafe. Overall, it more than met our requirements, and well worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Colonialstaff, Manager at Super 8 Williamsburg / Colonial Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments on our property! We are working to improve the guest experience. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This place stunk and was filthy. I would not ever stay there. The people we made the reservation even said they wouldn't cancel our reservation. We had to argue with them. The people at the front desk were nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

So this place was quite inexpensive to stay at, but you do get what you pay for (or don't pay for). I booked this place as one of those where you see the rate, but don't know the hotel name until after you pay. Usually I've had good luck with this, but not this time. After seeing the reviews, I was definitely worried. It is really being mis-advertised as a 2-star hotel; it should be a 1-star. It's quite run down, even from the outside. It also does does have a smoking floor, so it kind of smells, although if you're on the top floor, you can't smell it in your room. The first room we were assigned to felt like we had entered the rain forest when we walked in. The tub had been leaking (for who knows how long) and with the humidity and heat was an undesirable combination. I had my husband go ask if we could move to a different room. They accommodated this request the next room was better as far as that went. It was still pretty dirty and needed some major deep cleaning. The beds are very uncomfortable and we did find a strange bug in our shower the first morning. The breakfast was a joke- two types of very stale cereal and muffins/toast. That was about it. So overall- we were only there to sleep and we survived, but would pay a little more next time for somewhere a bit cleaner/nicer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The pictures on the internet look good and I have been to Williamsburg many times and we are looking to move there. We had no idea that a hotel could be soo filthy as this super 8. There were 2 cars being taken apart in parking lot. 3 very large dogs tied up by the front door. there were 2 windows boarded up on the side strreet side of building. We got out of the car looked around.....canceled our reservations and went a round the corner to the comfort inn. I could not believe a Wyndham property in this kind of condiction have used them many times. Susan Evans

Room Tip: there are no good rooms in this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Williamsburg / Colonial Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Williamsburg / Colonial Area

Address: 1233 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Williamsburg / Colonial Area 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to all area attractions, less than a mile from downtown Williamsburg, 2 miles from bus and train station, 3.5 miles from Busch Gardens, and 2 miles from Prime Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Williamsburg / Colonial Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Williamsburg
Williamsburg Super 8
Williamsburg Super Eight
Super Eight Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Williamsburg / Colonial Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.