We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   718 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Typical Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here in January and had an overall enjoyable stay. We were in town for a tennis tournament and arrived at the hotel around 1pm (had a match at 3pm) and was hoping to get checked in early. The young lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and got us into a room with no hassles. The hotel itself is what you would typically find in any newer or recently renovated Hampton Inn. The only complaint I had was with the shower. Unfortunatley, I do not remember the room number (was on the 4th floor) but the drain in the shower must have been clogged. Within minutes of turning on the shower, I was in ankle deep water the entire time. Other than that, the staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel is in a great location, within minutes of Colonial Williamsburg, the outlets and lots of restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    192
    52
    21
    7
See reviews for
298
198
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The rooms were fine. Our issue was with the reception desk. Our party of four arrived late in the evening and due to a mix-up by the third party Booking.com our date changes were not conveyed to the hotel and we were considered 'No Shows'. Nadia at the desk was particularly unhelpful and defensive. We were not pushy nor rude, nor was she busy, so why the attitude? We finally managed to check-in after we telephoned Booking.com in London to clarify matters, but the poor reception and unwelcome tone have made their negative mark. Would have moved to the many nearby accommodations if it were not for the late hour and our exhaustion. My travelling companions have emailed our feedback to the hotel, but a month later we have yet to get a reply. Perhaps better training in what it takes to succeed in the hospitality business would be helpful here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed one night on a family business trip. The king studio room was large and very clean (kudos to Housekeeping). In fact, the whole hotel was very clean and the room rate surprisingly reasonable.The heater/AC unit in the room blows across the sitting area, not at you in bed or at the desk as is the case in so many hotels. Staff were friendly and prompt and the breakfast was readily available, with the attendant constantly checking - in fact, she thoughtfully turned down the TV volume (Not everyone wants morning TV blaring at them.) The only item that stops me from giving an "excellent" rating was a plumbing problem: when we checked in at night the cold water faucet in the bath area ran hot and in the morning, the shower would only run either scalding hot or freezing cold - no adjustment in between. Something must be wrong with the hot/cold mixer - rm 304.

Room Tip: Choose a king studio - very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Hampton Inn - Central was very comfortable. The staff was consistently welcoming. The room was large and commodious. And the breakfast was more than adequate. It's all of about a mile from Colonial Williamsburg so very convenient to visiting the historic district.

Room Tip: King bed very comfortable. Rooms on either end of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have stayed in numerous hotels in the Colonial Williamsburg area over the years and this was by far the best experience we have had. The hotel and room were spotless, the staff was attentive and pleasant. We have also stayed in other "Suite" hotels and this was the largest room we have found and also the most reasonably priced. I highly recommend you give this Hampton Inn a try.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 04 are the largest and face the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel offers a nice atmosphere, clean room, free breakfast, and access to many restaurants within a mile or two. It's also just a quick drive to Colonial Williamsburg. The front desk staff were friendly and attentive. We stayed in room 424 which was just two doors away from the stairs but we didn't hear any noises from the hall or rooms next door. We had a view of a small pond.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This has to be the only Hampton Inn I have been at that does not slide your receipt under the door. Also the exercise equipment like most Hampton Inn is sorry. The eliptical machine felt like it was going to fall apart at any moment. Next time I will stay at the Holiday Inn Express or Hilton Garden Inn down the street. The rooms were just ok also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central

Address: 718 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a busy schedule of meetings or a fascinating day exploring Williamsburg's historical attractions, retreat to the Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central hotel. Swim laps in the indoor pool, unwind in the whirlpool or take a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool. Clock up some miles in the fitness center or help yourself to free tea and coffee and relax in the lobby. The business center is always open for catching up on work or contacting family back home. For breakfast, our hotel near Colonial Williamsburg offers Hampton's free hot breakfast every morning. Hampton's On the Run™ Breakfast Bags are available Monday to Friday for guests in a hurry. Relax in a guest room or suite and watch a movie on the flat-screen TV or surf the net with free high-speed internet access. Pick up a late night snack from the suite shop and get a fantastic night's sleep on the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Our hotel also offers meeting space for an intimate business meeting or social event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.