We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & value friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Family Package
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good location & value friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

- nice & comfortable rooms
- staff was very friendly
- limited food choices (only one restaurant around)
- great location & ambiance for family stays

To note:
- advise taking the shuttle from the visitor's center versus doing the full walk-bridge into colonial williamsburg (esp. if you are with kids, and you will walk a LOT once you are in colonial williamsburg)
- there's a free breakfast, but its the standard buffet you get at any hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    306
    91
    25
    10
See reviews for
350
155
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It's not the Lodge and it's certainly not the Williamsburg Inn, but if you're on a budget and want to stay on a Williamsburg property, the Woodlands is the place. The rooms are squeaky clean, if not just a tad tired-looking (peeling wallpaper in our room). The best part of course is the proximity to the historic area. You can hop a shuttle from the Visitors Center (right next door) or its not too far to walk if you're so inclined. The package we got was a great value and included not only the room but breakfast (a great buffet, and way more than the "continental breakfast" they advertise.). To sweeten the deal we were given a travel mug that could be filled for free with soda, coffee, cider or ice cream at a number of places in the restored area. We enjoyed our stay and felt we'd received a great value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I hesitated to try this hotel because of some of the reviews I read here, but I was very impressed. My only regret was that I had not stayed here before. I have stayed at a few hotels on the Bypass which were very good, but you can't beat staying on Williamsburg property. It is right next to the visitor center and the buses. It is large and sprawling, but I found that it was not hard to get oriented. We had a room facing the pool and across from the vending machines,but it was quiet. It was very convenient to the Huzzah restaurant. You received a pass to an evening show and discounted tickets. The staff was very friendly. If you mind lots of kids and families this may not be the right fit for you. The room was clean and comfortable. The pillows were not fantastic,but I always bring my own. The beds are full and on the firmer side. No problems with the wireless. The check in was smooth and the staff was very helpful. I also tried the spa and it was amazing.

Room Tip: My only problem with our room facing the pool on the first floor was that I felt that people were wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is very nice and comfortable. The architecture clashes with the historical aspect of the town but it is really the only affordable choice this close to the town. Breakfast was delicious although had to walk about a block since the dinning room inside was being remodeled. It was cold but the breakfast rooms had huge open windows and felt as if having breakfast in the wilderness. The hotel has laundromat facilities which is very convenient when you have been on the road for a few days. Overall had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western md
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Woodlands Hotel - we had a king suite with separate sitting area, two tvs, fridge, microwave, small Keurig coffee maker and nice bath with ample counter space. It was a great choice - we arrived early, 10am, and were lucky to have our room ready for check-in. Without exception, the staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay; Rose at the front desk was very pleasant, efficient and went out of her way to welcome us and give us lots of information about the hotel and the area. Our room was very clean and spacious, the bed was exceptionally comfortable, and while there was some noise from the hallway we did not hear it in the bedroom and were able to get very good night's sleep. The location is fabulous - we did not use our car once from check-in to check-out. The visitor center is right next door so we were able to catch the shuttle with very little wait time; it's an easy walk to the historic district and we took that stroll several times too. Breakfast is in a different building, not sure why - there's a nice variety of typical breakfast buffet selections, eggs, meats, breads, fresh fruits, cereal and beverages - everything seemed fresh. We had dinner at Huzzah's, reasonably priced and very tasty fish, for me, and pizza, for my husband; Clay took good care of us. Williamsburg is a beautiful area with so much to see, do and learn; we won't hesitate to stay at the Woodlands next time we're there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Colonial Williamsburg is an excellent family vacation destination and I would encourage everyone to make the trip at least once and stay a couple of days to get the most out of it. The Woodlands hotel and Suites however is just and average hotel maybe worse. Service is fine but the rooms are terribly designed and dark. The beds are ok but the linens were dirty. That said, for a family looking to enjoy Colonial Williamsburg and not spend $300 a night this may be your only choice.

Room Tip: the suite sounded good but the sleeper sofa was so uncomfortable we wished we had booked a smaller r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very quiet, clean, friendly staff, loved our suite... Slept like a baby :) our 13 year old did not like the pull ou bed so the next night just slept on the couch... Our king size bed was very comfy...loved the shelves to put some snacks we brought, mini fridge was perfect for some drinks... Hotel was very convenient for shuttles to each activity we did. We played table tennis and mini golf... They were simple but we had a great time! My biggest complaint was breakfast was a bit of a walk..the breakfast itself had great variety make your own waffles, eggs, ham, bacon, muffins, toast, bagels and of course cereal! Overall, I can't really complain about anything!

Room Tip: We asked for a 3rd floor room just in case it was noisy near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.