We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   718 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book and Earn 2x Points
Ranked #6 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Topsail Island, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. When I was looking to book a room in Williamsburg every hotel was booked and I couldn't get a room at any of the regular hotels that I stay at. The Hampton Inn was basically my only choice so I booked my reservation and hoped for the best. The staff was very nice and friendly, rooms were nice and clean. My kids loved the pool and it seemed to be very well taken care of. We used the indoor pool and it was very nice and clean with plenty of towels and seating. It wasn't over chlorinated like a lot of hotel pools. It was very nice.
The location of the hotel is great. There are lots of restaurants in the area and it is very close to Busch Gardens and the big outlet mall is right down the road about 3 miles.

The only thing that this hotel could improve on is the breakfast. The eggs were so dry I couldnt eat them and I felt like there werent a lot of other options. The quality of food needs improvement.
I really liked this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff I would like to Thank You for staying with us. We are glad your stay was up to your expectations. Hampton Inn & Suites team members strive to provide complete guest satisfaction to each and every guest.
We hope to see you on your next visit to Williamsburg.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    157
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
234
154
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is well located for visiting all the historical sites in the area. The staff was helpful with recommendations. We tried several enjoyable restaurants based on the staff recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while visiting Hampton Inn & Suites Central. Its our goal to make sure each and every guest feel like they are at home away of home. At the same time such words of praise fulfill the hard work of our team members.
I will more then happy to share your feedbacks with our team.
We do appreciate your business and come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

On both mornings of my stay, the hotel decided to work on the hot water in my section. I had to disturb my daughter and family in their suite so that I could shower.

On the first night, the hotel charged my debit card using a bogus name. I took steps to cancel it and gave them another once the manager apologized.

When we checked out, we were offered a zero balance receipt, but I didn't think I would need it. I wish now I had it as the manager has promised at least three times to remove the charges from my other credit card.

I expect excellent service from Hampton Inn as I've been a customer of many over the years. This visit was a complete upside-down fruit basket.

Room Tip: Be sure the hotel doesn't decide to do hot water maintenance in the hours prior to 9:30 in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences. We would like to sincerely apologize to you and your family for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. If you would please contact me directly, I will be more than happy to ensure that the billing error has been corrected and zero balance receipt has been emailed to you . Again, we apologize and I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. The entrance to the Visitors Center for Colonial Williamsburg was just 5 minute drive away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a King Suite which was very clean, roomy and comfortable. The rates, I thought, were very reasonable. We only incurred one problem when the HD TV went out but after talking to the front desk someone came up immediately to our room and it was fixed within 5 minutes. The breakfast was your standard continental breakfast but the staff again running it was very friendly. The coffee and tea that is offered all the time was constantly kept full and fresh.

Room Tip: Highly Recommend the King Suite if you are staying for a few nights. We stayed in the one facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We do thank you for the kind words. Our staff is committed to provide a total guest satisfaction and its always delightful to get such of nice feedback . We are glad you and your family had a enjoyable stay and we met all your expectation.
Come back to visit us !!!!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Overall a very nice place to stay in a convenient location. Pleasantly surprised with the breakfast provided in the morning and the free coffee station provided 24/7. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are glad you had a enjoyable stay. I will share with our staff the kind words of praise. .Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynchburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This property is located on Bypass-60, just minutes from the Colonial Williamsburg historical area, and outlets/dining. It is a 5-floor facility. Beautiful landscaping. Our room had 2-queen beds, with very tasteful decor, including a business desk with internet connections. WiFi also available, no charge. Beds/pillows extremely comfortable, white duvet covers. Lovely bathroom with marble vanity. Super clean room. Housekeeping staff pleasant and professional. We were on the 5th floor, but had no problems with elevators. No noise issues, either. We did not use the pool during our stay, but checked it out and saw that many guests were happily enjoying it. The reception staff were excellent. There were complimentary fresh-baked cookies in the evening. Free breakfast in the morning, included baked goods and a few hot dishes. Make your own waffles. We were very satisfied with this facility - including both with the staff and the overall cleanliness and appearance of it. The price and location add to the appeal. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Williamsburg, and am happy to recommend this facility to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
thank you for your time to share your experience.Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our
staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stay here every time we visit Williamsburg to see our daughter and we continue to be pleased. The suite is really spacious, well laid out, clean and functional. The bed and the desk are particularly well-done, with the bed being very comfortable and the desk being nice and large. We enjoy the free breakfast and the hospitality of the front desk staff, kitchen staff and the housekeeping staff. We highly recommend this hotel to parents of college students and those visiting other travel attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper floor opposite the highway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We do appreciate your loyalty.It's our pleasure to meet our guests expectations and strive to provide service and comfort that will result in a returning guests. I will share your kind words with all of our team members.
Thank you and we cant wait to see you back !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn
Address: 718 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.