We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - historic lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Inn to your Saves list
Williamsburg Inn
136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Getaway Package.
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great experience - historic lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the historic lodging on site at Colonial Williamsburg (1 bed - tavern room I believe). The accommodation itself was very nice, oldy worldy as you would expect, so you can’t expect modern and pristine. You do have a TV, en-suite, comfy (if small) bed. It is clean and tastefully decorated. Excellent to look out the window and see in-costume characters walking by into the night and early morning, we really felt like we’d be catapulted back in time...then we spotted one of the many tourists feeding their faces that weekend;-)

Talking of food, room service was good, prompt and tasty.

We did go up to the hotel (Willliamsburg Inn) one night for a few drinks. It was lovely there, great service and very well decorated. It was a bit pricey for drinks. Saying that, if I were to go again, because I’ve now done the historic lodging, I’d be tempted to stay in the hotel, for a bit more luxury.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    41
    18
    10
    9
See reviews for
100
139
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

No question the best spot in Williamsburg. A real treat for a throw-back weekend. Some elements of hotel a tad dated, but that's the charm. Grounds were immacculate, staff very friendly and helpful, and generously-sized room was a treat with the family. Room had recently been very-tastefully redone, but in keeping with history. Very conveniently located. Not necessarily among the best ever, but certainly the best in Wburg IMO, and very fitting for the location. Have a drink on the back patio if you can.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I took my wife to Colonial Williamsburg on December 7th - 10th, to enjoy the holiday seasonal decor and events for just the 2 of us. What a great time, I found a great offer for the Williamsburg Inn and got a Suite in the Inn with 2 fireplaces and a canopy bed, that was wonderful. The 2 mornings stared with coffee that is in the lobby complimentary and the porter building a fire each morning in the parlor room for us. We stayed in the Inn for 2 nights and the last night moved over to the Lodge as the Inn was full. We had one Holiday Breakfast at the Tavern and lunch back at the Inn - both mornings we did breakfast at the INN, love that dining room. The Inn is very elegant during the holidays, we did 2 classical shows and the THE CRYSTAL SYMPHONY is very unique. Shopping in Williamsburg Village was great, we purchased many gifts that were unique for our family and it was so enjoyable. We had lunch on Saturday on a bench after picking up a few things at the Wine and Cheese Shop, some fruit, tuna salad and it was delightful. The highlight for us was the lighting of the green, and walking right behind the "Fife and Drum Core" as the eluminated each of the homes on the green. We went directly back to the INN and were able to get a table in the bar/dining room area instead of the Main Dining Room - very pleasant indeed but many were turned away so either rush or have reservations at one of the tavern during this peak time. We didn't get into the Holiday Tea - I failed to make reservations in advance for that and one must if they want to enjoy it. We love the slow paced and elegant atmosphere of the INN - the Spa is wonderful and very nice - the entire place is a Luxury Resort that I think many skip but they are missing out.

Go during the holidays and do a Thursday - Saturday stay to miss the crowds of the weekend. We plan to go back for the GRAND ILLUMINATION another year with our children and take our parents.

Room Tip: We love the INN and any room is great but splurge for Deluxe Room or even a suite if there in winte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A return visit to Colonial Williamsburgh is always a special trip back in time, but in January it had special warmth. Our room at the Inn was large, lovely and gracious with a desk thoughtfully provided in a seperate area, overlooking the terrace with a huge, luxurious marble bath with all amenities.

although this the main dining room was closed to our chagrin, we enjoyed the intimate Terrace Dining room with outstanding service and food. The service and amenties were top notch...a return visit is definitely planned.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed many times over the years and was never disappointed. Once or twice, because of short notice, we stayed at Providence Hall, where the rooms are large & recently updated and quiet but not our favorite, although less expensive. We have always been delighted with every room we have stayed in all done in the southern style, appropiate for the area. The staff is more than excellent, always just perfect. Both restaurants & bar are wonderful. I wish i would never have to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My 2 grandaughts and I stayed here Dec 26-28 before traveling to New York. It was truly a wonderful experience. The colonial house was centrally located so we could walk to almost everything.
Due to inclimate weather when we arrived we had to reschedule our carriage tour which we had the
following day. The colonial cottage had 2 double beds and a fireplace. The girs thoroughly enjoyed their stay there and the staff at the Williamsburg Inn was top notch, making it quite a holiday get away. I will be returning when the weather warms up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spending time at the Williamsburg Inn at Christmastime is one of the great joys of my life. Everyone there, from bellmen to wait staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. I think my favorite room is the East Parlor, where there is always a fire laid and waiting. I like to work in there during the day and I usually have it all to myself.
Even if you can't quite justify the room rates, you owe it to yourself to have a meal there-even if it's just breakfast. You'll feel like you belong there-that's how nice everyone is.

Room Tip: They're all quite lovely and the people who see to your comfort are wonderful, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Address: 136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.