We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Luxury Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Save Saved
You added Williamsburg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Williamsburg Inn
136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Luxury Luxury Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Williamsburg Inn for 3 nights. At the end of our stay, I told him he could go home, I was moving in! This is absolutely the most luxurious hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The room was very large with beautiful furniture. A writing desk, sofa and two chairs, king bed, dresser, armoire for the TV, a vanity and seat in the bathroom. The bathroom was so large, had double sinks, a large shower and a giant soaking tub. Plus, a separate toilet. One thing I absolutely loved about this bathroom was that it had many storage drawers in the vanity under the sink. You didn't have to leave out all your toiletries. The room always looked neat and tidy. They provided a great bathrobe, 2 pairs of slippers, as well as a hair dryer. Plenty of towels and the usual toiletry amenities.

The hotel itself had several common rooms that were absolutely beautiful. Fireplaces and seating areas. I really wish I had more time to just curl up and read a book by the fire. I did see some people playing cards at a table and chairs in one of the rooms one evening. So welcoming.

The concierge had it's own large room with several desks and a few people to assist you. They were incredibly helpful in recommending restaurants and offering ideas of what to see and do in the area. In fact, they had menus for all restaurants in the area (bound in a book!), for you to look at to help in decision making.

There is also a pool and fitness room, although we did not visit these.

The hotel is within walking distance of everything in the town that you want to visit.

I could go on and on about my love for this hotel. We did get a fabulous deal on the price, too. 3 nights for the price of two. $287 per night. I thought it was worth every penny...or more.

I've stayed at many lovely hotels, The Plaza and Pierre in NY, Four Seasons in Philadelphia, etc, and this hotel far surpasses all of them. Perhaps it's the southern charm! The staff simply can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    36
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
87
109
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent last week at a retreat in Williamsburg and we lodged at the renowned Williamsburg Inn. It was spectacular. The staff go out of their way to insure that your every comfort is met. Alfonso the doorman is entertaining. We had dinner at Shields Tavern and it was delicious - try the apple salad. Over the last 35 years we have stayed at many of the Williamsburg Foundation hotels. It is especially fun to stay in an historical home or in the boarding house right on Duke of Gloucester street. Williamsburg is our go-to close to home getaway. We have been there every month of the year and it always is a positive, relaxing time.

Room Tip: Several years ago the hotel underwent a major renovation. All of the rooms are spacious and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the best place to stay if you want superior service right in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg. Historical and elegant, they could not do enough for us. And being able to walk to every attraction and restaurant in the colonial village was so wonderful. Would definitely recommend this Inn to everyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is like returning home when we enter the Williamsburg Inn! We have stayed at the Inn or one of the historical Colonial homes on all of our visits which now exceed at least 20 stays! The quality of service is exceptional as is the entire experience.

Room Tip: The suites with sitting rooms are delightful. If traveling with a family, ask for a suite with an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Williamsburg Inn continues to deliver a top-drawer experience. It's charm is only part of the attraction; the service, the delicious menus, and the attention to the smallest details make a stay there unlike almost anywhere. We stayed for a long weekend of golf at the Golden Horseshoe, take in a couple of the colonial activities, and spa at the Williamsburg Spa. Every staff member at every venue went out of their way to ensure we had everything we desired. Truly, these folks provide one of the best levels of service anywhere. Whether you're coming to do the Colonial Williamsburg experience, which is unique, or some of the other attractions in the area, don't miss the chance to stay at this storied hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel was outstanding. Rooms with fireplaces are lit by staff whenever you want and view of orchid tree and golf course in back were lovely. Food was very good and staff on every level was superb. They truly wanted your experience to be memorable. Exercise facility was large and had everything including classes held throughout the day. Inn was short walking distance to colonial Williamsburg area. Just a beautiful stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with the fireplaces, only about 7-8 of them. But you could have staff light the fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Williamsburg Inn is a truly delightful place to stay, eat and enjoy the historic
themes of the Colonial Village. Close to all activities, returning to the Inn after a
fun day is true pampering. Whether you chose to enjoy the resort, spa, dining
or whatever else you may do, the Inn staff is always ready to greet you and assist in
any way. The Concierge service is spectacular- they can arrange just about anything.

Having breakfast at the Inn dining room in the AM is a great way to start your busy
Colonial Village day. The evening meals are available as well as the tap room
menu items. Clean, fresh and beautifully decorated is something you won't be disappointed
with. Compared to other area hotels, this Inn may be considered $$, but it is well worth
the cost. You can leave your car, walk to any place or take the close bus service and
enjoy the Village.
There are other spots easily walkable outside the village for dining or clubs, not to mention
Colonial Williamsburg shops!

We most recently stayed before Christmas, a lovely time to enjoy everything, but have also
stayed in the Spring, when the new born lambs were out in the field, the Palace in floral beauty and the grounds in bloom.

Truly a gem of Colonial America and preserved history.

Room Tip: Ask the desk staff when you book the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Williamsburg Hotel
Address: 136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.