We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   922 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sampler while visiting Colonial Williamsburg with another couple. Ike and his housekeeper were excellent hosts, very friendly, great conversation. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious, with many very well-prepared options, such as freshly-baked cranberry muffins. We had the King William suite with the sitting room and the balcony we shared with our friends' suite, which was a great place to share a bottle of wine after the day's activities. The King William was beautifully decorated, very clean and well-maintained. It's a very good value. We will stay here again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: The suites are a very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    11
    2
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
78
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights. Charming B&B. Ike was a gracious & friendly host, & an eclectic collector of various art forms. Great breakfasts & terrific coffee machine. Good value. The one evening when we wanted to watch TV we went down to the "Pool Room" & watched our shows on the big screen TV (not HD). Very clean. The bathroom could have used more towel racks for both bath & hand towels, & why is it hotels & B&Bs don't put two suitcase stands in every room? Our last night there, we could hears owls hooting nearby (irrelevant, I suppose, but interesting). We were quite prepared to reuse our towels, but they were replaced anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, my husband and I really didn't know what to expect. What a treat! The Williamsburg Sampler is a delightful place to stay. The colonial theme can be found in every room. You are surrounded by a "homey" feel the minute you enter. The breakfast is delicious and the menu changes every morning. The coffee/espresso machine is a gift for any coffee lover. The bedroom accommodations were perfect, as well. We have stayed in numerous hotel/motels in the Williamsburg area. We can say with certainty the next time we visit we will be staying at the Williamsburg Sampler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

GREAT LOCATION....
We stayed after the "Surprises Galore" review folks and enjoyed 5 nights at the B & B. We appreciated the wonderful kingsize beds as we rarely get them in a B & B. (Husband is 6'6"). The mattresses were perfect for a good night's sleep. We frequently have no TV's at B & B's and didn't care if the TV was new or not. We were able to watch programs if we wished. Over the past 20 years we have stayed at B & B's with no host or owner and it's not been a problem. We met our host the next morning who was very accommodating. He told wonderful stories, (all true), each morning and the guests seemed quite delighted to listen and respond. Our breakfasts were delicious and the housekeeper/cook is bilingual. There is no problem of understanding. Since this is the host's actual home, we were delighted that he showed us the main floor as well as the basement. There are wonderful antiques in every room. If you so desired, you could watch the new TV on the mammoth screen downstairs or play pool. Ike was helpful in recommending local restaurants too. On the last night, he even printed up our boarding passes for us. Oh yes, the fan in the sitting room does work, the switch is on the wall!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This weekend marked our 6th trip to Williamsburg for a long weekend get-away from the hustle and bustle of the real world. We have stayed here at the Sampler for the last four years and the accommodations have been nothing but top notch. We normally check in earlier and the room is always ready to go and the keys are waiting for us in arrival.
The Inn Keeper has always greeted us upon arrival and made us feel completely at home and relaxed and insist on giving us the tour each year. The rooms are nice and relaxing and sitting on the rear balcony will provide the quality time and seclusion you are looking for.
Breakfast is served at 8:30 and always has a different twist with an assortment of fruit and an all new coffee maker that will satisfy anyone's needs. We look forward to coming back every year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The Sampler Inn provides a quiet setting to stage your stay in Colonial Williamsburg. It is very short drive (2 minutes) to Colonial Williamsburg. The Sampler Inn now has coffe 24/7 with a beautiful Nescafé coffe station that brews latte, cappacino, and espresso. The breakfast features standard fare of eggs, sausage, breads, fruit etc. The only qualm I have with the John Smith room is the bathroom is a bit tight and the exhaust fan is in need of replacement.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Such a disappointment. Upon arriving everything seemed to have potential as a slight breeze kept the fallen leaves dancing on the ground. Keys were waiting for us with our welcoming note. This is not unusual as we realize the keeper/owner will not always be there to greet the guests. But, neither did the keeper/owner appear that evening, the next morning or before we left. Personal contact, personal attention, personal hospitality were COMPLETELY absent...zip, zero, zilch! No hosts to be found. Never have we encountered this before. Hoping to have been greeted with fresh snacks and beverages, perhaps a serving of wine and cheese or chocolate by the keeper/owner, it was canned sodas in the fridge and what appeared to be some sad looking and lonely Sam's Club items on the counter. In agreement with other reviews in that the house is way too cluttered, it goes past being warm and homey and looks like a mess. Our room, ahh the room. A stuffy smell was evidence that the room had not been aired in some time nor had it been cleaned in detail - just wiped. Bed was loosely made with collapsed pillows that had no body at all...imagine sleeping with a beach towel as your pillow. A queen size bed would be more appropriate for the space as both sides are very near the wall in the John Smith room. Both the tv in the bedroom and sitting room were vintage 19"-20" CRT models born in the late 80s or early 90s. The one in the sitting room had broken buttons on the unit with a remote that did not work. Watching tv was not the focus of our get-away but c'mon, this was very bad. Also, the switch to the ceiling fan in the sitting room had a lock on it to prevent the fan from being used. ATTENTION OWNER - FIX THIS! The gas fireplace was plesant. No mini fridge, microwave or coffee maker to be found. Bath was teeny but adequet - an adventurous person could be seated while brushing their teeth and washing their feet in the shower...all at the same time. Add to all of the above the fact that everything was worn and a little dirty, the experience was far less than desireable. Once again hoping to meet the keeper/owner at breakfast, well the trend continued. A house-keeper/cook who did not speak clear English greeted us saying only "Hi, there it is." The table setting looked like what one might find in a frat house. The Sam's Club theme continued with poor quality food items, preparation and presentation...pitiful! Yes, we were hoping for a delightful cook/host with a smile and a twinkle in their eye. One and only one good thing we should mention. The house is in a good location, just far enough from the busyness of the restored area and Merchant's Square...perhaps a half-mile walk. Overall, this is was a bad experience for us. This is what you would expect at Motel 6 or the equivalent for $49...not a B&B in lovely Williamsburg so close to everything Williamsburg. If only a robot would have come out of a closet to spend time with us. We chose based on reviews from Trip Advisor and well, we came up short this time. Remembering what Abraham Lincoln said...'Don't believe everything you read on the Internet." Sorry but we cannot recommend.

Room Tip: Suites have a nice porch setting but with a poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast

Address: 922 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18-century plantation style 3-story brick colonial. Located within walking distance to historic Colonial Williamsburg. Governor' "Inn of the Year" in 1995. Famous for "Skip Lunch" (R) breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.