We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Close to sights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids are FREE!
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Close to sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great time staying at the Woodlands for the Fourth of July. We arrived on the 4th and were early but they allowed us to check in early after only a short wait for the room. In between we went to lunch in Williamsburg. The room was roomy for the two of us. The breakfast was ok, but I will not complain because it was included in our price and it filled us up enough to last until lunch every day. The hotel is right next to the visitors center and the connected bridge to walk over to Colonial Willamsburg. There are also free shuttles to different points around the town. Woodlands is also about a 15 minute trip to Yorktown and shorter to Jamestown. For the fireworks people started camping out in CW hours before, so we watched them from the parking lot at Woodlands and we had a great view. I would stay here again.

Tips- Walk around Colonial Williamsburg before you buy tickets.
Make sure you go to at least one of the Taverns
If you go on the 4th- a great spot to watch the fireworks is right in front of the Woodland hotel in the front parking lot. They have it blocked off so only hotel guest can do so.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    341
    101
    29
    10
See reviews for
396
177
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just got home after staying 3 nights and I wanted to share my thoughts on the Woodlands Hotel & Suites. We had an awesome time. Everyone there was so friendly and accommodating. It was so nice and secluded and just all around beautiful. We played free mini golf our first night there and my wife was like don't we have to pay and I said nope and then the next day we swam in the pool and they also have a little water fun area for the kids too. Another great thing was the free continental breakfast only a short walk to the convention center which I thought seemed more like a buffet and was very good. The staff constantly made sure the food was fresh and plenty full and eating breakfast there saved us allot of money on breakfast. We stayed in a 2 double bed room and the room was nice and clean and the made service was spot on and they did it the same time each day so we knew when our room would be ready. Our room was room 5351 and our view was the parking lot but didn't really care cause there were trees in front of us and almost everyday there were robins and cardinals in the trees that were cool to see when we looked out the window. The room was also quiet. Its funny a person in the room next to us was playing an instrument and we thought that when we got in our room we would have heard it and we didn't.. So very quiet rooms.. So in a nutshell we loved it... Now the only thing that I had issues with and I would suggest fixing was the wireless internet. It would go in and out which I believe the router may not have been strong enough to cover the room. Even with the internet issue we have no issues with going back and plan on doing so either this fall or early next year... If your trying to decide on a great place to stay you will love this hotel.. One more thing.. Very easy to get to Busch Gardens and the water park. I think it took us about 15 minutes so very close. We didn't get to tour Williamsburg but plan on doing that the next time we are there.. We also ate at Huzzah restaurant which is just a a quick 2 minute walk from the hotel if that and the food and the service were amazing...Thanks again Williamsburg Woodlands for a great time... My wife and daughter and I love it there and we plan on coming back to see you all there soon... Thank You Vince

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlands76, General Manager at Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Vince M.

Thank you for your review and for staying at The Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites. I am pleased your family enjoyed our new Splash Fun Zone at our pool, our complimentary miniature golf and our complimentary deluxe breakfast.

We will look at the wireless signal issue you experienced, but hope you will return in the near future and visit and partake in programming in Colonial Williamsburg’s Revolutionary City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very nice hotel. 3rd time we stayed here. Perfect for touring Colonial Williamsburg. Staff was nice and helpful. The have added a breakfast since we came last and it is great. The only problem we had was the WIFI doesn't work. It connected but the signal was so poor we couldn't get it to work. But we were on vacation and maybe that was better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back part of the hotel, WIFI might be better in the front is that is a priority
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for a long (4 day) weekend. Room was extremely clean, comfortable and odor-free. Bathroom spic-and-span with sink outside toilet/shower area so one can get ready while other showers or p--ps. Beds are very comfortable, pillows in good shape, and sheets not top-notch but not cheapy either. The free WiFi has excellent reception throughout the sprawling building. Staff is very friendly especially the crew that run the kid programs in the lobby and at the pool. Our children loved the pool and the new splash area which were both very close to our room. There's inexpensive, clean laundry ($2 wash, $2 dry, $1 detergent) so we were able to wear our favorite clothes many times. AC unit was very quiet and no mildewy smell as is often found in summer.

The Huzzah restaurant nearby is like a notch up from a good Applebee's but with fresh food and a wide varied menu. We ate there a few times, and while waiting for food, there were games and toys outside for the kids to play with.

Unfortunately the free buffet breakfast is being run at the nearby conference center (I gather since the onsite dining area off the lobby is not large enough for summer crowd, so its a two minute walk outside). The food is that basic food-service quality stuff (e.g. you're making your own waffles, no-name brand tea, coffee, etc. that you'd expect in a Best Western) that is fine for kids but anyone with discerning tastes may be disappointed. Given its free, you might be OK, but there are no other breakfast options unless you want to drive about 20 minutes to nearby strip restaurants, which defeats the purpose of staying on-site so you can chow down at the hotel then wander over to the main Visitor's center. They need to figure this out as I think with this resolved, they have a top-notch property in every other regard. I would definitely stay here again if or when we are to return to Colonial Williamsburg.

Room Tip: all seem good -- as is typical, there are rooms near primary traffic areas, ice machines and elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel is located on property. The free breakfast was cold, the sheets were dirty and the dinner at huzzah was hit and miss. Management responded quickly to all concerns, we would go back but have no real expectations.

Room Tip: Try to be placed by the pool if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here multiple times. They have a section called Cascades. It is an older 50s style motel that is part of Woodlands. It is clean and very neat and comfortable. There is plenty of towels. The location is great. It is much cheaper then the main Woodlands next door. You get free breakfast and all the pools access and new splash park. You are right at the visitors center. It is old but we'll worth it. Most important it is dog friendly. The Cascades section is not on the map so you need to ask for it. If you have a pet then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 days, it was very clean, staff was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast was good! The hotel had a very nice pool, the location was great also if you were planning on going to see colonial Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance, however there is a shuttle bus that takes you around which is also nice when its really hot outside! I would definately recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.