We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Close and Reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   718 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book and Earn 2x Points
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Close and Reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Hampton Inn - Central was very comfortable. The staff was consistently welcoming. The room was large and commodious. And the breakfast was more than adequate. It's all of about a mile from Colonial Williamsburg so very convenient to visiting the historic district.

Room Tip: King bed very comfortable. Rooms on either end of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    185
    49
    21
    7
See reviews for
285
187
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have stayed in numerous hotels in the Colonial Williamsburg area over the years and this was by far the best experience we have had. The hotel and room were spotless, the staff was attentive and pleasant. We have also stayed in other "Suite" hotels and this was the largest room we have found and also the most reasonably priced. I highly recommend you give this Hampton Inn a try.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 04 are the largest and face the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel offers a nice atmosphere, clean room, free breakfast, and access to many restaurants within a mile or two. It's also just a quick drive to Colonial Williamsburg. The front desk staff were friendly and attentive. We stayed in room 424 which was just two doors away from the stairs but we didn't hear any noises from the hall or rooms next door. We had a view of a small pond.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This has to be the only Hampton Inn I have been at that does not slide your receipt under the door. Also the exercise equipment like most Hampton Inn is sorry. The eliptical machine felt like it was going to fall apart at any moment. Next time I will stay at the Holiday Inn Express or Hilton Garden Inn down the street. The rooms were just ok also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Was in town for two days on business and found the property centrally located in WIlliamsaburg close to everything and easy to get to. I was welcomed and provided local information at check in that was the fastest check in I have ever had. I am a Hilton Honors Gold and travel a lot. Bay far this was the best Hampton Inn I have ever stayed at, and has earned my future business. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfast was satisfying for those on the go, but would recommend the Cracker Barrel down the street if your looking for the "rib sticking" southern breakfast. The only down fall was the business center. The computers need updating to view and print certain documents and ink toner was not well supplied in the printers. Otherwise this location is perfect for anyone traveling to Williamsburg!!!

Room Tip: Reserve a suite located at the outer corners of the floors. Your only neighbor is a stairwell and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn - Central during a visit to Williamsburg over the New Year weekend. The hotel is very convenient to the Visitor Center for Colonial Williamsburg as it's the first hotel (on the left) that you reach on Bypass Road when you're coming back from the visitor center.

We had a king suite which was very spacious and clean, with a small kitchenette by the door - nice to have morning tea or coffee before you go down to breakfast. Very very comfortable bed and unlike some other trip advisor reviewers, I like the pillows! The room was very quiet at the back of the hotel so it was easy to get a good night's sleep.

The staff are always cheerful and greet everyone warmly. Good breakfast and good coffee.

Bypass Road has all kinds of choices for places to eat.

I would stay here again and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted quality and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

FACTS: swift, courteous check in and check out; very spacious king suite with fridge/microwave room; very clean room; coffee available in the room; no bathroom fan; sink was a little slow on draining water; night lights provided in bathroom and room were helpful and not overwhelmingly bright to keep you awake; nice touch to have lots of outlets available for recharging all the tech stuff; nice, free breakfast with good amount of choices-->western omelet, flat/round sausages, you-make-it waffles, dry cereal, fresh fruit, various juices, 3 coffee choices (but not real close to breakfast foods), bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, pastries; tv channel guide provided in room did not match the tv channel for the station on the tv; 'cold' water was warm at best on arrival night but fine the next day; heat/ac unit not too close to the bed for noise levels; fresh chocolate chip cookies available in the afternoon/evening and 'breakfast-on-the-go bag available at front desk in the am.

PERSONAL COMMENTS: pillows ok, but kind of soft for me; soap was challenging to wash from hands/body (is that hard or soft water, I forget?); ac/heating unit was a bit on noisy side but because it was not too close to the bed, it didn't bother me...and can at some hotels; stayed here last summer (forgot to write review then)-->because of winter season, room was ~half the cost as it was in the summer :-); can be challenging to make left hand turns out of the hotel parking area; did not use the pool so cannot comment on that.

Would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: The king suite has the microwave/fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central

Address: 718 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a busy schedule of meetings or a fascinating day exploring Williamsburg's historical attractions, retreat to the Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central hotel. Swim laps in the indoor pool, unwind in the whirlpool or take a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool. Clock up some miles in the fitness center or help yourself to free tea and coffee and relax in the lobby. The business center is always open for catching up on work or contacting family back home. For breakfast, our hotel near Colonial Williamsburg offers Hampton's free hot breakfast every morning. Hampton's On the Run™ Breakfast Bags are available Monday to Friday for guests in a hurry. Relax in a guest room or suite and watch a movie on the flat-screen TV or surf the net with free high-speed internet access. Pick up a late night snack from the suite shop and get a fantastic night's sleep on the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Our hotel also offers meeting space for an intimate business meeting or social event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg-Central
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.