We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“P-e-r-f-e-c-t!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bentley Manor Inn
Save
You added Bentley Manor Inn to your Saves list
720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“P-e-r-f-e-c-t!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Everything about the Bentley Manor Inn was . . . yes . . . perfect! Located on a quiet residential street within walking distance of William and Mary and the historic area, Bentley Manor Inn is the ideal "home away from home" when you are in Williamsburg. You feel as if you are visiting good friends--Jane and Fred are very warm and personable, and their home is pretty and inviting. I stayed in the George Wythe room last night and loved it. I will be visiting again--you should, too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
174
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A lovely, comfortable B&B within easy walking distance of historic Williamsburg. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We were delighted to stay there. The breakfast was just what one hopes for in a B&B, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, good conversation and a delicious meal. The downstairs areas are inviting, cozy nooks for writing postcards or reading. A terrific choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We loved this BnB and it all started and ended with the great innkeepers - Fred & Jane. We were driving down to VA from NYC in a snowstorm and had issues in New Jersey. We kept Fred updated and he was very accomodating with our delay. We finally arrived at 8:30 PM afetr planning to get there around 4:00 PM. The BnB is in a perfect location. It is walking distance to the historic part of town and not far from Busch Gardens. The inn is housed in a beautiful old brick home that screams Southern charm. Our room was clean and located on the second floor. The house has a nice livingroom space and the dining area is well decorated and clean. Fred gave us a map of the local area and offered to help us out with dining reservations. Breakfast wes delcious and we enjoyed every moment in the inn. This is a must stay for those visiting the Williamsburg area.

Room Tip: Take the time to walk around the surrounding area. William and Mary College is down the road and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from this wonderful b and b. Jane welcomed us with such friendship straight away (Fred was mowing the lawn) and from the moment we were there everything was just great. Fred helped us out with tickets and where to go etc. whilst Jane cooked wonderful breakfasts. Our room was spotlessly clean and furnished beautifully. We would recommend this charming Inn to anyone. Mick and Mo Leigh United Kingdom

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Bentley Manor Inn, to the time we left, we always felt very welcome by our truly wonderful hosts...Fred & Jane. Their B&B is absolutely gorgeous, with spotless & beautifully decorated rooms...complete with fine linens & fabrics and lovely antiques.
Breakfasts are amazing...starting with fantastic coffee, juice, fresh fruit & choice of either pancakes/french toast or egg entrees. All choices are excellent & nicely presented. Jane's sweet potato pancakes are fantastic & a must to try!
All this...with candle lights, soft background music, the tick tock of the old Grandfather clock in the gathering room & welcoming conversation with Fred & Jane...who would want to stay anywhere else?
We arrived as guests on September 5th & left as friends on September 10th, 2012...thanks to Fred & Jane and the Bentley Manor Inn. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The Governor Berkeley room is a bright quiet room with 2 windows in the room, as well as 2 windows i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Well run B & B with the perfect location. Short walk thru William & Mary campus to Colonial Williamsburg couldn't have been easier or prettier. Run by Fred and Jane, both professional in the accommodations and service as B & B experiences go. We stayed in the Thomas Jefferson Room which had all the convinces you could ask for in a quaint B & B. The breakfasts were well not short of satisfying. The location made for our perfect 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As frequent B&B goers, this is definitely on the higher end of our experiences. The price was on par with hotels in the area and for the breakfast, location and cleanliness of the rooms it is definitely worth the price. Overall we definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Williamsburg or the surrounding areas. If we travel there again we would not hesitate to book there again!

Pros:
-Fred and Jane are genuinely nice and gracious hosts. We wish all B&B hosts made you feel so at ease.
-Good coffee! This is a huge plus for us because 90% of the time it is too watered down. Breakfast is also delicious! There is always an egg option and a more bread based option (I never get pancakes/french toast unless it is really special and I chose the bread option almost every time). The sour cream and apple pancakes are to die for!
-The rooms are impeccably cleaned, tastefully decorated and have nice linens and towels.
-Proximity to Colonial Williamsburg (.5 mi / 10-15 minute easy walk) which drops you directly into Merchants Square for shopping, restaurants and a pub as well as the beginning of the pedestrian street (Duke of Glouchester).
-Great location off of Richmond Road (5 min from outlets and countless restaurants on RIchmond Road)
-Each evening they put out sweet items (like freshly baked cookies) and a bottle of wine.

Only 1 con:
-We chose the Captain John Smith room specifically because it said it had a tub (which I believe is the reason it the most expensive room there). There were no photos posted on their website but we assumed since it cost more that it must be a nice soaking tub. The tub, while clean and fine, was nothing that would invite you to want to take a bath in because it was simply too short. You could definitely bathe in it but I was expecting a soaker tub since it was more expensive. I should not have assumed anything but if it is stated as a special feature for selecting that room then I wish I had known the size first. I think the other rooms are basically the same size as this one but the price was more which I don't think is justified for the tub that is provided. Overall a minor thing but a major bummer since it really was the only reason why we selected this room over the others.

Room Tip: The doors to the other rooms were open when we were there and when walking by they all look about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bentley Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Manor Inn

Address: 720 College Terrace, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Manor Inn is a charming classic brick colonial in the heart of historic Williamsburg, Virginia. The Inn combines traditional decor and craftsmanship with the modern conveniences guests have come to expect. Guests’ chambers offer light, airy rooms, all with private baths. Capture the timeless essence of Colonial Williamsburg with an unforgettable stay at the Bentley Manor Inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.