We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice for Williamsburg accommodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bentley Manor Inn
Save
You added Bentley Manor Inn to your Saves list
720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Pottsville, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First choice for Williamsburg accommodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

It’s hard to top excellent! Our stay was the best ever in Williamsburg (and I’ve been travelling there for more than thirty years). We were welcomed as if we were old and dear friends. Fred gave us the keys to our room, provided the “need to know” information, and allowed us to settle in. We stayed in the Thomas Jefferson room. We had all the things we required. The bed was very comfortable and felt great after a day of walking. The inn’s location is perfect. It sits just off the campus of the College of William and Mary and a short block away from Richmond Road (Rt. 60). The neighborhood is very quiet and you feel quite safe. The on-street parking (permit provided by the innkeepers) is no worry because there is very little traffic. It is also an advantage to be able to leave your car and walk to the restored area. The property is well maintained and fits the colonial setting providing additional charm. My wife and I truly enjoyed the variety in the gardens, although she was disappointed at missing the gardenias which hadn’t yet bloomed. The sitting room, where wine and baked goods are served in the afternoon was filled with many interesting items to look at or read while you take a short break. It was a delight to page through the books and magazines that were there.
Breakfast, served from 8:30 AM to 9:30 AM, is an event all to itself. Jane and Fred make you feel as if you are in the home of close friends. They quickly learn what you like and make certain you are completely satisfied. The meal begins with fresh fruit. Juice is offered, and even blended if you like. The egg dishes, (my favorite), served with bacon or sausage, were superb. I would love to know how Jane prepares them with such consistency. The other offering is the day’s variety of pancakes or French toast; also served with bacon or sausage. I only recall hearing praises for these items as well. The breakfast table allows you to converse with the other guests, and there is no rush to clear the dining room.
The private bathroom was exceptional for a bed-and-breakfast inn. I’m embarrassed to admit that I liked their towels better that the ones at home. The shower was a pleasant change as well. My wife, who is a touch claustrophobic, found the shower a bit small, but managed okay. Having a refrigerator in the room was also an unexpected surprise. The television, another room item not typically found in B & B’s, allowed me to check the weather for the next day’s adventure.
Fred and Jane were both very knowledgable regarding sites, restaurants, and local attractions; they helped us make important decisions about where to spend our days. While I have used Trip Advisor on many occasions, this is the first time I've felt compelled to write a review. May the streak of excellence remain unbroken! Without hesitation, this will be my first choice for accommodations in Williamsburg on future trips.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
174
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed for a long weekend in March, guided largely by the reviews on this site. It was an excellend choice, the hosts were perfect, they've really got the balance right between friendly and leaving you to it. We took out bikes and they kindly let us keep them indoors. The room was lovely and cosy and the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts were great, with some interesting company. I would most definitely recommend this for a weekend break and there's plenty to see around Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown, altogether a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmeadows83
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed with Fred and Jane for our anniversary and had an amazing time. From the afternoon wine and cookies to the location near Colonial Williamsburg, 5 stars plus! Thanks to Jane and Fred, we'll be back. Hint: Stay in the Gov. Berkeley room, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed at the Bentley Manor Inn for a long weekend in March.

Location: The Inn is located in a small community right next to the William and Mary campus and walking distance (10 minutes or so leisurely walk) to historic Williamsburg. It is in a good location for guests visiting the college and for people looking to visit historic Williamsburg. The community is quiet and very nice where the inn is located and is within short distance to good eateries.

The Inn: Very nice and well kept. Very clean! The rooms are all upstairs. We stayed in the Thos. Jefferson room, which was decent size with a stand-up shower and nice size closet to hang clothes and jackets. The room is well decorated in colonial era decor. If you are looking for luxurious baths and an over-sized room, this is likely not for you. It is clean, nicely decorated and "homey" and provides a nice respite as a home away from home. The common areas are nice although we didn't spend much time in either the living room or the patio. They place wine and cookies or brownies out at night in the living room, which was a very nice treat. They also had bottles of water out at that time, which came in handy while we were walking around Williamsburg.

Innkeepers: Fred and Jane are wonderful hosts and the main reason for all the good ratings is the customer service that they provide. They allowed us to check-in early since the room was not being used the night prior, which was great since we took a red-eye across country to get there. They were personable and attended to any need we had. Breakfast was wonderful each morning with an offering of either eggs/omelets or some sort of pancake (the sweet potato pancakes were absolutely melt in your mouth wonderful!). We pretty much exclusively stay at B&Bs or boutique hotels whenever we travel because we like the service and "unique" insight that the innkeepers/staff provide. It is always the service that separates these places from being fair to good to excellent and I'd say that Fred and Jane provide excellent service.

In review you will be very pleased staying at the Bentley Manor Inn!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Like my review title says - this place is amazing! I am now engaged and Fred and Jane played a huge part in the proposal. I spoke with Fred and Jane weeks before coming to the B&B, I told them my plan and they helped me out with the "staging". Jane picked out beautiful flowers, a bottle of champagne, and the rest is history -> I am now engaged. The room was as clean as can be and absolutely gorgeous. The place is within about a 10 minute walk to downtown Williamsburg. Jane’s cooking is incredible (the breakfast, the cookies, and everything down to the coffee). Fred & Jane - thanks so much for the amazing weekend and we look forward to staying at your B&B again in the near future!

Dan & Angie

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

This quaint b&b was perfect for our weekend trip to Williamsburg (they are within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg attraction). The delightful decor , plush bedding, HOT shower, and delicious homemade breakfast (in addition to the perfect location) made this a cozy spot to stay. Fred and Jane, the inn keepers, made this a truly charming home away from home for us. They were friendly and flexible with great knowledge of the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed at The Bentley Manor Inn on our way to and from a southern vacation away from the northeast. We actually only planned a one-night stop on the way down but the visit was so great, we needed a repeat performance on the way home. Fred and Jane are the perfect innkeepers...the room was The Governor Berkeley Room....the bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was huge and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were yummy and with a personal touch. The Inn itself is decorated with a true Williamsburg flare and artistic eye. It is located so close to everything and has easy access on and off the route. I cannot think of another trip to or through Williamsburg without a planned stop to he Bentley Manor Inn and a visit with Fred and Jane.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bentley Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Manor Inn

Address: 720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Manor Inn is a charming classic brick colonial in the heart of historic Williamsburg, Virginia. The Inn combines traditional decor and craftsmanship with the modern conveniences guests have come to expect. Guests’ chambers offer light, airy rooms, all with private baths. Capture the timeless essence of Colonial Williamsburg with an unforgettable stay at the Bentley Manor Inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.