We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Woodlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Family Package
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love The Woodlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just came back from Colonial Williamsburg. This was our 2nd trip to Colonial Williamsburg this year, but the first time we stayed at one of their hotels, The Woodlands Hotel & Suites. Rooms were perfect for our family, comfortable, microwaves/refrigerators, everything was clean and our kid’s had a separate connecting room. We went on a Tavern ghost walk, had dinner at Shield’s Tavern, which had great food, with Colonial musicians and great atmosphere. We want to come back in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    306
    91
    25
    10
See reviews for
350
155
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a wonderful and fun stay at The Woodlands Hotel & Suites with my family and parents. The kid’s had their own connecting room and my parents had a suite, the rooms were inexpensive, clean, and it includes a full buffet breakfast. Staff were friendly and the front desk staff recommended great sites in The Historic Area that everyone enjoyed. My children watched the movie The Story of a Patriot in the guestroom and were entertained with a history lesson. We went to Huzzah one night for dinner and King’s Arms Tavern another, the food and service and both restaurant was superb.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

As a parent on a recent overnight school field trip at this hotel, I want to alert potential consumers to ask to inspect your room before you occupy. I'd check the wooden headboards (they slide up and out) and look for any signs of bed bugs - usually small black dots of feces on the wood or mattress, eggs look like small - clear/whitish tic-tacs -- - without dark and humans the bugs will likely stay hidden. Also look at and under the cushions on the easy chairs to see if they are clean.

We experienced a bed bug issue in one of our 10+ rooms we discovered when packing up to check out - one adult bug on pillow with blood and one adult crawling under the covers of the same bed. Staff was superb and quick in helping us clean clothes (they provided the quarters, etc..)and bag up suitcases to quarantine - all very quickly/without any frustration. They sent up staff immediately to check all the rooms when we called. They ended up finding 4 adult bed bugs in that room and we found the back of the head board had signs of bugs. However, all the students' suitcases were stored unopened in this room for 8 hours when we first checked in. The hotel's independent, I believe, exterminator company this week concluded in fact that there weren't any signs of bedbugs in that room (no eggs, other signs or additional bugs I assume) and decided the 4 bugs must have come in on one of the students' suitcases. We have mentioned the condition of the head board and are waiting to hear back. They still compd us for the room in question which was appreciated.

Note, 3 other rooms had stink bugs which we also reported - and the parents who stayed behind to bag everything found the rooms on close inspection (hand and knees) dirtier than anyone would like (hair balls and dirt in carpet and food crumbs and stains on the overstuffed chair) - and we thought we saw other bed bug signs such as exoskeletons from when they molt in between mattresses that we inspected on our own - but we aren't experts and clearly we were on edge - "what's this?!" I guess I'm simply feeling unconvinced that the hotel is "clean" and we brought in the problem.

My advice on this property is be cautious and politely ask to see the rooms before checking in. Clearly the bugs are becoming more pesticide resistant and this staff is certainly trying their best. Still we were very inconvenienced and all had to follow disinfecting steps at home for all the kids.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlands76, General Manager at Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you and your school group experienced during your recent stay at The Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites. I have tried to contact you and hope we can speak in person to resolve any concerns you have. I am pleased that our team was helpful after the incident occurred and actions were immediately taken to isolate the situation and provide all of your guests necessary supplies and services. Our hotel has a very strict pest control policy and I am glad it was followed, but again I am truly sorry that you endured these inconveniences. As you mention our pest control provider was immediately called and treated the room in question and inspected the surrounding rooms. They found no other bug activity and concluded that the bugs could very well have been brought in with luggage stored by the school group. In addition we called the local Health Department, they visited the hotel and verified the pest control provider’s findings and concluded that there are no bug issues at the hotel.

While it is impossible to know where the bugs originated, please know we take these types of complaints very seriously. I apologize that other housekeeping issues were noted with some other rooms with your group. Our housekeeping team general cleaned and carpet shampooed all guest rooms in January, but I have instructed our Executive Housekeeper to re-inspect all rooms from your group so corrections can be made. We want all of our guests to know that The Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites has rigorous standards to ensure that all guests can relax in a clean, comfortable, and inviting environment .

Sincerely,

Ted Horan
General Manager Woodlands Hotel & Suites
ehoran@cwf.org
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Except for the lack of cellphone service, this place has it all. It's not a super luxury hotel, but in its class, it has everything you need. Clean rooms, well equipped bathrooms, easy free wireless, great friendly helpful service, including ticket access and support right at the front desk. The big buffet breakfast (included) is excellent and has a great assortment to satisfy the whole family. If you come without a car, the nice driver will pick you up and drop you off. Or, you can pick up the van at the visitor center just down the block. We came with our grandchild and we all agreed, this was terrific.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed at the Woodlands Hotel & Suites-Colonial Williamsburg during Grand Illuminations and found it to be homey and convenient. The staff was super helpful to a senior woman travelling alone. I was picked up at the Amtrak station upon my arrival and returned there at the end of my stay. The hotel is smack next to the Visitors center which put me right at the shuttle pick-up spot. The room was spotless, spacious and quiet. The complimentary breakfast was, sadly, the only negative thing about my stay...the food was fine but the dining room is too small for all the guests at the hotel which made finding a table difficult and the noise level was way high. But that's trivial when compared to the many positive experiences that the Woodlands affords.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were in Williamsburg to attend the state finals of We The People, where our daughter was competing. We stayed the night at the Woodlands Hotel, and were impressed by the courteous and professional front desk staff. The check-in was painless and prompt. Whenever my check-in agent would have a procedural question, a supervisor would immediately lend a hand. The room was spacious and bright, and we looked out to a serene view of the inner gardens. I could tell this was a special place indeed. Parking was a breeze, and right next to the hotel block. Room service was unobtrusive, and a request for late checkout immediately granted. Breakfast was delicious and ample, with waffles and fresh juices included. When we were checking out, Ms Hunter at the front desk went well above and beyond to make sure our AAA discount was applied.

The only complaint would be about the beds. The old springs creak and poke all night, but it's nothing that can't be overcome with a mattress topper. Other than that, it was a very pleasurable stay in the off season. We will certainly stay a bit longer next time.

Room Tip: I recommend the third floor rooms looking out to the beautifully manicured gardens. Don't forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We met at the hotel for a family get together. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel abuts the Colonial Williamsburg visitor center for easy access. The hotel offers a comprehensive continental breakfast each day which was good overall and a staff that stayed on top of the dining area. We opted for the larger suite which provided a seating area which was well worth the extra $50 per night. Very roomy accommodation. Room to room we could not hear any noise, only a little hallway traffic from the doors. The restaurant next to the hotel was open 5:00 to 9:30 PM and in our opinion was a hidden gem. Friendly staff, great service, food made fresh everyday. Our only comment is that the cleaning staff for the rooms need to step things up. Our bathroom had urine on the side of out toilet when we arrived and it stayed for the entire stay. My brother had a similar issue in his bathroom. Plus the hallways need to get vacuumed a little better. Just constructive feedback.

Overall a great place to stay as a couple or family. Highly recommend based upon the value for the money. We would have provided 5 stars if the rooms were cleaner.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.