We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good price for Williamsburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   718 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book and Earn 2x Points
Ranked #10 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A good price for Williamsburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed at other places in Williamsburg over the years and found this Hampton Inn on Bypass Road to be the best value for money so far. Granted our one night stay was mid-week in April, but the last minute reservation yielded us a king bedroom suite overlooking the trees behind the hotel at the end of the corridor on the 4th floor. It was a spacious room with kitchenette, wash basin conveniently separated from toilet and shower and everything in perfect working order. I was impressed at breakfast that although service was supposed to conclude at 10.00am they were still filling the buffet at 9.55am. My request for bananas was granted cheerfully and efficiently. Indeed all the staff were friendly, although I was a bit surprised as we were checking in to hear the receptionist telling two out of state guests that the Williamsburg Pottery is the main attraction in the area!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put those kind words of praise. We are glad you stayed with us while visiting Williamsburg that time. We hope you have found your stay so pleasurable that you will select Hampton Inn & Suites Central each time travel brings you to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    169
    46
    17
    6
See reviews for
258
167
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Check in was very pleasant and professional. Check-out was altogether another story. The receptionist was on the phone and just simply ignored us for about a full ten minutes. Only got attention when another receptionist returned to the front desk. The room was clean for the most part. The a/c unit was extremely too noisy. Both the microwave and refrigerator needs to be anchored so they do not come flying at you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.
I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our
guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.
We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room was very clean upon arrival. comfy bed and spacious room. We asked for late checkout and they accommodated us with no hesitation. Close to all activities in the Colonial Williamsburg area. I am going to echo other people and say that the entire staff was polite and friendly. Would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Hampton Inn & Suites Central. We will definitely share your positive experience with all of our team members. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything was excellent except for one problem. First, the staff were friendly & helpful, the lobby was outstanding, the breakfast was okay. Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable and clean, plenty of space and enough outlets for charging electronics. The bathroom had lots of storage area and a big walk-in shower! We thought it was going to be heavenly, but unfortunately there was only one little soap dish. Shampoo, conditioner, razor all had to go on the floor. The shower head was so high I could reach it to adjust the spray, and it took forever to adjust the water temp. Either scalding or freezing, at least 3-4 minutes before it was okay. But with a couple of tweaks, perhaps a shelf & a hand-held shower head, this could have been as great as the rest of our experience here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM706, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your experience you had at our hotel! You said it perfect! Your kind words are appreciated! Our location is very prime and located near local attractions and restaurants. Our wonderful staff do all that we can to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, MD, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband, 10 yr old son and I spent the week in the Colonial Williamsburg area, and found the hotel clean, very close to all attractions, and a pretty good home away from home for that period of time. Everything was easy in regard to check-in, check-out, convenient (but a little boring after awhile) breakfast on site, coffee, tea and cookies at anytime, and comfortable, light rooms. It was relaxing, and the indoor pool, hot tub (small), and fitness center are a big plus. Our son swam nearly every evening we were around. We had a suite, but there is only one TV and no partition, but not a dealbreaker. Only issues were some noisy guests a few nights (need a sign to say quiet hours are xxx to xxx hrs at night, a shower we had to call maintenance for twice (alternates very scalding to cold), extremely slow internet connectivity, and HVAC fan would not go on low. Would still recommend, as clean, very nice staff, and close to everything.

Room Tip: Get a suite for more room if you can, and try to get on third (top) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a very relaxing weekend here. The entire hotel staff were awesome. The breakfast staff was the best! The hotel is about a mile from Merchant's Square and the Colonial area.There is a pedestrian path from the hotel to Merchants Square which we used each day for a beautiful run through colonial Williamsburg and back to the hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, easy access to Williamsburg, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel was very clean, great staff, and a really nice breakfast. There was a pool, hot tub, and fitness facility. Every staff member was polite, helpful, and professional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central

Address: 718 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.