We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Respite - Providence Hall houses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Inn to your Saves list
Williamsburg Inn
136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Getaway Package.
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Beltsville, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Quiet Respite - Providence Hall houses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 5 nights. It was pricey, but we got tickets to CWF buildings. We also got a gift card $100 to spend at the CWF stores; of course we spent a lot more! Breakfast at the main building was very good. The grits are course ground and spectacular. I asked our server to get me the name of the supplier. He did - we ordered a 5 lb. bag to use at home and have gone thru at least 1/2 since early October.

The spa was nice, I purchased a facial and the the young lady who gave me the facial was very good; however, she picked out several products she felt I would like. I choked when I saw the prices! Then again, this is the Williamsburg Inn!!!

The Doormen at the main building are absolutely delightful. I had a good time coming/going with them opening both doors for me :) They were gracious and charming.

We have been visiting Williamsburg for many years. They tore down our favorite wing in the Lodge, and it has gotten very 'corporate', but it is still a wonderful place to visit. We will continue coming to Williamsburg and will request Providence Hall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pond at Providence Hall. This is a short walk from the main Inn buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    41
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
97
138
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Williamsburg Inn is a traditional, beautiful hotel adjacent to the colonial area in Williamsburg, Virginia. Its strengths are the stately grounds and buildings as well as the lovely staff. The setting just cannot be beat. The town is a tourist zone but this one is sheltered by its location well set off a lovely street in the downtown.

Our rooms in Providence Hall were large and very comfortable with a pull out sofa bed and plenty of room to spread out.

My only complaint or suggestion would be to have a traditional tea or cocktail hour for a reasonable price or even free as something needs to be distinguish classic hotels from the encroaching chains which have really narrowed the service and amenity gaps over the last two or three decades.

Room Tip: Providence Hall for room size. The main building for traditional decor and if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here with a group of 12 friends. Location is wonderful as all the historical sites as well as the restaurants and shopping are within easy walking distance. The rooms are filled with antiques and quite large as is the bar/lobby area. Service in the bar area was quick and there is space for a large group which is not always true. Caution would be not to dine here as service was not what you would expect at dinner or breakfast and the food is not exceptional either.Another odd note was that we ordered wine in the bar but could not get the same wine with our dinner- odd.

Room Tip: Book ahead as they are always busy during season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in one of the colonial houses on the main street and it was just fantastic. We went 4th of July week so the weather was unbelievably hot and staying right on main street made it so easy to get to our room and hide from the heat for a little while. The room itself was filled with antiques and really made you feel like you were in colonial times. It is true what others are saying about the bathroom etc being old and outdated but that's what this is all about - making you feel like you are in colonial times. I really thought it was very quaint. Everything worked fine and the beds were very comfortable. In addition the staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. This was our first visit here and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you're staying in one of the colonial houses of Colonial Williamsburg, because you're smart and want the most of your experience there, you'll be checking in at the Williamsburg Inn and they'll shuttle you to your house. I stayed in the Masonic Kitchen colonial house that was literally right across the street from the Inn, so I could easily walk there.

I also booked the Autumn Stories package which included daily breakfast at the Williamsburg Inn (I didn't have far to walk each day. I'm also glad breakfast was included , otherwise it would have figured to be $50 per person), tickets to all historic buildings and exhibits for the length of my stay, FREE tavern Ghost walk and a $100 activites card!

The staff at the Inn were very friendly and helpful. I stayed in October, so there were no swarms of tourists to annoy them.....or me. As a hotel guest, which you're considered to be when staying in a colonial house, you get the advantage of booking all your carriage rides, tavern resevations and evening programs at the hotel concierge, which saves SO much time and leg work. They'll even print out all your tickets for you right there. It was such a joy. You ger priority over anyone not staying on property.

The Williamsburg Inn also offers a very nice afernoon tea. They "say" no jeans or sneakers, coat & tie for men, BUT there was a bridal shower who walked in while I was there on 10/13/2012 who were dressed in jeans, shorts and looked like a frumpy casual group on their way to the mall. I packed an entire outfit, brought it across country even with high baggage fees just for their afternoon tea. I as more than a little put out after seeing that they let the bridal shower in when they CLEARLY looked like hell & didn't adhere to the dress code. Had I known, I would've used my baggage space for other things.
They offered a nice selection of different teas, mostly from Harney & Sons. There menu featured too many sweets and not enough savories. The lemon curd for the scones was excellent.

Room Tip: Travel in October when there are no heards of tourists, which allows you to see & do more, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

try going to williamsburg in september-the weathers great and the place is empty-the Inn itself couldnt be better-spacious suite-really great staff there for everything you need-impeccably maintained-wonderful room service-and a great formal restaurant-i would imagine that in peak season the service wouldn't be as attentive simply because of more guests but when we were ther the experience was the bes kudos to the Williamsburg Inn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in one of the colonial houses on Francis St. last July. Found out that Margaret Thatcher had stayed in the same house years earlier. Loved the antiques and the old fashioned fell to the place but would have liked a few more electrical outlets for our modern appliances. Air conditioning worked well, especially important during the heat wave we experienced while there. Loved the convenience of walking across the street and being right in the middle of the historic area. Never used the pool, it just seemed too far to walk -- we were two blocks away from the main building. Didn't eat at the Inn, but we had breakfast across the street at the Williamsburg Lodge several times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Address: 136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.