We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable & clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Family Package
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable & clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent one night at this property, unfortunately it was raining so we didn't get to explore the extensive grounds. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful, although it took a surprisingly long time to check in and out. The room itself was comfortable, bed was great. My only complaint is the dizzying wall paper. I don't get it, too much. The colonial wallpaper in the bedroom was nice but the stripes everywhere else made me really sick. We had a family gathering in the suite of one room and I couldn't look at people while they were talking, with the background of stripes making me dizzy, seriously weird. The breakfast was okay, standard fare and quality for a free offering. I was happy they had plain yogurt, much appreciated as it's hard to find low sugar options at the free breakfasts. All in all a good stay and I would return if back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    306
    91
    25
    10
See reviews for
350
155
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our suite was super clean, the staff could not have been more friendly and the hotel is so close to Colonial Williamsburg you can walk. You are steps from the Visitor Center so if you do not want to walk you can easily catch the shuttle that leaves every ten minutes. The grounds are beautiful and it was a pleasure to stay here!
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Everyone fears leaving their computer in a hotel room. Well it happened to me and i didn't notice until i went through security at Newport News Airport. I called the hotel, got through to housekeeping and had the fortunate luck to get Virginia Walker on the case for me. She found my computer in my room, boxed it up, put it in a cab and had it delivered to me at the airport --- all in time to make my plane. I cannot believe her effort and kindness. Truly an Extraordinary experience!!! Thanks Virigina!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton, ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our first visit in many years to Williamsburg and we decided to take advantage of the package that was offered that included the room and tickets to the Revolutionary City at a reduced price. It was the best decision we made. The front desk at check-in and during our stay was outstanding. They answered every question and gave us helpful advice. The room was the standard 2 beds and there was plenty of room for the 3 of us. The room was clean and well maintained, as was the entire building. Housekeeping was very nice and respectful. Colonial Williamsburg is about a 10 or 15 minute walk from the hotel, about a mile, or you could take the shuttle. We did the walk and although it was very hot, it was not an issue. If you have some children or are an older adult with any physical issues, I recommend the shuttle from the visitors center. On site there was a free putt-putt golf course, playground, tennis courts and walking areas. My final comments is in regards to the free breakfast. The quality of the food was fine, what you would expect for free and the staff worked very hard. But the issue was that there were several school groups staying there and they basically took over the entire breakfast area and lobby. If you were not part of one of the groups, good luck during the prime breakfast time. There were some food shortages and one of the kids broke the waffle maker. Maybe some more supervision by the adults with them was in order. I would have recommended that the hotel have a separate area for the school groups to eat so as not to cause issues for the other guests. Other than that, I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor facing the courtyard area and it was fine. Very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My family had a great spring break at the Woodlands. We stayed April 19-24, 2014. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area's attractions and programs. We had a standard room and it was plenty big for 2 adults and 3 kids aged 9, 8 and 2. It was very cozy and nicely decorated. The kids loved the heated pool, miniature golf and playscape. We were there for Easter and the hotel held an Easter egg hunt complete with revolutionary fife and drum band and the best Easter Bunny I've ever seen. The daily breakfast buffet was incredible. Even our picky eaters had numerous choices. The hotel is conveniently located right next to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor's Center where you pick up the shuttle and purchase tickets. The hotel is also right next to Huzzah, a reasonably priced family restaurant. We ate two dinners there, delicious pizza. When we return to Williamsburg, we will definitely stay at Woodlands again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We found the Woodlands to be a really good location for families with kids. I highly recommend a suite to give you a bit more room and separate the kids from the adults a bit when you need a little space. Our room on the third floor facing the courtyard was pretty and quiet which was much appreciated after traipsing around Colonial Williamsburg all day.
The staff was very nice and helpful, except for one man who was extremely rude and, when I called the front desk as there was no bedding for the fold out couch where the kids were sleeping, unapologetically told me the hotel had no blankets or pillows. I kid you not. The refrigerator also froze all of our provisions and caused a bottle of Williamsburg root beer to explode, which I could have done without. The suite appeared very clean, however, and the kids enjoyed the pool. Breakfast was crowded and pretty wild, but it had something for everyone, was free and much appreciated -- as were the umbrellas the front desk had on hand to borrow on a rainy night.
Very nice but with a couple glitches that made me deduct from what would have been a four-star rating.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you're traveling with kids so you have a little room to move. Third floor was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Woodlands this past weekend as part of a family wedding. Our King Suite was just perfect although the pull out sofa bed needed a better matress. Very good and knowledge staff and included breakfast. Williamsburg Visitors center and free bus was right next store so you would not have to drive to Old Williamsburg. Better then that you could also take a short walk to also get there as we did.

Room Tip: If you were planning on using the pull out sofa for children I would suggest that you get a Double D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.