We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bentley Manor Inn
Save Saved
You added Bentley Manor Inn to your Saves list
720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay, fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We picked the Bentley Manor because of the TripAdvisor reviews; we weren't disappointed. We agree with what everyone else says in their reviews but none of them do justice to Bentley Manor's location. Bentley Manor is located in a very quiet residential neighborhood (there were deer in the front yard one morning) about a half mile from Colonial Williamsburg (CW). You can drive a couple of minutes and hunt a parking place. But, my wife and I decided to walk. It's a leisurely 15 minutes and you can walk right through the heart of the William and Mary campus. Also, Fred and Jane have a wealth of information about CW. When we arrived at 3pm on a Sunday, Fred suggested we go to the visitor center and watch the orientation movie. We watched both the Jack Lord movie on the colonial history and the Rockerfeller restoration movie. They both made our time in CW much more worthwhile as they set it all into context. This is an excellent, well-run B&B in a great town with the best possible location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
168
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We just returned from a two day stay at the Bentley Manor Inn. The Governor Berkeley room was perfect. It has a small sitting area and a lovely view of the yard. This was our first trip to Williamsburg without our kids so we wanted to see something besides Busch Gardens. You couldn't ask for a better location if you want to explore Colonial Williamsburg, William & Mary or Yorktown. Fred and Jane are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts and conversations were such a wonderful way to start the day! Everything about the Bentley Manor Inn was wonderful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We recently spent two nights, at the Bentley Manor Inn, in the Governor Berkeley room. The room is bright with a new spacious bathroom that has a tile and fiberglass shower and roomy vanity. Fred and Jane were great hosts and we lingered over breakfast, which was delicious, talking with them and the other guests. This is one of the reasons we like to stay at B&B's. You meet some of the nicest people. Fred and Jane were also very knowledgeable about Williamsburg and recommended that we tour Bassett Hall, which was one of the highlights of the trip. The Inn is conveniently located to the historic area and Market Square. It is about a 3 minute drive and we didn't have any problems with parking. We would definitely recommend a stay at the Bentley Manor Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Fred and Jane are some of the warmest, nicest B&B hosts and people. My husband and I had the rare pleasure and surprise of being the only guests at the Bentley Manor Inn for two nights. We were immediately bumped up to the biggest room with the newest bathroom (Captain John Smith) for no extra charge. It was also really nice talking with Fred and Jane every morning as there were no other guests at the dining table. Breakfasts were delicious and not too heavy or filling. The location also can't be beat as the B&B is parallel to the main road and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and Colonial Williamsburg.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and I've already recommended it to my parents for their next stay in Williamsburg!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at the Bentley Manor Inn and throughly enjoyed our stay. The house is located a block off of a major streeet, so the area is quiet. The room was lovely with a large bathroom. A nice selection of books are available for guests to read. The breakfasts were wonderful and the special dietary needs were easily taken care of for another guest. Fred and Jane were very helpful with information about the area and loaning us a CD for one of the historic sites. We will reccomend this B&B to any one we know heading to the Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this comfortable B & B. The owners, Fred and Jane, were great, charming and well-informed about the area. Bentley Manor Inn is located on a beautiful side street beside the William and Mary campus, a short walk to the historic shopping area of Williamsburg. Breakfasts were terrific and sitting around a common table with other guests of the Inn was a fun way to share experiences. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in the "Thomas Jefferson Room" that was decorated in a lovely colonial manner and even had a selection of books about our third president. The bathroom was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Wine and cookies were in the living room for an afternoon treat before we left for dinner. Our breakfast was very good and they accomodated a food allergy with no problem. Jane and Fred were wonderful hosts. They were very knowledgeable about Williamsburg and the surrounding area. Looking forward to staying with them again !

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated beautifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bentley Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Manor Inn

Address: 720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Manor Inn is a charming classic brick colonial in the heart of historic Williamsburg, Virginia. The Inn combines traditional decor and craftsmanship with the modern conveniences guests have come to expect. Guests’ chambers offer light, airy rooms, all with private baths. Capture the timeless essence of Colonial Williamsburg with an unforgettable stay at the Bentley Manor Inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.