We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bentley Manor Inn
720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed at this lovely B&B with friends. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and bear the name of a historical figure from the area. We were there when the weather was extremely hot and humid and after a hot day of touring, we would come back to the gracious environment created by Fred and Jane to cool off and relax. refreshments awaited us in the parlor and beautiful soft music helped us unwind as we planned our evening activity. Breakfast at Bentley Manor was an event! We were there for three days and each day the table was set with different table linens and china. Jane prepared a scrumptious breakfast while Fred made sure each guest's dietary or personal requirements were met. We enjoyed chatting with our hosts who displayed a wonderful sense of humor, as well as, knowledge about the area's history, restaurants and tours. The B&B is close to all the historical areas and after a wonderful stay, it was hard to say good-bye.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
156
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a lovely home. The rooms are cozy and very clean. The inn is located right off the campus of William & Mary on beautiful and quiet side street. Fred and Jane are welcoming, friendly and a great source of information about what to see and do in Williamsburg. Breakfast is delicious. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxborough,CO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is such a lovely Bed and breakfast. Jane and Fred have mastered the art of providing a welcoming home with lovely rooms, amazing and cozy breakfasts, and the perfect ambiance for a visit to Colonial Williamsburg. As hosts, they are very friendly and warm and willing to assist with recommendations and suggestions. We felt like we were visiting relatives! Our room was delightful and immaculate. Everything is within walking distance and a beautiful respite just far enough away from all the activity at the end of the day! We would absolutely return to their establishment if we visit Colonial Williamsburg again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the spacious bathroom and enjoyed this feature! The house was so quiet...we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Do you like a lovely immaculate room and bathroom, and a delicious friendly breakfast before you go out touring one of the best tourist towns in America? Do you like wonderful hosts (Fred and Jane) who make you feel perfectly at home? Do you like being in walking distance of both The College of William & Mary and Colonial Williamsburg? Then stay at Bentley Manor the next time you visit Williamsburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I needed a quick weekend getaway for our anniversary, and based on the TripAdvisor reviews chose Bentley Manor Inn. Well, the reviews weren't wrong: this place was wonderful. We got in kind of late, and they left a key for us to come in whenever we wanted. The room was absolutely spotless. Not that I was doing a white glove check, but there was not even a speck of dust anywhere. The bed was comfortable; bathroom was large; location was perfect. We stayed for two nights, and both mornings we went to breakfast at 8:30a where we were greeted by Fred and Jane who were just fabulous. We ate two amazing breakfasts, and Fred kept my coffee cup full. We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: We only saw the Gov. Berkeley Room where we stayed, and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bentley Manor Inn during our visit to Williamsburg, Virginia. We couldn't have been more pleased! The owners, Jane and Fred Garland were delightful hosts, so welcoming and helpful. The Inn is beautifully furnished with antiques, lovely quilts, and is within walking distance of the College of William and Mary and Colonial Williamsburg in a lovely neighborhood. The breakfasts were excellent, with a nice selection of options. We had long, delightful conversations with Jane and Fred, and felt very much at home. We would highly recommend at stay at the Bentley Manor Inn if you are headed to Williamsburg!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Fred and Jane are simply the best. This is not a bed and breakfast. This is home. Your home. Our home. We had the best breakfast ever. And the BIG plus of this place is that it is secluded and NOT on the main road like other bed and breakfast. So so peaceful and minutes away walking distance from the Main Street.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bentley Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Manor Inn

Address: 720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Manor Inn is a charming classic brick colonial in the heart of historic Williamsburg, Virginia. The Inn combines traditional decor and craftsmanship with the modern conveniences guests have come to expect. Guests’ chambers offer light, airy rooms, all with private baths. Capture the timeless essence of Colonial Williamsburg with an unforgettable stay at the Bentley Manor Inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bentley Manor Inn to your Saves list