We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Williamsburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of artcafe26 - CLOSED

artcafe26
5107-2 Center Street, NewTown, Williamsburg, VA 23188
757-565-7788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $65
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Courthouse Street
Transit: Trolley transport from NewTown to and from Merchant Square at 15 minute interval.
Description: artcafe26, the place that’s different. Inventive, fresh, tasty, mostly organic produce. Molecular cuisine incorporated in dinner menu and daily dessert menus. Seasonal menu throughout the year.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Williamsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food was excellent! Try it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. You should probably do all three to get the full experience.!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    110
    17
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We dined here last night hoping to get some good German cuisine. Not only were we left satisfied, but we could not get over how beautiful the presentation of the prepared dishes were. The chef is truly gifted at transforming the ingredients of the dishes into something spectacular. The maitre d' was incredibly kind and passionate about the restaurant and a joy to be around. Additionally, nothing comes pre-prepared to the restaurant; everything is cooked to order on the spot AND about 60%of the food is organic. The last thing that stood out in my mind was the decor. Artcafe 26 is not only a restaurant, but also an art gallery so it has a unique ambiance and ornamentation. The space is not overcrowded with tables like most restaurants, which makes you feel very comfortable and relaxed. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking to partake in a culinary experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“4 of 5 stars (very good, upscale dining).”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

(see explanation of ratings below)

In the evening, entrées are priced at more than $30, so this qualifies as fine dining. However, at lunch, we had a dish that included a serving of butter in an individual-sized packet (which smacks of casual dining, for sure!).

Delightful space to dine! Sibella (Hostess/owner) is German and quite lovely. Chef is Austrian.

Beautiful presentations of all dishes (except for the butter as noted above).

Only disappointment was the sachertorte: we all felt it was too dry.

Lunch: $40-$45 per person, gratuity excluded (lots of wine).

Would absolutely return to try dinner there!

About my ratings:

Only high-priced dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food and "fast-casual", low-priced (no table service).

2) casual, mid-priced dining (table service, average entrée price: $10-$20).

3) fine, high-priced dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, average entrée priced at more than $20, can vary depending on the city).

High-priced dining can earn a max of five stars. Mid-priced dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
“Best Dining Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went there to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary and enjoyed a truly exceptional evening. The meal was exquisite, the service flawless and the Owner really went out of her way to ensure that we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We asked her for recommendations on the wine pairings and after questioning our group on their preferences, we were afforded the opportunity to taste seven different wines before making our selection! That kind of attention to detail and her desire to ensure that we were happy with our meal made the evening memorable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must-dine every time we are near”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family travels to Virginia Beach each year for a family vacation.To save money, we fly to Richmond (vs. Norfolk) and drive. We found ArtCafe26 last year via Yelp and it was such a fantastic experience. Our 5 year old was treated as an actual human being and we had a foodie-level lunch. What more can you ask for? This year, it was my birthday as we traveled to our family gathering. My only request? That we stop for lunch here. I was not disappointed. It lived up to my memory and we plan to return for years to come in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed artcafe26 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage artcafe26, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.