We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   922 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

At first we were disappointed to be staying at the Williamsburg Sampler because we had booked with their sister Bed and Breakfast and were moved at short notice. However, we really enjoyed our stay at the Sampler.

The house and its owner have character. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The location is perfect. For us the only downside was the coffee machine commented on so positively by other reviewers. It looks out of place in a house full of antiques and the decaf coffee and tea were truly disgusting. Anyway that will not stop us wanting to come back to Williamsburg and the sampler.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    11
    2
    7
    0
See reviews for
28
82
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This B and B is fantastic. It is beautiful, clean, roomy and run by a very nice gentleman. The food was excellent as well as other treats and drinks available. Breakfasts were fun with the other guests and sometimes the owner. Also, the B and B is located close to Colonial Williamsburg as well as William and Mary College

Room Tip: Some rooms are suites and some are single. There are only four rooms in the Inn, so you might inqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Upon entering the Williamsburg Sampler B&B we felt right at home only better! The Inn is beautifully decorated from top to bottom with antiques appropriate to the location. Our room was spacious, clean and beautiful. The bed was so comfortable and the bath was sparkling clean and large. Our breakfast each day was well prepared and delicious. We have been to Williamsburg several times but enjoyed visiting with Ike, the Innkeeper and learning about all the new things Williamsburg has to offer.

We will return hopefully in the near future.

Ann & Francis
St. George Island, FL

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our second stay at this B & B. House is nicely done with many interemting items of furnishing. Bed was very comfortable. TV in room was appreciated. Very friendly company at breakfast. Both Ike and Lisbeth very warm and affiable. Great coffee machine. Will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Ike is a wonderfully warm and gracious host. Don't miss breakfast at 8:30 -- it's your chance to spend a pleasant meal with other travelers, and sets a relaxing, familial tone to your stay. Housekeeper Lisbeth is also warm and gracious (and prepares an outstanding breakfast!) The house is filled with antiques and has several rooms to retreat into and read, listen to music, or socialize. From a visitor perspective, staying here added a social dimension to our trip that we did not expect but made the trip so much more memorable. I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Lord Nelson room has a king-sized bed and is perfect for visitors like us, who were in Williamsb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sampler while visiting Colonial Williamsburg with another couple. Ike and his housekeeper were excellent hosts, very friendly, great conversation. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious, with many very well-prepared options, such as freshly-baked cranberry muffins. We had the King William suite with the sitting room and the balcony we shared with our friends' suite, which was a great place to share a bottle of wine after the day's activities. The King William was beautifully decorated, very clean and well-maintained. It's a very good value. We will stay here again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: The suites are a very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights. Charming B&B. Ike was a gracious & friendly host, & an eclectic collector of various art forms. Great breakfasts & terrific coffee machine. Good value. The one evening when we wanted to watch TV we went down to the "Pool Room" & watched our shows on the big screen TV (not HD). Very clean. The bathroom could have used more towel racks for both bath & hand towels, & why is it hotels & B&Bs don't put two suitcase stands in every room? Our last night there, we could hears owls hooting nearby (irrelevant, I suppose, but interesting). We were quite prepared to reuse our towels, but they were replaced anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast

Address: 922 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18-century plantation style 3-story brick colonial. Located within walking distance to historic Colonial Williamsburg. Governor' "Inn of the Year" in 1995. Famous for "Skip Lunch" (R) breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.