We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a little spit shine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Save Saved
You added Williamsburg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Couples' Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Needed a little spit shine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The service was great, the staff very helpful but the room itself and some of the common areas could have been a bit cleaner and more polished. I am not saying the place was unclean but it could have used a "spit shine". Overall great stay, a good fun place for a long weekend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    38
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
92
124
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed in a junior suite with bedroom view of garden.
Room was nice and spacious. Bathroom was fantastic and amenities lovely.
All staff were friendly and the service was great.
Superb location for exploring the beautiful historic city of Williamsburg.
My only criticism was the bed which was far too soft and concave

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely the best place to stay. Wonderful and gracious staff, beautiful rooms. great food...
when having breakfast ask to sit in Lucy's section.. she is a charm. But then all the staff at WI are incredible. Hey, great rooms, great food, wonderfull, entertaining and educational Williamsburg right outside the door... put it on your list.
PS If you don't enjoy yourself here, then stay home and don't tarvel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A beautiful and well maintained/manicured property, extremely helpful staff, exceptionally clean and comfortable... The Williamsburg Inn is the best this area has to offer by far. Colonial Williamsburg's flagship hotel, it dates back to 1937 and it still reflects life at a more genteel and civilized time. There was a small hiccup at check-in involving the rate I was going to be charged. I was there for Colonial Williamsburg business. My rate was supposed to reflect this. At check-in I was told, by a relatively new, young, front-desk man. He processed my check-in at top rack-rate... which was almost 4 times higher than the rate I had been promised. Upon my protestation his reply was, "Sir, this IS the Inn." A Manager subsequently resolved it... partially. It was fully-resolved in the days that followed... so much so... upon check-out I was surprised to learn that my room charges had not been reduced... they had been covered, comped, cleared in total. I have always maintained, in the world of customer services... when a service provider screws up.... it is an opportunity for them to make it worse OR perform, what i call a "customer-miracle" and win the customer for life. This is not only a first-class, luxury property... It is a SMARTLY managed property. (Um... the young fellow who checked me in needs a little guidance.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 5 nights. It was pricey, but we got tickets to CWF buildings. We also got a gift card $100 to spend at the CWF stores; of course we spent a lot more! Breakfast at the main building was very good. The grits are course ground and spectacular. I asked our server to get me the name of the supplier. He did - we ordered a 5 lb. bag to use at home and have gone thru at least 1/2 since early October.

The spa was nice, I purchased a facial and the the young lady who gave me the facial was very good; however, she picked out several products she felt I would like. I choked when I saw the prices! Then again, this is the Williamsburg Inn!!!

The Doormen at the main building are absolutely delightful. I had a good time coming/going with them opening both doors for me :) They were gracious and charming.

We have been visiting Williamsburg for many years. They tore down our favorite wing in the Lodge, and it has gotten very 'corporate', but it is still a wonderful place to visit. We will continue coming to Williamsburg and will request Providence Hall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pond at Providence Hall. This is a short walk from the main Inn buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Williamsburg Inn is a traditional, beautiful hotel adjacent to the colonial area in Williamsburg, Virginia. Its strengths are the stately grounds and buildings as well as the lovely staff. The setting just cannot be beat. The town is a tourist zone but this one is sheltered by its location well set off a lovely street in the downtown.

Our rooms in Providence Hall were large and very comfortable with a pull out sofa bed and plenty of room to spread out.

My only complaint or suggestion would be to have a traditional tea or cocktail hour for a reasonable price or even free as something needs to be distinguish classic hotels from the encroaching chains which have really narrowed the service and amenity gaps over the last two or three decades.

Room Tip: Providence Hall for room size. The main building for traditional decor and if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here with a group of 12 friends. Location is wonderful as all the historical sites as well as the restaurants and shopping are within easy walking distance. The rooms are filled with antiques and quite large as is the bar/lobby area. Service in the bar area was quick and there is space for a large group which is not always true. Caution would be not to dine here as service was not what you would expect at dinner or breakfast and the food is not exceptional either.Another odd note was that we ordered wine in the bar but could not get the same wine with our dinner- odd.

Room Tip: Book ahead as they are always busy during season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Address: 136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.