We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected, a great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free $100 Gift Card
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Turlock, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Much better than expected, a great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

After reading reviews from other travelers, I had low expectations but booked anyway because of the convenience to Colonial Williamsburg. Our one bedroom suite, while far from the lobby, was roomy, tastefully decorated and clean. The mattress was firm--I really appreciated that. I did not see any of the maintenance issues cited by other travelers--I thought this place was very nice. The continental breakfast had many choices, including some cold protein items (yogurt & hard boiled eggs). Our room was very quiet and the exterior areas nicely landscaped. The location is next to the visitors center where you can pick up a free shuttle to Colonial Williamsburg. We were thrilled to learn that with our hotel stay we got free passes for all three of us to Williamsburg for our entire visit--this was a huge plus as a 1 day ticket cost $34 each for adults. I think this was a special during March however. We got a very good off-season price making this hotel a superior value for what we paid. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, even if paying quite a bit more during the busy season.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    292
    90
    25
    9
See reviews for
338
142
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Woodlands Hotel and Suites from March 22-25. The rate of $65 a night with length of stay passes for everryone in the room was too good to pass up. We had a room with 2 double beds on the third floor. The hotel was quite full while we were there but there was plenty of parking and we always found a place to sit for breakfast.. Most mornings we sat in front of the roaring fire in the 3 sided fireplace. It was much appreciated on cold mornings. While breakfast a Huzzah's was advertised on posters in the lobby, it didn't appear to be open for breakfast while we were there.

Check in was quick and courteous as was check out. The one small issue we had was that housekeeping didn't leave coffee of cups one day. We just called the front desk and some was sent up to us. The room was a a basic double room decorated nicely and very clean. Aside form the 2 double beds, there was also an easy chair that converts to a twin size bed.

On noise, our 3rd floor room faced the entrance and we didn't hear the trains at all while in the room. We did hear the train once while standing outside the lobby. We also noticed that we could hear our next door neighbors as the entered their room while we were in the bathroom area. I didn't notice it from the bedroom area.

The wireless Internet service worked well. They also have wired, if needed.

We only used the bus on our last day as it was raining. The other days we took the walking path which runs through Great Hopes Plantation.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend Wooflands to anyone wanting the perks of staying on Colonial Williamsburg property while staying within a certain budget.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

I love to visit Williamsburg and after our first visit there in 2001 we decided to return and bring family members with us. I like this hotel because of its location. You are within walking distance of the main entrance and the shuttle buses to take you in. The first time we stayed here was on the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed because the Hotel was fairly new. We had a standard room then, but opted for a suite this time. Personally, we should have stuck with the standard room as we really didn't need the extra room but thought we would splurge a little.

The Continental breakfast site had changed since we were there last. It use to be in a seperate building in the back of the hotel that had buffet style servings of wonderful HOT food, but was then moved to a room in the hotel inself. Wrong move on their part. Crowded and not condusive to stimulating your appeitite...the normal run of the mill breakfast foods. I think I would have ski pped this all together and look elsewhere to eat.

The reason we stay here is the location, nothing else. A room is a room and when on a vacation like this not much time is spent there except to come back at night, sleep and get up and go the next day. Never used their pool either, both times.

Love Willimasburg, so if we can find another with as great a
location as this one, we may change hotel sites to stay at when we go back in a few years.

One thing I can say, and it really has nothing to do with the hotel, is that with our package the person who checked us in made a mistake and only checked one couple in with the 3 site triangle package. This we were unaware of until we tried to enter the Jamestown site and were told that one couple would have to pay...when it was already paid for! Instead of checking with our hotel the clerk insisted that we would have to pay and made me very upset as I was the one who had scheduled everything ahead of time and paid for it all. So make sure that your badges have the correct info on them before you enter the settlement.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the "free" continental breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Our family traveled to Colonial Williamsburg as part of a special the Foundation was running at the time which included lodging, passes to the historic area, discounts on other tours, and other benefits. We frequently visit Williamsburg driving from the Philadelphia area and have stayed at this hotel when it first opened a few years ago. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the staff courteous as always (which we have come to expect of Colonial Williamsburg), and the continental breakfast very filling. The convenience factor to Colonial Williamsburg's Visitor Center and to their transportation system is great; we rarelly used our car during our four day stay. One observation was that it was obvious the staff were preparing the hotel for the upcoming season including items like the replacement of hallway lights (many were out or flickering), repainting of various areas, and work on the grounds. We know that part of the fees from the hotel are used for Colonial Williamsburg's mission so it pleased us to again stay in one of their facilities. We would strongly recommend it especially if one of the frequent specials are being offered.

  • Liked — Convenience to Colonial Williamsburg's attractions.
  • Disliked — Needed repairs to prepare the hotel for the summer season.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

As a business traveler, I've stayed in numerous hotels. I've also been stuck working in my room on countless occassions. I've never starved, but thanks to the Woodlands, I've now come pretty close.

I don't know about you, but for $150 per night, I expect some basic amenities. Food is one. At the Woodlands, there is no room service because there is no food service. Unless you count the breakfast nook. If it's lunch or dinner or even a snack, you're out of luck.

But that's ok, because you can always go to the gift store or the vending machine, right? Wrong again. The Woodlands doesn't have a gift shop with food, nor does it even have a gift shop. And the vending machines are barren, offering a selection of about five items.

OK, so you don't care about the lack of food. What about a lack of atmosphere? This property is advertised as a contemporary motor inn. Sure, it was contemporary -- back in the 70s. Ever been to a YMCA? The front desk and lobby at the Woodlands has the that same YMCA feel.

The rooms are ok, but not worth $150 a night. The couch was nice, but now it is worn and dirty. The wallpaper is pretty new, but the green vertical lines will give you a nice headache. The carpet seems new, but had numerous stains. The furniture looks nice, but the scratches suggest second-hand store. The batroom is decent, expect that half the time the lights only turned on dim, not fully.

Anyway, there you have it. Not much bang for your buck, especially if you have a tendency to eat. A functional place but you can definitely do better for a lot cheaper.

  • Liked — Checkout
  • Disliked — Starving
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

The Woodlands is a great value--a price that won't break the bank and a property with some class. All of Colonial Williamsburg is an easy walk, sometimes there are special rates associated with hotel stays for passes into the historic buildings, and there is always free hot chocolate for guests in the breakfast room. Plusses for us also include the property's convenience to the Williamsburg Visitor's Center bookstore and its "off-the-beaten lobby path" business center computers. We've stayed here several times since our initial stay in Feb. '07.

  • Liked — proximity to Colonial Williamsburg
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

If convenient access to Colonial Williamsburg, at a reasonable price, is your top priority, you will like this hotel. The suites and amenities are all adequate. If you keep your expectations low, you won't be disappointed. The line for breakfast is shorter at Huzzah's than in the main breakfast area. Rooms were clean enough, though certainly not spotless. Every employee I encountered was polite and helpful.

  • Liked — Convenient Access to CW Shuttle
  • Disliked — Breakfast buffet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.