We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will recommend, warm, and inviting very relaxed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Magnolia Manor to your Saves list
Magnolia Manor
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   700 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
1 review
“Will recommend, warm, and inviting very relaxed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here for Valentines/anniversary in the Honeymoon Retreat suite for only 1 night unfortunately,wouldve stayed longer. First B&B experience and it was great. Innkeeper very nice, knowledgable about the area, made us feel very comfortable. Met the other couple there over breakfast, it was a nice mix to the ordinary continental breakfast at a hotel. They were good table company and innkeeper joined us to conversate before we all began our day. The only bad was that the house is starting to show some wear in small areas but overall its in great shape and some of the cosmetics add to the aptmosphere. Personally I love older homes. We plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in the Colonial Getaway room as a pre-Valentine's vacation. We were a little late arriving, but received a warm greeting from Scott. He was super friendly as he showed us around the beautiful home. They have so many neat treasures like an old cash register & leather-bound Edgar Allan Poe book.

The room was BEAUTIFUL!! I have never seen a prettier bed (or more comfortable bed). The gift basket was lovely, including the sparkling cider. It ended up pouring down snow that evening, so we stayed inside & watched DVDs that were available for us for borrow.

Breakfast was good, but would've been nice to have some sausage, bacon (or some kind of meat). But everybody was so nice!!

We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Colonial Getaway is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were pleased that the Owner named Scott allowed us into our room prior to 4:00 pm check-in. As a couple we both felt the Owner seemed a bit rushed. We felt a little uncomfortable because we thought the owners behavior might have been because we arrived earlier than expected. We chose the second floor room with a lovely fireplace. We enjoyed the garden tub, the jets worked well, and the tub was modest and roomie enough for two. We enjoyed our evening up until 8:00 PM when we realized we had made a mistake to pick the second floor! The ceiling in the living room area was poorly patched from an apparent plumbing issue. We both felt a little unsafe once we noticed how loud the water sounded draining from the incrediablly NOISEY garden tub above! I had never heard walls vibrate so loudly before. The worst part was that our loud neighbors above kept dropping things which made my wife jump out of her skin! My wife and I barely got a wink of sleep the entire night because the guest above us thought they'd make a marothon of pacing back and forth from room to room. If you plan to stay at Magnolia Manor make sure to pick the third floor, else your visit will be as stale as the breakfast that is served on warmers the next morning. Do not pick the second floor if you DO NOT like to hear road noise as well. At breakfast Scott once again spoke nearly a hundred miles a minute. He asked was if we had any questions about the Williamsburg area. One other couple sat at the empty table with us and you could cut the silence with a knife after Scott's brief chit chat, following a quick exit. I am being polite not to add a few choice words for Scott when I say that the only thing he said to us upon leaving was, "are you leaving now?" and "maybe the next time, we could stay a bit longer." I could be wrong but I don't remember if he asked us if we had enjoyed our stay! I give Magnolia Manor an average rating because with a dedicated owner, as well as a fresh coat of paint and repair work, this Bed and Breakfast would be better than average.

Room Tip: Select the third floor. The second floor is loud when people walk or run the tub. Outside road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was a wonderful bed and breakfast that I will definitely visit again! Both Scott and Jennifer were very friendly and helpful host and hostess. The manor was spotless, well maintained and the location made it very easy to get anywhere of interest within a few minutes drive.
Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

A wonderful place for calmness, quietness, comfortable surroundings, and excellent breakfasts. Scott and Jennifer, the inn keepers, are very personable, but won't interfere with your privacy. They and their 3 children (who we never saw or heard) live in one part of the manor and the guests stay in the other part of the manor. You will only see Scott and Jennifer when you check in and at breakfast, but they are always accessable, if you need them.

For our anniversary, Scott recommended Opus 9 for dinner and made the reservations for us. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were greeted by our first names and a Happy Anniversary card and complimentary bottle of champagne were on our table. We had the broiled crabcakes and Chocolate Concerto Plus for dessert. Everything was magnificent - food, service, music, personnel...

A most enjoyable weekend and we plan to return to Magnolia Manor and Opus 9.

Room Tip: Gardenia Suite was very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

If you're looking for a good, solid, lovely B&B that meets all your needs with owners happy to work hard to make you happy, this is it. If you want a 5 star hotel, there is one in Williamsburg but you'll pay 3X the price for it at least. This B&B is good value. It's lovely and the rooms are big. It was the perfect place for my solo retreat but has also been a good place for a romantic getaway with my husband. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Magnolia room is 2 rooms (suite) with a fireplace and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights over New Years weekend and had a thoroughly lovely experience. Our room -- The Honeymoon Retreat -- was cozy and comfortable. We did run the AC at night only because it was freakishly warm weather for winter (72 degrees on New Years Day!), but it worked well and wasn't overtly loud.

The beautiful four poster, king canopy bed was incredibly comfortable and we both agreed it was the best sleep we've gotten at a B&B. The deep, relaxing whirlpool tub was a favorite amenity as was the extremely large and multi-headed shower. The toilet flushed a little slowly, but was nothing that was going to affect our good time. Breakfast was delicious and on time each morning with tea, coffee, cake and/or cookies available throughout the day in the parlor.

Our hosts were present upon arrival and at breakfast, but were not smothering or omnipresent, which we enjoyed. We knew where to find them if we needed them, but we appreciated feeling as if we could come and go without being constantly monitored. We could easily walk to Colonial Williamsburg and even after check-out, our hosts allowed us to stay parked in their parking area whilst we toured it before hitting the road for home.

For the comfort, quality and price, you can't do much better in a popular place like Williamsburg!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Manor

Address: 700 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Magnolia Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.