We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free $100 Gift Card
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Defiance, Mo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extremely nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Colonial Williamsburg. This hotel is so convenient with the location next to the visitors center. It is also clean and quiet. The staff were extremely nice and accommodating. We had a suite which was very comfortable. Since it is considered one of the Williamsburg Colonial Hotels the shops delivered our purchases to the hotel so we didn't have to carry packages around all day. Breakfast was included with the room, nice variety every morning. Can't imagine staying anywhere better for the price

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    286
    90
    25
    9
See reviews for
334
135
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

A beautiful setting. We stayed here the last weekend of august 2013. We do live locally.I have decided after 5 years to make a effort to stay at each of of the CW hotels and area motels for FUN. My husband and i are now in the empty nest stage of our life. I love CW area. I am in the historical area a few times a week.Just enjoying all the great history of story of america.This hotel was clean and quiet. GREAT FREE daily breakfast. We stayed in a standard room this trip. Yes the lighing in the room was not really bright.Brand new wonderful flat screen tv's in the room. Matresse where just perfect. I loved the decor of the room.We parked our car a short 2 minutes on foot from where our room was located on the 3 rd floor.Room rates where above 100 a night. Should you have the chance.I sugguest you upgrade to the suite.You have more room. I was surprised they offered on sight launtry mat.Over all..It is a wonderful stay.Staff is very family.....I can not say enough nice things about the woodlands,,They do except CASH on check in unlike some low end motels in the area .I dont like anyone having access to my CC information in these times and days..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have visited Williamsburg many times in 30 years. Have stayed most often at Woodlands and it has changed somewhat since our last stay there. Can’t beat the location but some things fall short. Good outweighs the bad but the lighting in the room was like we were still in the 18th century and the TV left a lot to be desired. But, our biggest problem was the shower water was never consistent. It went from cold to blistering hot every time either of us showered and it occurred all four days we stayed there. Thus, we assume it is a consistent problem. Breakfast was as good as can be expected. The breakfast room is a tight fit because of crowding. Room was quiet on second floor. A good value for a Williamsburg and Colonial Triangle vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A beautiful setting, lots of dedicated and courteous staff, a little bit of everything. How could it miss the mark? This is a large bustling facility that caters to groups and older folks. I'm a Senior myself and can appreciate what they do. Prices would indicate that they are on the "High Average" side of the scale. Room, paid the upgraded price because the first room was unacceptable. Multiple parking areas - allegedly close to your room. We were on the second floor, about a 1/2 mile walk from the car to the elevator and then to my room. If you took the steps, maybe just 300 yards. With bags, and no assistance it was a struggle. Hoards of school children, as well as adults with young children. The free Continental breakfast is a wild free for all with decent food and okay real food, plastic utensils and large community tables.

I was with a group that had meetings in the nearby conference center. People and services were good. Facilities could be updated a bit. Consider your objective in Williamsburg and decide if this fits your need.

Room Tip: Make certain you understand where your room location will be with regard to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Woodlands, we had a great time, Motel was great. better that the reviews. Everyone was very friendly and willing help. Ease of finding room very good, but you better be able to walk. Long Corridors, but that keeps you out of the noise that can be associated with motels. This motel is VERY QUIET. Our Room was great we had a suite on 3rd floor. Everything was new or appeared new, well kept up. Very clean and nicely stocked.
The Breakfast Buffet was very good, if you didn't get filled up you are a picky eater.
We had the Historic Package, we parked our vehicle and rode to the attractions by bus, great way to see everything.
Overall we had a great time and definitely would stay at the Woodlands again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with a friend. Unfortunately we arrived late and hadn't eaten, the only option was a take away....we ended up with just snacks from the car that night

The room was adequate, clean and tidy, no problems. Buffet breakfast, OK.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Excellent location near to the visitor centre and shuttle bus, we had a deal which permitted entrance to the Willamsburg attractions which I really enjoyed and was very good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great deal that included tickets to Colonial williamsburg, free transportation, $100 gift card (can be used on meals) and a decent place to sleep- great bargain- have recommended this to family and friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Motor Inn set amid landscaped grounds, adjacent to the historic area; near Amtrak station; 17 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;