We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service above all else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Inn to your Saves list
Williamsburg Inn
136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Couples' Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service above all else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

First of all, this hotel is beautiful. Its old and has an antique beauty to it. Its also in a prime location, literally walking distance to colonial Williamsburg, towns and shops, and the College of William and Mary. But the service really is what stood out to me. The concierge was friendly and helped us plan a personalized schedule for the day. She also gave us discounts to a number of different things, including admisson tickets and carriage rides. The dinner and breakfast staff was very caring and when I had on a slevless dress, a waitress brought over a shawl for me to borrow. All in all, a very lovley, comfortable hotel that I look forward to satying at again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    39
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
95
136
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We cannot say enough good about this place. It exceeded our expectations. The rooms are elegantly decorated with added touches that excel beyond compare. You will not be disappointed as it is so convenient to Historic Williamsburg and the hotel staff go above and beyond to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our second visit and stay at the Inn. The ambience and the service are second to none. The staff go well above and beyond in every way possible. Truly a delightful place in every way. The surrounding historical area is amazing. The staff are very knowledgeable with the history.

Room Tip: The staff go out of their way to find you a great room. The first time we stayed in the Inn, this ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the historic Williamsburg Inn. It's located in the center of the historic area, so you can walk to everything. The check in process and conceirge are very knowledgable which is very helpful considering how many reinactments, performances and things to do there are in Williamsburg!
We stayed in a fabulous one-bedroom suite on the first floor that overlooked the patio and golf course. Very spacious and had two fireplaces! The bathroom was enormous with a separate tub and shower also very spacious. I really enjoyed this little home away from home for a weekend.
The breakfast buffet at the Inn is also outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west babylon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Horrible hotel. One day they never even bothered to clean our room- we left in there morning and came back at night and beds not made, garbage not emptied. I called front desk to be told htat housekeeping was gone for the night- sorry. There were bugs in the bathroom and the room smelled musty. I would NOT recomend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent four days in the Williamsburg-Yorktown-Jamestown triangle and used the Williamsburg Inn as the home base. Very nice cozy hotel in a great location, very close to the Revolutionary city and to Yorktown/Jamestown attractions. The rooms are lovely, the staff was courteous and helpful and overall a great experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. Old world charm, with the latest in amenities.

Wanted to experience the Williamsburg Inn, during the 4th. So many festivities and events happening around the property. Stayed at the Williamsburg Inn, during Christmas so that family members from Hawaii would experience Colonial Williamsburg, and it was amazing. For those looking for a place during Summer or the Winter Holiday's, this should be your first choice.

Service: From Check in to Check out - Everything was just amazing. They will assist you in planning your daily activities or help you get on a Golf Course if required. Staff members are so polite and helpful.

Value: Depending on your room type, its expensive, but the quality you get, is unmatched.

Sleep Quality: Amazing

This i

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Address: 136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, AAA Travel Services and Orbitz so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.