We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Williamsburg Inn to your Saves list
Williamsburg Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Choose Your Relaxation
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Elegance in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Inn at Williamsburg states that their objective is to ensure that they provide a memorable experience to all guests. They more than meet this goal. The hotel is elegant and peaceful. The spacious rooms are fit for royalty; including the dining areas. The service is impeccable. The hotel is right in the middle of colonial Williamsburg, which means you may walk to every attraction. A stay at the Williamsburg Inn is a special treat not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    42
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
105
150
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If I knew this hotel was so good, I would have stayed the whole week there and not just three nights! Having stayed in hotels like the legendary Greenbrier during our US-Trip, I just couldnt imagine this hotel would be such a pleasant surprise.
The whole staff, from the doormen to the frontdesk and concierge are incredibly friendly and attenttive and are ready to fullfill all your needs.
I was especially impressed by the size of the rooms. Having booked two rooms with king size beds, we got two huge, suite-like rooms with huge bathrooms.
By looking at that, I can pretty much imagine how the junior suites look like!
Both the regency and the terrace room offer delicious dishes, with a very friendly staff and a cozy atmosphere. You wont regret it!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited here with my husbands work. Gorgeous grounds. This hotel is a very stately Inn. If your looking for top of the line amenities this is not it. Rooms were cozy and well appointed. It is a great location within walking distance to everything. The spa and pool area is nice and I enjoyed a great massage while staying there. Service was Excellent and everyone was friendly and helpful. My husband loved the golf coarse. Hotel was quiet despite being so close to all the tourist areas.
I would love to come back and stay in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

WOW! This hotel was everything it's reputation claims. We had a driver from the hotel give us a quickie tour of the city while he drove us out to dinner.
Breakfast en suite was incredible. Great coffee.
Dinner was delicious. The chicken pot pie was flaky and tender.
Flowers, marble bath, massive spacious suite.
All too much really.
It's worth the money. Lovely , quiet historic inn and I will return. Hope my daughter goes to W& M so I can visit often.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, Pa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Williamsburg Inn for my Mom's 50th birthday. She absolutely loves the hotel and this is her second trip here within a year. My parents are both avid golfer and love the golf course at the hotel. This was my first time at the hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect and is within walking distance (basically across the street) to Colonial Williamsburg attractions, shops, and restaurants. The staff was impeccable and welcoming. The rooms were gorgeous as is the hotel. I read several reviews stating that the hotel was dated and needs to be renovated, the hotel is in no way modern, and is not designed to be, but is filled with old fashioned southern charm. The hotel lends it self to a traditional colonial feel in decoration with an elevated opulence. The grounds of the hotel were gorgeous. The fitness center was amazing and has any type of machine that you could want all with their own TVs. They also offer exercise classes. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which I would describe as fairly good, not the best I have ever had, but good. The only critique I can offer for the hotel, is that the parking lot was very dimly lit at night, other than that we had an amazing stay and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We were in 3280, we didn't have any views from the room, but the layout of the suite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel claims to be the best of the best so expectations are high but they fail to deliver. Sure the main building is in excellent shape and the rooms are well kept. However the outbuildings are clearly in need of upgrade and are outdated. It feels like a very average hotel and to cap it off I found a huge cockroach in the bathroom so clearly their pest control service needs attention.

I called reception about this and was told that a manger would follow up in the morning but there was no follow up. Clearly no one cared enough .. so a por experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building and avoid the outbuildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Reserved their least expensive room and was amazed how large and clean it was. Spa was excellent. Restaurants are also pretty good. Staff is quite helpful in addressing any concern or issue you might have. Considering everything, a very good value for such an exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Address: 136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.