We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the prefect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Stay & Get Free Tickets
Ranked #12 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great stay at the prefect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Woodlands Hotel and Suites last month while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. We chose this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and I was glad we did.

This hotel is really perfectly located if you plan to visit Colonial Williamsburg. It is located next door to the Visitor Center and a short pleasant walk to Colonial Williamsburg. It is next door to Huzzah! (on-site restaurant) which was great. We parked our car and did not have to use it the whole time we were there.

Our room was on the top floor as we requested a quiet room. Our room was adequate and comfortable and the staff at the hotel was really nice. It rained really hard both days that we were there and they had umbrella for us which was great!

The breakfast was fine with hot and cold selections and it was great for us. We were there part of Memorial weekend and it did get busy but the staff made sure everything was fine.

We had a pleasant stay there and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    275
    84
    24
    8
See reviews for
310
130
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Woodlands is the best choice for families and value-conscsious travelers visiting Colonial Williamsburg. While not anywhere in the same league as the Williamsburg Inn, it is also a fraction of the price. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the on-site Huzzah! restaurant and bar serves dinner at reasonable prices. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it is very good with a different hot entree offered each morning along with the continental options. The staff is first-rate and go out of their way to be accommodating. This is a great base from which to explore and visit all Colonial Williamsburg has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Dale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Really liked this room and hotel. We stayed in room 5370, with a view of the court yard. The room was spacious and clean, perfect for staying several days.
On the plus side the front desk and room cleaning was terrific. Access to the historical area was either by an easy 8 minute walk into the historical area or you can walk out the door to the visitors center and take the shuttle bus.
The only down side was possibly the free morning breakfast. Most mornings the coffee and breakfast items were out or very low, and while they were eventually refilled it didn't seem to be of high priority with the staff.
Would I recommend, absolutely, the location and room will make your visit to Colonial Williamsburg even better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel was more than I expected while visiting Williamsburg. It was clean, well kept, and the staff was very pleasant. Our room was nicely appointed and quiet. The breakfast buffet had quiet a bit of selection. The room could have used a small frige, but we managed anyway. With the wonderful shuttle bus service, we were able to get around so easily; didn't even have to move our car it was great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a group for my daughter's class trip. This is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting. It's located next to the visitor center which is convenient. Staff is pleasant. Breakfast is adequate. The rooms are large and very clean. Pool is awesome. Beds are very hard. Only 1 elevator on one end of the building, so unless you get a ground floor room close to a door you have quite a hike getting to and from your room. Finding the check in area can also be difficult.

Room Tip: Ground floor close to a door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to visit Busch gardens and not colonial Williamsburg. Liked the shuttle service to the park saving $15 per day parking and the hassle. Rooms are like any 3 star hotel. Continental breakfast is good. Only thing I didn't like is that this hotel and campus are hard to get around. Use your GPS.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Woodlands is a wonderful hotel, and the staff was great! The hotel is well maintained, the staff helpful and friendly. It's also right next to the visitors center, which made getting around the historic area very easy and enjoyable. The free continental breakfast was tasty and had a large selection of items to choose from.

Room Tip: Hotel is very quiet pretty much anywhere you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Motor Inn set amid landscaped grounds, adjacent to the historic area; near Amtrak station; 17 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.